Brand New
The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me


5.0
classic

Review

by failingnovelist USER (7 Reviews)
October 28th, 2016 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Lacey wages war on his own soul and the thoughts that keep him awake at night.

Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

"I was losing all my friends. I was losing them drinking and to driving. Was losing all my friends. But I got em back." This line was one that meant so much to me in my first few listens. I screamed it in the night on long bike rides to my *** minimum wage job. I felt the grip of youth and it's beauty. I felt Jesse's pain in every line. I felt the band come together to make an artistic vision. "Just pretend that you love me." I never felt so understood then the moment from when I heard Jesse scream in my ears these beautiful, depressing, angst full songs. Depicting such things as a tragic drunk driving accident, deep laden introspection of ones faith and morality, a struggle in basic relationships, breaking up with the one you love. Being broken, and becoming whole again.

Brand New conjured up a dark introspective form of Indie Rock/ Alternative Rock/Post-Hardcore/ Emo/ Pop Punk. The band shares writing credits all throughout the album. Ranging from fast punk driven songs such as Archers. To mellow soft songs such as "Luca". Even some surprising instrumental songs such as "Untitled" and "Welcome To Bangkok". The band comes together as a whole, as a unit.

They have real chemistry that is honestly damn impressive.
So what makes Brand New so special? What makes this album so special? Well. The lyrics are a huge part of the equation for me. Very introspective. Dark. Colorful. Intelligent. The music ,however, outshines the lyrics without question whether it be Jesse's intense screams of "You Won't Know!" or the chaotic explosion of "Luca" that will surely send chills down your spine upon first listen. The album ends on the very mellow and soft closer "Handcuffs." Vincent wrote this one and it's one of Brand New's most criminally underrated songs. It's a love it or hate it song. But damn do I love it. I love the dark metaphors that while blunt paint such beautiful imagery. "I'd drown all these crying babies If I knew that their mothers' wouldn't cry..." The song gets more intense as it progresses but then ends on a somber not. "It's hard to be a better man when you're still lying." Well said guys. Well said.

As a whole Brand New constructs an album that defies all expectation now just like it did upon release, there is a reason Brand New loves it so much and why their fans have embraced it so fondly. The Devil and God are Raging Inside us all.



Recent reviews by this author
Shrum Red Devils and Purple RingersTigers Jaw Charmer
Senses Fail Still SearchingTwinspan Anthems of Your Scene Phase
Blink-182 CaliforniaBrand New Deja Entendu
user ratings (6303)
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
smaugman
October 28th 2016


5246 Comments


very few reviews of this album

failingnovelist
October 28th 2016


65 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lol, Yeah I know, their are quite a lot. So much so that it's glitched.

uhh
October 28th 2016


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't neg a review cause it's a highly reviewed album dipshit



good review, while it's a bit 'lax and you should probably avoid lines like "So what makes Brand New so special? What makes this album so special?", still a fine read.

Mort.
October 28th 2016


16561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

literally no point in this well done

Digging: Brainiac - Electro-Shock for President

dimeadozenmetalhead6
October 28th 2016


285 Comments


Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

Their was a moment in my life when death didn't scare me. When music was just a passing glance of nothing serious. I was so ignorant. Young. My eyes opened as they often do when you grow up I saw the world without glasses, my vision was less hazy, and more clear. I began to fear the unknown, life, and just about everything. Then I found them. The perfect sound. The lyrical prowess that matched everything I felt in that moment of my life. I was born again. Resurrected.

dimeadozenmetalhead6
October 28th 2016


285 Comments


didn't realise my man JC was a fan of shit-tier sputcore

uhh
October 28th 2016


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"literally no point in this well done"



but why not? its a review? who gives a shit if there's already reviews of it

dimeadozenmetalhead6
October 28th 2016


285 Comments


I mean it's not a bad review
but it's also definitely not a good review
I guess it's just a review then
pos

smaugman
October 28th 2016


5246 Comments


i didnt neg it you shithead

BlackLlama
October 28th 2016


2178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"literally no point in this well done"



There's no point in anything #emokidproblems

Sowing
Moderator
October 28th 2016


39153 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Opening paragraph is a perfect summation of this album.

Digging: The Felice Brothers - From Dreams to Dust

JohnnySmith
October 28th 2016


1 Comments


Well, the summary itself is a perfect summation of the album. (that's why I clicked yes)
But review doesn't talk much about this war. Not good.

PortraitsOfDecay
October 28th 2016


491 Comments


It's not a good review
It's not a bad review
It's THE review XD

failingnovelist
October 28th 2016


65 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well I like the feedback on this XD at least most of you see my review as a review.

toocool4pos
October 28th 2016


258 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album and band need more reviews.

zakalwe
October 28th 2016


34633 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Album and band are plastic

ksoflas
October 28th 2016


1334 Comments


Nice review, pos'd.

Mystletainn
October 28th 2016


4050 Comments


"Album and band need more reviews."

no, no they do not

uhh
October 28th 2016


434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5



YakNips
October 28th 2016


19994 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i need more paragraphs telling me how emotionally tortured jesse lacey is STAT



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy