All Get Out
Nobody Likes A Quitter


4.5
superb

Review

by CoffeeEyes17 USER (5 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2016 | 55 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aggression meets restraint.

Potential is a tricky thing. It can be fascinating yet frustrating to hear an album that is good and works well as a cohesive whole, but shows signs of something more, something larger and more potent. This was my relationship with All Get Outs 2011 LP The Season. A very good alt rock gem, the album showcased a lot of the bands strengths and showed shades of alt rock contemporaries Manchester Orchestra. Five year later, that potential has been realized with their newest LP Nobody Likes A Quitter. A stunning listen from start to finish, this is an album you need to hear.

The album begins with possibly its best song, "Room To Talk". Opening with powerful drumming and shimmering 90s alt rock guitars, the song fuses everything the band does well into one 4 minute package. The soft/loud dynamic between the aggressive verses and more serene chorus works beautifully, with a bridge and outro thats sure to please longtime fans. Lead singer and guitarist Nathan Hussey shines here, with his emotional vocals and great lyrical work continuing throughout the record. The drums and bass are also well done, adding a sense of groove to the record. First single "Home" continues this trend, with a more aggressive and almost heavier guitar tone and deviously catchy chorus. We're off to a strong start, and the album continues to deliver throughout the remaining eight tracks.

The centerpiece of the album is "Empty Nest", a mostly acoustic number with some subtle harmonies and soft pianos in the background adding lush texture and atmosphere to an already well crafted masterpiece of a song. This song shows that potential fully realized, with fantastically constructed lyrics and beautiful melodies buoying a fantastically well done acoustic song. We're eased back into the alt rock jams with the one two punch of "Now You Got It" and "Sideways", both incredibly catchy tracks with triumphant mid tempo drumming and guitars. The bass also gets to shine in these songs, adding a thumping atmosphere to accentuate the powerful guitars and sturdy drumming. Closer "Wait List" is another beautiful acoustic song, bringing the album to a somber but perfect close. Hussey converses with god and thinks back on certain events, using somber acoustic strums and emotional vocals to accentuate the lyrics. Its a fantastic way to close the album, with Hussey crooning "I'm still chasing you. Still waiting for you. I'm still chasing, you. Still behaving like you never left.". Its the perfect period to end this album on, and makes you want to hit play again.

With Nobody Likes A Quitter, All Get Out have created an absolute masterpiece of an album. An album that can stand shoulder to shoulder with other alt rock gems like War Paint and Mean Everything To Nothing. With a lean, taut, ten track frame the album takes you on a beautiful journey. The production is fantastic and the songwriting is stellar, Nobody Likes A Quitter shows All Get Out firing on all cylinders and fully realizing the potential that was sensed in The Season. Do yourself a favor and listen to this albums by any means necessary. You wont regret it.


user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ABjordanMM
October 23rd 2016


1712 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love their debut. Excited to hear this.

Ebola
November 2nd 2016


3517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is fantastic

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 3rd 2016


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Listening now and this is amazing.

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

Artuma
November 3rd 2016


30246 Comments


best andy hull imitation i've heard so far

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 3rd 2016


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Agreed. But still amazing.

CoffeeEyes17
November 4th 2016


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice to see some comments! glad youre all enjoying the record. great guys in the band, two great albums under their belt, just an all around great time.





ashcrash9
November 5th 2016


3037 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best andy hull imitation i've heard so far [2]

totally a compliment tbh

great album

AdolfChrist
December 12th 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"best andy hull imitation i've heard so far"



Andy Hull is the shit, but is this band a Manchester Orchestra clone or do they have their own sound?

Digging: Somali Yacht Club - The Sea

CoffeeEyes17
December 12th 2016


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd say they have their own sound for sure. This album is slower and a bit more atmospheric than most of what ManOrch have done, different guitar tones etc. I think the biggest comparison is the vocals and lyrics.

AdolfChrist
December 12th 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah its mostly just in his voice.

juiceviaorange
December 16th 2016


726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a big fan of this early on for sure

AdolfChrist
December 22nd 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://badtimingrecords.limitedrun.com/products/575818-all-get-out-nobody-likes-a-quitter



so i guess Andy Hull and Robert McDowell produced and co-wrote this record.

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 22nd 2016


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

it all makes sense now

Snake.
December 22nd 2016


21512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

mind = blown

AdolfChrist
December 24th 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this dude is a really good lyricist, damn.

SowingSeason
Moderator
December 24th 2016


29920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

truly



I especially love the lyrics to ATX

AdolfChrist
December 24th 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

almost every song has some pretty brilliant moments.

AdolfChrist
December 24th 2016


20415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my mouth is full of sand

dark dirt and teeth

hiding words like "i cant sleep"

like "i dont believe"

could be a bitter bastard child

skinned knees and blue jeans

tellin lies like "im alright"

squeezing skin and hold it tight

CoffeeEyes17
December 25th 2016


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Andy and Robert produced and Andy actually helped write, or gave advice to Nathan on how to write at least.



This ended up in my top 20. I may have been a tad hyperbolic with this review, id probably bump it down to a 4, but its still a really well written and powerful piece of rock music.

juiceviaorange
January 4th 2017


726 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would agree that, albeit a band that already had Manchester-isms, this sounds the most like MO they ever have. Having said that, I think this is a bit more advanced on nearly every level over Manchester Orchestra (and I'm a fan of them as well). Solid, solid record.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy