Suicidal Tendencies
World Gone Mad


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
October 9th, 2016 | 31 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Music for the world-weary generation

A common complaint by older audiences nowadays is that music lacks the substance of the past. Those of us who have been around for a couple (or more) decades are already aware that this debate has been going on for a very long time. Ignorance and bitterness have always been elements of newer generations’ arguments/accusations towards their senior counterparts and, to an extent, these characterizations have valid grounds.

However, take a moment to think the circumstances in which we live; you have the US presidential election where the public is asked to support the lesser of two evils. And if this isn’t enough, “significant” figures that older audiences adore(d) because of their substance, offer their support towards one side or another, free of charge of course! At the same time, war is as significant as the geographic coordinate system in which it takes place, people are murdered because of their tone of skin or religion, and there is always the possibility of attending a concert and never returning to your loved ones. So how come we don’t have more releases like Suicidal Tendencies’ newest offering" Is it fear of acceptance from the artists’ side, lack of concern or plain cynicism from the audience"

World Gone Mad without being preachy or political, combines all the elements longtime fans have come to expect from Suicidal Tendencies, with stimulating lyrics and an immense drum performance by Dave Lombardo. The influences from the punk scene are present, combined with funky bass-lines, thrashy guitars, fast soloing and Mike Muir’s characteristic delivery. Overall, the album is groovier that their golden-era records probably because of the funk influences but at the same time, the amount of energy is constantly at a high level. Nevertheless, there are darker moments such as on “World Gone Mad!” and “Still Dying to Live”, anthemic ones such as on “One Finger Salute” that is bound to become a fan-favorite and catchy vocal choruses like on “Happy Never After”. At this point, special mention should be made regarding Dave Lombardo’s performance as this is quite a drum-heavy LP. The ex-Slayer legend proves his versatility and gives Suicidal Tendencies a more metallic feeling as he is the driving force behind the music for the most part of the record.

If one wants to single out a flaw, it’s probably the running time that could have been trimmed by removing a stripped down cover version of “This World” for example, which was originally included on 13. Nevertheless, this album succeeds by being incredibly infectious, energetic and at the same time having the needed substance that might stimulate thinking. As a whole, World Gone Mad is an extremely solid offering by a band who has been around too long to be so solid.



Recent reviews by this author
Avantasia MoonglowBeast In Black From Hell With Love
Antimatter Black Market EnlightenmentGuild Of Lore Winterstead
Heir Apparent The View from BelowSacral Rage Beyond Celestial Echoes
user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just a quick write-up to shake off the rust.

Digging: King Diamond - Songs for the Dead Live

ChaoticVortex
October 9th 2016


736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I've heard rumors that this might be Suicidal's last album. Hope that's not the case, but if so than this is a decent closer. One Finger Salute is by far my favorite song. Nice review.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Vortex. Heard the same rumors as well but who knows. They're supposed to release an EP after the US elections too.



Yeah, One Finger Salute is a classic already.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


4728 Comments


Saw them live in June, was a lot of fun! Adding Dave Lombardo helped them a lot. Curious to hear this, great review!

Digging: My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult - In the House of Strange Affairs

grannypantys
October 9th 2016


1987 Comments


fun album, just too much singing

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Raul. Must have been a great experience seeing these guys live, especially with Lombardo on drums. Lots of energy!

Snake.
October 9th 2016


21391 Comments


all i wanted was a pepsi

Davil667
October 9th 2016


3646 Comments


Yeah, a new ST album, that's awesome news! Looking forward to it.

A really good read manosg, pos'd hard. Good to hear those guys are still alive and kicking ass.

vonseux
October 9th 2016


311 Comments


this can't be good... why some bands just don't call it done? O.o

DrJohn
October 9th 2016


1041 Comments


never been a big fan of these guys tbh but i'm glad you're back into writing mate!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Doc, always a pleasure to see you around.



There are a couple of albums that I've been meaning to review for some time now but something always gets in the way lately.

DrJohn
October 9th 2016


1041 Comments


i feel ya

deslad
October 9th 2016


630 Comments


Excellent review manos, mind pos. I don't believe these guys are my cup of tea though

Digging: Nightwish - Imaginaerum

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks des! Yeah, you'll probably not enjoy this one a lot.



Great dig though.

Titan
October 9th 2016


19176 Comments


great review manos, i ned to check this

your reviews are of perfect length

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude, hope you enjoy!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2016


24237 Comments


glad to see you reviewed this man. nice work as always!

love this band, picked up a copy of How Will I Laugh Tomorrow on vinyl a few months ago :]

Digging: Julia Jacklin - Crushing

manosg
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2016


11454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. Great purchase, gotta love how these guys stimulate thinking and slay at the same time.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2016


24237 Comments


yeah definitely. always loved their mixture of punk and thrash

kzy
October 19th 2016


32 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lombardo using 60% of 100% energy in this album. just dissapointed a lil bit, still good but not great!

Digging: Porcupine Tree - Rockpalast



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy