$uicideboy$
Eternal Grey


3.0
good

Review

by RaymondPelayo USER (36 Reviews)
September 18th, 2016 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: $uicideboy$ once again show why they have become expert architects of dark, macabre atmosphere within trap music with Eternal Grey

For the last couple of years New Orleans rap group, $uicideboy$, have been releasing projects at an incredible rate, each one building on their bleak and grimy sound. Also, despite their fast-paced recording process, their projects hardly ever show a drop in quality. Eternal Grey, the duo’s latest project, may not be incredibly innovative or depart from their signature style in a remarkable way but this album is sure to satisfy the hardcore following surrounding them.

The intro, “BREAKDALAW2K16” is sinister and nightmare induced trap, Ruby and $uicide Christ deliver their verses similar to old school Three 6 Mafia, the sample and title a reference to Mystic Stylez. [/i]Eternal Grey’s[/i] opener sets the tone for the rest of the album. Their lyrics are still uncompromisingly grim and violent yet still bound to the typical genre tropes found in trap music; their short song structures although help make the bleak atmosphere more impactful. Because at the heart of the duo’s abilities, $uicideboy$ are expert architects of atmosphere. The violin on “CHARIOTS OF FIRE” add an eerie dimension to the deep inflections in their voices and the sampled dialogue of Mulder from The X-Files at the start of “I WANT TO BELIEVE” is haunting. Throughout, the two rappers have grungy cadences paired with fluid flow transitions that evoke sizzurped enhanced Bone Thugs-N-Harmony.

A surprising element is the new addition of screaming at near demonic levels on various tracks throughout Eternal Grey. “I WANT TO BELIEVE” and “ULTIMATE $UICIDE” are the closest thing $uicideboy$ have done to meet the intensity of heavy metal and screamo. It’s the one not so subtle style change that may cause even hardcore fans to debate how effective it is and the most inaccessible part of this record for newer listeners. $uicideboy$ are best when they exist within their dark, trap colored cloud rap, which Eternal Grey certainly does execute. It's when the screaming is reserved for just one verse within a song or portions of a verse that those heavy metal elements become more impactful and jarring to hear. When it comes down to "Ultimate $UICIDE" vs. "I WANT TO BELIEVE," the former is more successful and interesting because of the sparring usage of those more hardcore elements.

At 14 tracks, Eternal Grey is an impressive project and has a lot to offer despite the often repetitive and unoriginal lyrics at times. Great features from Pouya, Yung Simmie and Denzel Curry also help provide more diversity to $uicideboy$’ occasional monochromatic voices. As these elements converge the brash and wicked become more exciting to explore within this rap group’s universe.

$uicideboy$ are worth following, Eternal Grey an awesome addition to their growing musical catalog and vision.



Recent reviews by this author
Dougie Poole Wideass HighwayThe Electric Peanut Butter Company Trans-Atlantic Pysch Classics Vol. 2
Chicano Batman Freedom Is FreeDanny Brown Atrocity Exhibition
Rob Stone I'm Almost ReadyTravis Scott Birds in the Trap Sing McKnight
user ratings (53)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hurricanslash
September 18th 2016


1830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very, very correct rating right there. Your reviews also just get better with time, have a pos.



I don't know, the high points on this projects are, like, VERY high, but the low points are some of the worst songs they ever made. Especially the middle section suffers from that a lot. I don't even know if the screams are that much of a noteworthy expansion, they have been experimenting with that since South Side Suicide.

aaronrkc
September 18th 2016


336 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not to be that guy, but the screaming is metalcore sounding, not screamo. Review could use some more descriptive adjectives instead of "great" and "awesome." Could also get rid of some redundancies in your sentences. I agree with all of your points though.

Digging: Dylan Brady - Peace And Love

DoctorDoom
September 18th 2016


2987 Comments


Glad to see these guys getting attention here. Been really obsessed with these dudes the past year. Scrippies an satan! Yeah!

Almandjoy
September 18th 2016


7 Comments


Oooh I'm gonna check this out! If this is half as good as Gray/Grey I'm stoked

RaymondPelayo
September 18th 2016


39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Hurricanslash thanks! The last year i've been on here i've been trying to get better at writing reviews so it makes me ecstatic that there's people out there who like reading what I publish



@aaronrkc definitely be "that guy" cause it would have helped the review if I had known the clear difference



@DoctorDoom they're great!



@Almandjoy dooooooo it

iloveyouall
September 19th 2016


6319 Comments


don't want to seem rude/a buzzkill/a dickhead, but to me this review reads very awkwardly. sentences are divergent if not disconnected entirely, phrasing is a bit haphazard and (at times) redundant, and (if i'm being brutally honest -- which i am) there's no substantial conceptual link between any of the arguments you are making...
that being said, i do think you have a lot of potential with your writing. i just think that this review feels a bit rushed, and could do with a good combing through, y'feel?
keep at it...

RaymondPelayo
September 19th 2016


39 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@iloveyouall appreciate the feedback and will keep trying to improve



p.s i will write a review one day that blows your mind homie

iloveyouall
September 19th 2016


6319 Comments


good stuff!
i'll hold you to that. ; )

AaroN911
November 1st 2016


2223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love these kind of beats, and the rap isn't bad... gonna take getting use to the screams here and there because I feel without them it would flow a lot better. That's just a face value thought though

Digging: Direct Hit! - Crown Of Nothing

guitarded_chuck
November 2nd 2016


16490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gray/grey is their best tape

AaroN911
November 2nd 2016


2223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually jammed that one right after this one and agree, def better, what do you think is best to worst?

guitarded_chuck
November 2nd 2016


16490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i duno man they have so many and most of them ive only heard once but i liked gray/grey the most and come back to it



what about you

AaroN911
November 2nd 2016


2223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well so far i've heard this one and Gray/grey I prefer G/G more myself, actually jammin it now, was listening to a chopped and screwed Earl Sweatshirt IDLSIDGO album earlier went hard

anarchistfish
November 23rd 2016


26704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

champion of death is such a banger

random
January 18th 2017


2689 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This goes so hard.

Digging: Say Anything - ...Is a Real Boy

guitarded_chuck
January 18th 2017


16490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeh

Thealwaysopenedmind
March 16th 2017


696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ALLOW ME TO COLLECT MYSELF I'M ALL OVER THE PLACE PUT MY BRAIN ON THE SHELF. THROW ME AWAAAAAAAAAAAAY.

Kman418
August 4th 2017


13271 Comments


idk why you would ever listen to these guys instead of just listening to ugly mane/three 6 instead

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2018


23941 Comments


cuz they have some songs that bang tbh

AaroN911
August 8th 2018


2223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

they definitely have some straight bangers, why not listen to all of it?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy