Fox Stevenson
All This Time


4.0
excellent

Review

by LotusFlower USER (24 Reviews)
September 12th, 2016 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Crystal clear

Fox Stevenson’s eccentric amalgamation of DnB and vocal pop has won him the devotion of many a dedicated following. While earlier work was certainly leaning towards novicity, due primarily to a loose grip on songwriting, Stevenson’s keen energy and charisma was key to rising above mediocrity. And with the release of All This Time, Fox Steven had finally struck gold on perfecting the craft which established his name. Spanning a concise run of four tracks, Fox Stevenson pushes a fun and lively performance, splitting hairs on the entailments of the genres he builds upon for a truly exciting sit through.

All This Time’s title track sets the tone for the record through the instantaneous strike of a single chord. Warmth. The rolling vocal chops and Stevenson’s modulated vocals build tension. With the lovely accompaniment of lightly placed, serene synths. The “early morning” feel of the track grabs interest quickly, preparing the listener ss the song reaches it’s so called “chorus”. These elements explode with a grandiose flurry of heavily textured bass work that skitters along quickly; carried on top a foundation of speedy breakbeats and a minor touch of bit synths for fattening. It all plays together beautifully, pulsing with energy and bursting the warmth of sunlight, resulting in an absolutely joyful and fun opener.

Stevenson’s winning combination of these styles continue to shine with “Out There” and “Simple Life”, which swing towards an electro-pop foundation. Emphasis on loud, electronic based choruses are still priority; however, the pop stylized verses lend themselves to a more unique, playful blend of the usual DnB mix. Heart-pounding synthwork and minor, lowkey grooves buried beneath the foundation help Stevenson place his sound design in a perfect position for catchiness and atmosphere. As for the EP’s concluding track, “Crystal”, Stevenson mixes things up with a subdued, progressive house sound that blends elements of vibrant tropical house beats with a very flashy and satisfying finale of heart-pounding, synth heavy melodies that tie each of the track’s building elements together for a perfect conclusion.

The gold standard of All This Time is the careful ear for production and songwriting. What easily could’ve been brushed aside as a sub-standard dance record with features, transforms into a unique spin on electronic-based pop music instead. While the modulation effects Stevenson employs to blend himself in as a part of the music may be a turnoff for some, what Stevenson has presented is outstanding. Whether dance centric pop music is your cup of tea or not, Fox Stevenson is an artist who does more than enough to pen a convincing argument that he is something else, making All This Time an EP you don’t want to miss.



Recent reviews by this author
Chris Farren Can't DieKamikaze Girls Sad
Noname TelefoneBlind Pilot And Then Like Lions
Shoe SDAASLOIPoppy Bubblebath
user ratings (7)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
LotusFlower
September 12th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Stand Outs: All This Time, Out There, Simple Life, Crystal

Blow Outs: N/A

Stream: http://foxstevenson.bandcamp.com/album/all-this-time-ep



Decided to re-write my previous review for this EP, as I felt it deserved better. I may do this for some of my earlier reviews on my previous account, too. Great EP, check it out.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2016


7170 Comments


solid review as always man. A few things though:

your use of semi colon seems a bit off. the words after the semi colon should function as a sentence on their own that is linked in terms of its subject matter to the preceding sentence (I think thats right, correct me if I'm wrong someone). "splitting hairs on the entailments of the genres he builds upon for a truly exciting sit through" and "resulting in an absolutely joyful and fun opener" can't stand as sentence on their own, so maybe a comma would be more fitting?

"All This Time’s title track sets the tone for the record through the instantaneous strike of a single chord. Warmth." I think a colon would fit better before 'Warmth.'

I dont know why I'm trying to correct grammar when thats my weakest writing skill, so possibly take what i say with a pinch of salt unless someone else agrees haha

LotusFlower
September 12th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very solid advice actually, thanks! I reall have no idea how punctuation works, so I just wing

SteakByrnes
September 12th 2016


25132 Comments


@AsleepInTheBack Your corrections are sound, nice catches.

Nice review, I've only heard a couple of songs from this guy but I liked them, so I'll probably give this a spin

Digging: Every Time I Die - Radical

LotusFlower
September 12th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is easily his best work and unfortunately his peak. none of his stuff after this has been able to match in quality.

SteakByrnes
September 12th 2016


25132 Comments


I'll start from this and work backwards then, thank you my shark friend

LotusFlower
September 12th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

id check out endless, no fox given, a few of his singles like Soda Pop, and his collab with feint.

SteakByrnes
September 12th 2016


25132 Comments


Off of Endless, I've heard Trigger and Give Them Hell and I really dug both of them, so I'll most definitely check out your recommendations

Pon
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2016


5182 Comments


Not a bad review, Asleep already caught a lot of the grammatical stuff. Not sure if you're about to edit it tho because the last couple of times I've checked the tab's crashed : (

Your prose could do with a bit of work IMO. There's a few parts where you're using way more words than necessary, like sentences 2-4 in the 2nd paragraph. Some of the metaphors are a bit strange too, "pulsing the energy of its warmth"?

Lastly, in the conclusion, I wouldn't say things like "it's undeniable that what Stevenson has presented is outstanding" because a review is still an opinion piece in the end.

I'll pos anyways :D

LotusFlower
September 13th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you so much for taking time to read and provide feedback! I'm always writing to improve my prose and over explaining is certainly an issue. Would you suggest just toning down words or trying to condense all of those sentences into a shorter sequence? I will look over the review when I am next on a computer to brush up.

KILL
September 13th 2016


81241 Comments


laura>

LotusFlower
September 13th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

truth.



i edited the review to be less heavy handed on sentences and touched up the conclusion.

Javastorm
October 19th 2020


34 Comments


Pos'd



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy