Taylor McFerrin
Early Riser


4.0
excellent

Review

by Tb1114 USER (6 Reviews)
September 3rd, 2016 | 36 replies


Release Date: 06/03/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Don't worry, be happy.

It wasn’t until I began writing this review that I found out “Early Riser” was made by the son of Bobby McFerrin, the acclaimed reggae artist. The extent of my reggae knowledge is exclusive to Bob Marley & the Wailers, but I will try to give Bobby McFerrin a listen to soon enough.

Why"

Because his son makes some ***ing good music.

The easiest way to describe this album, and (with it being his only album) McFerrin as an artist, is that he sounds a lot like Flying Lotus. He’s signed under Flying Lotus’s label Brainfeeder. For FlyLo fans out there, you know Flying Lotus is “electronic” but has his own distinct brand of electronic music. McFerrin falls into this genre. FlyLo has a progressive and creative sound, but hardly ever arranges it with creative songwriting or structure. It may be the case of un-investigated textures... or a lack of solidarity in sound, with “L.A.” and “Until the Quiet Comes” being his most focused works (and his least mainstream). My one fault with Flying Lotus is his style is whimsical to the point of its detriment.

“Early Riser” is a more focused, less whimsical Flying Lotus. The creative textures, apt guest appearances, and jazzy divergences are justified, because McFerrin backs up his sound with solid enough songwriting and structure.

This album is laden (yet not encumbered) with jazzy percussion and a general smooth electronic sound. It bears a mix of lush bass, downtempo, key-based ostinato, and a general “dream-like” quality, akin to “Until the Quiet Comes”. It has that borderline IDM, staccato clapping and electronic drumming that pairs well with its few guest-vocalists but does fine on its own. These handful of vocalists that appear on the album give it its slight “soul” quality, along with maybe an indie-pop sound (like on “Place In My Heart”, a hard-to-forget track).

As a whole the album is fantastic and solid, but doesn’t consistently WOW you like some of the tracks would lead you to believe. Taylor Mcferrin has strong potential and he has skyrocketed up my list of “closest-watched artists today”. I write this review mostly as a fan, and I ask you to give this album a spin. I am in firm believe this guy isn’t getting the recognition he deserves, and hope you all can feel the same.

4.2 / 5



Recent reviews by this author
Ambrose Akinmusire The Imagined Sailor Is Far Easier To PaintSonny Sharrock Black Woman
Sun Ra Super-Sonic JazzHerbie Hancock Crossings
Mississippi John Hurt Avalon Blues
user ratings (63)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Nine (5)
With ethereal mixtures of jazz instrumentations and electronic elements, Taylor McFerrin creates a m...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tb1114
September 2nd 2016


202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite track is the closer, PLS DNT LSTN. Please listen.



Also give The Antidote a listen.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNm0jfYCZn0



And the rest of the album.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 2nd 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

finally

Digging: Cvd - Elsewhere Nowhere

Tb1114
September 2nd 2016


202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ I feel you. This album didn't deserve no review.



Mad.
September 3rd 2016


4747 Comments


" “Early Riser” was made by the son of Bobby McFerrin"

Damn i didn't realise either.

Nice to see this finally get a review, great stuff

Asdfp277
September 3rd 2016


19978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album artwork looks great

Digging: Black Barrel - Last Frontier

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 3rd 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The fact that he is Bobby mcferrins son is what pushes him from a master to a legend

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2016


4473 Comments


glad to see this got a review, need to listen again

TheWrenKing
September 4th 2016


1696 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so glad this has a review but this review seems a little off to me



i mean you dedicated an entire paragraph to flylo (in a really short review to begin with). the intro is a little awkward as well.



when you get into a rhythm the review is great though

Asdfp277
September 4th 2016


19978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

flenifer lopez

Relinquished
September 4th 2016


39585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what?

RosaParks
September 5th 2016


568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how did this not have a review

Cygnatti
September 5th 2016


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i love whoever review'd this

Cygnatti
September 5th 2016


32774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

top 5 of 2014 probs

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 5th 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 23rd 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is legit one of the best albums ive ever heard

Asdfp277
September 23rd 2016


19978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is some good shit yea 👀👌

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 23rd 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it legitimately hurts me to listen to it



if this album were to be described by one word;



https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saudade

Asdfp277
September 23rd 2016


19978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'm dead inside so i can't say i feel as strongly as you, but i'm happy to hear you can enjoy this to its fullest, and that it brings you so many feelings

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 23rd 2016


42503 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ooooohkay

Asdfp277
September 23rd 2016


19978 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

my 1,000th rating, swag



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy