Imperium Dekadenz
Dis Manibvs


3.5
great

Review

by Atari STAFF
August 26th, 2016 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Testing the boundaries of black metal

Rather than playing it safe, Imperium Dekadenz are stepping out of their comfort zone and testing boundaries on their follow-up to 2013's Meadows of Nostalgia. Both sprawling and melodic, Dis Manibvs finds the black metal duo reaching new heights as they playfully tinker with shoegaze and ambient influences. To say the album's on the longer side is an understatement; it’s an intimidating mammoth of an album that stops and takes in the scenery with ease en route to its destination. Aside from a few brief detours into more ambient-based acoustic territory, the album centers around seven black metal tracks that often blur the line between aggression and beauty. Unlike many of their counterparts, their brand of soaring black metal expands beyond typical limitations, with powerful melodies and unexpected mood shifts being constant highlights.

Although its hefty 60-minute runtime will require some patience, Dis Manibvs has more than enough variety and passion to warrant its length. The vocals alone exhibit a sense of mystery, occasionally whispering and chanting, and other times exploding into raspy fits of rage. The title track is a fine representation of the duo’s abilities, as subtle but brooding melodies slowly engulf the listener piece by piece. In contrast, ‘Volcano’ is much more immediate, with rapid-fire guitar riffs bursting forward with no hint of hesitation. Yet, despite many tracks containing differing levels of urgency, there’s an unmistakable feeling of connection that endures throughout the album’s curious nooks and crannies.

Delicate touches of shoegaze give the latest effort by Imperium Dekadenz a warm sense of optimism, but without diluting the sense of excitement that carries the album. The more uplifting moments are like momentary rays of light sneaking their way through a dense fog: they aid the sight, but don't make the surrounding space any less ominous. Whether it’s the huge sweeping guitars or the far-reaching atmosphere held together by a strong sense of ambience, Imperium Dekadenz are sure as hell doing something right on Dis Manibvs. Among countless of similar bands, they’ve crafted a truly adventurous album that feels genuinely passionate rather than contrived. It’s not an accessible and simple journey, but it’s one that rewards you for your efforts with plenty of gorgeous scenery along the way.




Recent reviews by this author
The Tallest Man on Earth I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.PUP Morbid Stuff
Free Throw What's Past Is PrologueJulia Jacklin Crushing
Downfall of Gaia Ethic of Radical FinitudeTiny Ruins Olympic Girls
user ratings (40)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2016


24651 Comments


went for a more concise approach with this one

the embedded track is alright, but serves better as an intro to the album than a representation of what the band is capable of. streaming several places, including bandcamp. hope some others enjoy this as much as I did

https://imperiumdekadenz.bandcamp.com/

Digging: The Dangerous Summer - Mother Nature

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2016


25394 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Totally disagree, but great review. I don't see too much "blackgaze" here with the exception of Volcano tbh. This is just too long, and for me, the melodies are really weak. This seems like the type of album you enjoy when listening to it, and then completely forget about forever.

Digging: Malfet - The Way To Avalon

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2016


24651 Comments


cheers spirit, we'll just have to agree to disagree on this one haha

I actually think there are great melodies on just about every track. they're more instant/prominent on volcano, but I really love some of the more subtle melodies. like the title track for example: the melody is more relaxed and kinda slowly builds and swells throughout the song, and I love it.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

was meaning to jam this, think ill do just that now



"Sprawling and melodic, Dis Manibvs finds Imperium Dekadenz reaching new heights as they tinker with shoegaze and ambient influences in the process."



this line strikes me more as a summary or something that'd fit in the conclusion paragraph, but otherwise slick read

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2016


24651 Comments


Hope u enjoy man, album's a beast

and good point too. I was trying to be as concise as possible and get straight to the point, but that opening sentence is a bit abrupt. I'll edit in a more proper opening this weekend!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im liking it so far, wouldn't say deafheaven is great comparison but im definitely seeing the blackgaze aspects

Gmork89
August 26th 2016


7873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm liking it quite a bit too, reminds me of memoria vetusta II a little bit.

Gmork89
August 26th 2016


7873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm liking it quite a bit too, reminds me of memoria vetusta II a little bit.

parksungjoon
August 27th 2016


9571 Comments


band's always been great, doubt this is as bad as spirit says

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is pretty sweet, though "somnia" is tonally jarring when it comes on. kinda ruins the tempo of the album

Keating
August 27th 2016


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great album. With more listens I wonder if it will become as good or better than Meadows. For sure better than earlier stuff. And has nothing in common with Deafheaven, don't know where that came from. Its too bad we are talking about that band at all in an Imperium Dekadenz review.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2016


24651 Comments


dropped the part about deafheaven, wasn't really needed anyways. I think they were clearly inspired by some blackgaze bands on this one, but they're certainly original and not a one trick pony by any means

CaptainDooRight
August 28th 2016


4090 Comments


was kinda boring but had some dece moments

Digging: Karmic Juggernaut - The Dreams That Stuff Are Made Of

DungeonBoy
August 29th 2016


6067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review for a pretty underrated band. I remember enjoying Procella Vadens more than Meadows of Nostalgia, so I'm going to give this a listen today.

Digging: Misthyrming - Algleymi

Gmork89
August 29th 2016


7873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys are really damn good, surprised I'm just now hearing about them. Incredibly consistent with their melodies.

Gmork89
August 29th 2016


7873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bout time this goes front page, killer album.

zaruyache
August 29th 2016


21012 Comments


WILL CHECK. PROBABLY.

Digging: Imha Tarikat - Kara Ihlas

Gmork89
August 29th 2016


7873 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"the title track for example: the melody is more relaxed and kinda slowly builds and swells throughout the song, and I love it."



Agreed, probably my favorite track on here.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2016


24651 Comments


glad you're digging it, Gmork

Their album before this (meadows of nostalgia) is pretty decent, but I definitely think this tops it. that album gets off to a great start but just seems to run out of steam whereas this one goes strong throughout

edit: idk though, meadows is growing on me. definitely some drudkh vibes on that one

Memecore
August 29th 2016


4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hey, that's pretty good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy