Prophets of Rage
The Party's Over


2.5
average

Review

by SitarHero USER (36 Reviews)
August 26th, 2016 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Rage by any other name...

Look, for all intents and purposes this is a Rage Against the Machine EP. The fact that the word "Rage" is in the band's name is no sly winking ironic bit of fan service. Gone is the softening of Morello, Commerford and Wilk's edges that was seen in Audioslave and Morello's other post-RATM output. Back is the hard charging funk metal riffing laced with Morello's trademark use of guitar effects, and with unapologetically political rapping slapped over it. This is new RATM music that RATM fans have craved for SIXTEEN(!) years.

However, as was apparent in Audioslave's records too, the RAGE in Rage Against the Machine comes from Zack de la Rocha's atonal and always pissed off beat poetry. Chuck D and B-Real are hip hop royalty and their MC cred certainly exceeds that of de la Rocha, but they don't RAGE the way he did. Nobody does, really. And that's where this project falls apart.

The fact that there is only one new song and that 3 of the 4 covers on this EP are live recordings indicates that its release is a bit of a hasty effort on the part of this project's musicians to release music ahead of the controversial upcoming US Presidential elections. It's not a band trying to put out a great album, it's a group of fiercely political musicians raising their voices in the only way they know how; the actual music is secondary.

And the music isn't bad, per se. Except for the venerable "Killing in the Name" the songs sound exactly like they're supposed to; like heavier and more pissed off versions of the originals, fortified with Commerford and Wilk's slamming funk metal rhythms, and Morello's surprisingly wanky - but in a good way - guitar work. The title track, and only new song, is not particularly memorable, but is passable. I daresay "Prophets of Rage" and "Shut 'em Down" sound really good. However, the absence of de la Rocha's anarchic energy leaves a huge hole that all of Chuck D and B-Real's considerable talents cannot fill.

Ultimately, that's this EP's biggest failing. It's just good enough to remind you of a far better band, but not good enough to satisfy your craving for said band.



Recent reviews by this author
David Maxim Micic EGOShattered Skies The World We Used to Know
Big Wreck GhostsSolar Soma So Much For Style
Winger WingerKarnivool Asymmetry

user ratings (86)
Chart.
2
poor
other reviews of this album
danielcardoso CONTRIBUTOR (2)
"We're already dead."...

Derek123 (3.5)
RATM fans may be left happy with it or disappointed with it...

related reviews

Prophets of Rage
recommended by reviewer
Rage Against the Machine Renegades

Comments:Add a Comment 
SitarHero
August 26th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was initially extremely underwhelmed by this. Now I'm just somewhat underwhelmed. Except for KITNO the covers are all pretty enjoyable. This just isn't what any of us expected.

DungeonBoy
August 26th 2016


3227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't know, this might be fun to see live at a festival. This EP is mediocre at best for such a legendary band and group of vocalists. Kinda comes off sounding goofy without the same militant conviction RATM was known for, even though I only comprehend about 10% of what Zach was singing about.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

DungeonBoy
August 26th 2016


3227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Also good review dude, I agree with you.

SitarHero
August 26th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks man. Yeah, it's not intended to be a groundbreaking album and it's not really bad. It's just disappointing for everyone who wants to hear Rage really RAGE like it's 1992 again.

DungeonBoy
August 26th 2016


3227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was hoping to Rage.

SitarHero
August 26th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Weren't we all. Weren't we all...

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2016


11555 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

(edit: fixed)



and yeah good review but i disagree a bit, parts of this are really bad. prophets sounds good and shut em down is average to decent but that's just about it. pos from me.

SitarHero
August 26th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha! I wasn't sure about the spelling and was too lazy to google it, so I hedged my bets and used both. xD Thanks for the pos.

I like Shut 'em Down because the guitar work is pretty neat and the chorus riff works well with the flow.

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2016


11555 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yea dude guitar on shut em down is fine, but it's too repetitive for me to warrant further listens. Only prophets got bonus spins after hearing the thing 5 or 6 times lol.

SitarHero
August 26th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They're definitely not amazing, but good enough to warrant being on a playlist for a little while. Just don't know how long.

Piripichotes
August 27th 2016


415 Comments


This sounds more like street sweeper social club...

Digging: Xanthochroid - Of Erthe and Axen: Act II

owen
August 27th 2016


4936 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Shameless nostalgia pandering

Digging: Brandon Seabrook - Needle Driver

parksungjoon
August 27th 2016


5382 Comments


lostprophets of rage

CaliggyJack
August 27th 2016


1783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lostprophets of rage



#shouldofseenthiscoming

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
August 27th 2016


11555 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

raging slightly against the machine

CaliggyJack
August 27th 2016


1783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

raging sensually against the really sexy machine

SitarHero
August 28th 2016


5971 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Somewhat annoyed by something vaguely mechanical.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy