Hoops
Hoops


3.5
great

Review

by wtferrothorn USER (36 Reviews)
August 24th, 2016 | 78 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist


About a month ago, I was on the campus of Indiana University for a journalism workshop. With the use of vehicles prohibited, everyone attending needed to traverse the campus by foot in the sweltering summer heat for two weeks. It was an unfavorable situation to say the least. Little did I know, there was a chance that somewhere in town, Bloomington-based quartet Hoops were putting the finishing touches on an EP that perfectly soundtracks a mid-July afternoon. Hoops's brand of dreamy, summery, pop rock is in the same vein as artists such as Real Estate, Mac DeMarco, and other artists spearheading the jangle-pop revival that has been going strong since the beginning of the decade. While this sound is hot enough to garner at least some attention from the blogosphere, there is an artistic risk in taking up this style that is infamous for its tendencies of becoming shallow auditory wallpaper. However, this debut EP on Fat Possum Records is a lovely reassurance that Hoops are not that type of band.

This EP couldn’t have opened any better than with the lead single “Cool 2”, a sweet little pop tune that makes the most of its 1 minute 56 second runtime with a very melodic guitar riff that sticks in the head alongside a decent hook. Hoops is at their best on this EP when they deliver on the warm instrumentation that people come to expect from the band’s jangly contemporaries, while packing in their own little twists that brings distinctness to the track. Nowhere is this more implemented than on “Going Strong”. Although the hazy production doesn’t really let the propulsive drums reach their full potential, the glimmering synths in the background do the song a huge favor. Things end off on an especially laid-back note with “Gemini”, not exactly a highlight but a nice way to coast into the EP’s denouement. Hoops may be bite-sized at only 16 minutes, but it acts as a great swan song for the summer season. Hopefully this is not the last to be heard from a band that’s doing great things in a musical movement that has its fair share of blemishes.



Recent reviews by this author
Vagabon Infinite WorldsBruno Mars 24K Magic
NxWorries Yes Lawd!Bon Iver 22, A Million
Kishi Bashi SonderlustGlass Animals How To Be A Human Being
user ratings (13)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
wtferrothorn
August 24th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stream here: https://soundcloud.com/fatpossum/sets/hoops-ep



Breaking out of writer's block is haaaaard. First review in three months, so I might be a little rusty. Any constructive criticism is appreciated, as always. Much love.

FullOfSounds
August 24th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review my man, I'm gonna give this a listen now.

FullOfSounds
August 24th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Streaming link doesn't work

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man, and hang on a sec, I'll get a stream that works.



EDIT: There, just got the stream straight from the record label's soundcloud. Enjoy!

FullOfSounds
August 25th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks!

FullOfSounds
August 25th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Going Strong's bass rocks

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

for sure, one of the best things about the track. I'm glad you ended up liking this :]

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The period doesn't go inside the quotations when they're being used to state the name of a song. But thanks for pointing that other thing out and the pos!

ArsMoriendi
August 25th 2016


28458 Comments


Good review, pos'd.

Digging: Bjork - Medulla

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks Ars : )

brandontaylor
August 25th 2016


904 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i've only heard cool 2, which is a sweet song. gonna listen to this now. nice review btw

FullOfSounds
August 25th 2016


15772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You're gonna like it then.

danielcardoso
August 25th 2016


11770 Comments


(edit: fixed)

pretty great read ferro, will hear this now. pos from me.

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks dan, ill fix that asap

AsleepInTheBack
August 25th 2016


6123 Comments


cool review man, short and sweet.

wtferrothorn
August 25th 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just like this EP ;]

danielcardoso
August 27th 2016


11770 Comments


Heard this a couple of days ago already quite a bit, opener and closer stand out and this is pretty decent overall. Opener is my fave.

SimpleM
August 29th 2016


121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

just sounds like DIIV lite to me

DadEsquire
August 31st 2016


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I've been friends with the guys in the band since high school, so it's been so cool to hear the evolution of these tracks since then. Terrific EP. I think the full length's due in April.

wtferrothorn
August 31st 2016


5849 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's really cool! I'll make sure to check the LP when it releases.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy