Cairiss
Fall


4.0
excellent

Review

by BallsToTheWall USER (231 Reviews)
August 12th, 2016 | 30 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Last night I dreamt that somebody loved me...

With the ascent of bands like Alcest and Deafheaven metal music has gotten prettier and prettier with time. Initially I hated bands like Deafheaven that softened the boundaries of metal and blended beauty with brutality because I was a tremendous asshole at this stage. With time flying by with the grace of the all-mighty Lugia and my synthetic caffeine addiction calming down a bit my attitude towards a few things have changed for the better. In this case post-black metal.

The band I'm writing about today is Cairiss. They're a five piece outfit from the U.K who play really dynamic post rock/black metal. Their debut EP Fall caught my attention for it's divine mixture of beautiful lead female vocals, aggressive black metal patterns and mellow interludes. The opening track 'For The Lives He Stole" is a glorious number that recalls the epic grandeur of Within Temptation and late 00's Draconian before erupting into a blitzkrieg of angelic retribution and radical guitar solos. As I kill another Steel Reserve to the stunning sounds of Fall I feel compelled to keep on writing. The next track "Disgraced" sounds like a radiant fusion of So Hideous and The Cranberries. Freya's beautiful singing voice hovers magnificently over the mellow portion of the song in a way that is similar to a full moon hovering over the ocean on a calm night. The song then picks up in intensity and the waves descend upon the lonely ship before sinking back into tranquility. The third and final track "Fall" could be played at your local yoga studio. At least until the final act falls upon your ears. After several minutes of warrior 2 posing chillness the song suddenly surges to life with angelic choir vocals before fading off once more into the abyss. You can feel your chakras aligning as Freya's welcoming voice and Martin and Ethan's dreamy guitar playing lull you into an emotional slumber of nostalgia, reminding you of a much simpler time in life. A time where a Gorilla could just simply roam around in his exhibit. Free. Without human interference. Harambe. Gone but never forgotten.



Recent reviews by this author
The Plague NarakaDead Melodies The Foundations of Ruins
Light This City Terminal BloomDruid Lord Grotesque Offerings
Witches Moon The Grim BotanicalAs Oceans Still Miles To Go
user ratings (14)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2016


11662 Comments


Nice review, I like the honestly in the first para. Dicks out. Will jam.

Digging: Windswept - The Onlooker

BallsToTheWall
August 12th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks bud. I can't wait till they put out an album.

Digging: Amelia Arsenic - Queen of Risk

zaruyache
August 12th 2016


20386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like the review more than the album :3

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

BallsToTheWall
August 12th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ahhhh. I forgot to mention. Sober rating: 3.5. Drunk rating: 4.0

TheCrocodile
August 12th 2016


2925 Comments


get that contrib tag back lmao

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2016


24331 Comments


u used to be a contrib? nice write up though, pretty informal and honest which i love. actually might check this....

BallsToTheWall
August 12th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, two or three times. It was a much simpler time back then. It's worth a listen my man.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2016


24331 Comments


215 reviews tho wow. whyd ya get kicked off/put back on/kicked off/put back on/kicked off?

BallsToTheWall
August 12th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More than that with my other accounts and the great review purge of yesteryear where many a great user lost a block of reviews to the faultiness of mankind and technology. It's a long story. Lot's of bannings, demotions and that sort of tomfoolery. I have no ragrets but i love this site and will continue to contribute/spam until I die.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2016


24331 Comments


man im always so lost on this site's history. cool though man keep it up :D

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
August 12th 2016


6681 Comments


Balls/Wylie/RedG is og kush

zaruyache
August 13th 2016


20386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

NO REGERTS!



"Balls/Wylie/RedG is og kush"



I don't speak that language what that mean?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
August 13th 2016


6681 Comments


he's been around and is ingrained in the site's history. I combined the meaning of "o.g." with a weed reference. lmgtfy

zaruyache
August 13th 2016


20386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

are they the same person? bc I thought Wylie and balls were diff unless im confusing wylie with Willie.

zaruyache
August 13th 2016


20386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and I barely remember who Willie even is tbh.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2016


11662 Comments


Willie is not balls

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2016


11662 Comments


Sounds like kindergarten speech

BallsToTheWall
August 13th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am W and B. I started using this site same time as Willie.

DarkNoctus
August 13th 2016


10702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

decent ep

Digging: Vanum - Ageless Fire

BallsToTheWall
August 13th 2016


49332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Cairiss full-length with some more adventurous song-writing is all this waffle house promoter needs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy