Voidspawn
Pyrrhic


4.0
excellent

Review

by ramon. CONTRIBUTOR (50 Reviews)
August 8th, 2016 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oppression of life.

There are few subjects that intrigue death metal's grimy roots than darkness. For every tech-death and deathcore band that meanders further off from the fuzzy path, there is a new underground act to revitalize and restore the sound of the rotting. Surgical production values are exchanged for ravaged distortion and crunchy heft, hyperspeed noodling falls before hateful low-fret freneticisms, and the act of pulling arbitrary phraseology out of medical dictionaries is replaced with the disturbing cries of the cursed. While the mainstream has long since removed any resemblance of "death" from death metal, plenty of bands are rising in this vacancy's stead. Voidspawn are one such band, with their debut EP Pyrrhic forming a brilliantly accurate summation of Gorguts-imbued technical death metal.

Voidspawn achieve a good deal within the three short tracks on Pyrrhic. All three are deeply steeped within the same dreary territory. Rugged trappings of Blood Incantation, atonal sensibilities of Ulcerate, and the stench of the underground through Ellorsith are all evident over the EP's runtime. Yet, even with a sound so definable, the band's navigation of old school and doom elements propel Pyrrhic further into the deep than any release of such transience could venture. Ease of definability may come as the band's largest shortcoming, as there is very little here that is indicative of a truly unique sound. What is here, however, is an expertly concise platter of death metal's dismal attitudes. Self-description is often convoluted, but Pyrrhic is most definitely a cold manifestation of darkness.



Recent reviews by this author
Brian Blade LandmarksOh, Sleeper Bloodied/Unbowed
Warforged I: VoiceSoundtrack (Video Game) The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess OST
Altarage The Approaching RoarIDLES Joy as an Act of Resistance
user ratings (21)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2016


3387 Comments


Is this too short to be a review? Seemed too pretentious to be a sound off.

Really really love this EP. Solid 3.8 personally. Super excited to see what there guys get up to next.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2016


3387 Comments


Thanks, dude. I do find the band's lack of originality to be of particular concern, but I personally find that they perform within their respected vein remarkably well.

They do have an awesome name. Album artwork is pretty rad too.

R6Rider
August 8th 2016


5222 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is cool.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 8th 2016


14565 Comments


good write up although it is hard to actually gleam what this sounds like from the review, especially if like me you are only familiar with one or 2 of the bands referenced

Digging: Celtic Frost - To Mega Therion

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
August 8th 2016


10651 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

putting the band names in bold is kinda off putting but the rest seems fine at a glance



ep is pretty sweet, hoped for a little something more though

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
August 8th 2016


11739 Comments


Cool review man, it's a good size and well written. Will jam, I need some new dm.

"production bordering on morally ambiguous" - I'd reconsider this part for a couple reasons. Bordering on ambiguous is a strange phrase in itself, but it's also a bit weird to describe production in terms of its morality. I sorta get what you were going for but it doesn't quite work.

Digging: BABYMETAL - Metal Galaxy

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 9th 2016


3387 Comments


Thanks for the feedback guys. Haven't been active here for a while so apologies for the formatting issues.

I did think that line was pushing it a little. Will edit haha

VisionsFromTheDarkSide
September 14th 2016


2431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is sick, would love a full length by these guys

Geadom
October 27th 2016


3758 Comments


this is fun

adr
October 27th 2016


12016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good stuff yes

Shadowmire
October 27th 2016


5118 Comments


yea

ShadowRemains
October 31st 2016


25072 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i need to jam this

Spacesh1p
October 31st 2016


7713 Comments


Same been meaning to myself

ShadowRemains
October 31st 2016


25072 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

unspeakable axe has some really quality stuff on their roster



scorched is coming out with a full length shortly and that will most likely shred

elliootsmeuth
December 8th 2016


3731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Need a full length so bad

Shadowmire
December 8th 2016


5118 Comments


give it time

osteporosis
December 25th 2016


533 Comments


damn this is awesome

Evok
March 11th 2017


7745 Comments


I love reviews like this. If i want some unpretentious a-b-c reviews ill browse Amazon or something. Friggin such a good review dawg

MotokoKusanagi
April 14th 2018


2285 Comments


already seeing Artificial Brain with Demilich and Blood Incantation in May. should i go see them again with these guys in July? never heard them

Digging: Audio Safari - Urunosora

Assemblage
April 14th 2018


661 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, this ep rips



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy