Moose Blood
Blush


3.5
great

Review

by HypedMerchant USER (8 Reviews)
August 5th, 2016 | 95 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Unable to fully achieve the quality of their peers, Moose Blood still create a renlentlessly catchy and upbeat summer release.

Throughout Blush, Moose Blood exhibit their natural ability to engulf the listener in infectious melodies and continuous integration of upbeat instrumentation. Although the instrumentation fits well with the overall upbeat and summer tone, it occasionally loses focuses and allows the vocals to reign as the focal point of the album. Moose Blood doesn't permanently restrain the songwriting and puts on a quality display of showmanship in "Sway," instantly captivating and continuously interesting, being one of the more angst-fueled tracks layered with a glimmering guitar lead and dominant bassline. The more stripped-down "Shimmer," begins solely with a gentle guitar, continually building into one of the most critical moments of the album. Despite certain moments of crisp songwriting, the focus on vocal work ends up dulling the instrumentation.

Blush's main selling point remains within the melodious vocals, catchy choruses, and thematically focused lyrical content revolving around love and heartache -- the perfect nostalgia magnet. Most people have fallen in love and gone through heartache, hence the easy relatability of the subjects. It's been done countless times, but Moose Blood convincingly pulls off the theme more often than it falls flat.

Following the fascinating introductory track "Pastel," the album loses steam quickly and remains ineffective until the second half. The first half contains an abundance of similarly-structured songs that stagnate and lack any interesting moments. However, once "Sway," arrives, the album's highlights stretch from then on until the end and keeps in pace with one another.

While Blush has its moments, especially in the latter half, its flaws of uninspired instrumentation and uninteresting song variety during the first half of the album hold it down from being a crucial summer release.



Recent reviews by this author
Braid Frame & Canvasourfathers. Movements
Sara Bareilles The Blessed UnrestThe Speed of Sound in Seawater First Contact
When We Team Up Not For Me, But For My FriendsBarely Blind Wilder Child of a Thousand Suns
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2016


14176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Seeing them live tomorrow in their hometown, not even much of a fan its just my gf loves them

Digging: Husker Du - New Day Rising

danielcardoso
August 5th 2016


11770 Comments


nice review, short and concise, pos from me.

DanielNightLewis
August 5th 2016


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Band is trash, review is good!

theNateman
August 5th 2016


3611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Band's alright. Rips off the formula from Deja a bit too hard

HypedMerchant
August 5th 2016


496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks fellas. I never heard anything else from these guys so I couldn't compare this to previous records.

Snake.
August 5th 2016


21511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

band is way too overhyped

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2016


56439 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

are they? I barely hear about them

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2016


14176 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Theyre pretty popular here in the uk

Snake.
August 5th 2016


21511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

they're like the most reblogged band in the emo/pop punk scene like right behind tssf, neck deep, real friends, tfb, and brand new so yeah they're pretty big rn

Snake.
August 5th 2016


21511 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this band pretty much revolves all of their shit around tumblr, the cover for their first album was ripped from somebody's photoset on their trip to alaska and i can almost guarantee that the album cover for this was like the first idea for an album cover that was submitted in the band's inbox



i mean just fucking look at it

NorwichScene
August 5th 2016


2804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They on Kerrang tv all the time. They're ok, have the odd catchy song

HypedMerchant
August 5th 2016


496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've only heard about them because of the Departures split

DanielNightLewis
August 5th 2016


1028 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

one thing: "unrelentlessly" in the summary should be relentless or unrelenting. Double negative at work.

HypedMerchant
August 6th 2016


496 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks I got that fixed



AdolfChrist
August 6th 2016


20414 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I've only heard about them because of the Departures split"



i knew ive seen the name somewhere.

Digging: Somali Yacht Club - The Sea

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2016


24364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like this band. good review, pos. sounds like it's a little worse than their debut but im excited to listen to this

hallgath
August 6th 2016


58 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is good but doesn't outshine their first record unfortunately

Sinternet
August 6th 2016


18841 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

first album was decent, might as well check this

Kurai
August 6th 2016


154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I do like this album a fair bit (although I'm a massive fan of the band in general so I might be a bit biased), but it's definitely not as good as their debut. Has some real great songs on it, but I just haven't latched onto it quite as much as I did IKYIM. I've only listened to it twice though, so I'll probably need to give it a few more listens.



Still excited to see them in October with Turnover and Boston Manor

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2016


24364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

checking this now. Pastel jams but seems kinda generic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy