The Pineapple Thief
Your Wilderness


3.7
great

Review

by Benjamin Kuettel STAFF
August 3rd, 2016 | 35 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Pineapple Thief step into the wilderness, and while the resulting album is not as adventurous as it could be, it is nonetheless a captivating journey

The aptly titled Your Wilderness sees The Pineapple Thief in a period of rediscovery. Recent predecessors have paralleled the paths of contemporaries Porcupine Tree and Anathema: lessening the progressive rock influences in favor of more electronic and alternative music styles. This has made for more straightforward outcomes, but now finally given way to more adventurous songwriting, due mainly to the addition of a new band member. Drumming legend and Porcupine Tree alumnus Gavin Harrison joins the Pineapple Thief ranks, injecting new life into a band dangerously close to a stalemate. Frontman Bruce Soord stated that Harrison being in the band helped him to rediscover his progressive roots, and it certainly shows in the album’s most ambitious cuts “In Exile” and “The Final Thing On My Mind.” The former contains enchanting vocal harmonies and complex drumming not previously heard by the group. However, after the fantastic opening track “In Exile,” Your Wilderness simplifies itself and becomes a typical exercise for the band. Quiet tracks like “No Man’s Land” switch with louder ones like “Take Your Shot” in much the same way as previous releases. Lyrical themes have improved since Magnolia, though remain stubbornly fixated on bittersweet break-ups and feelings of isolated loneliness. It’s clear that much of Your Wilderness is The Pineapple Thief sticking to what they know. However, Harrison’s presence boosts the material to higher qualities, particularly within album epic “The Final Thing On My Mind.” He’s joined at just the right time, as the refined qualities of Magnolia are now able to be taken to more unpredictable places. As Soord himself said, Harrison’s highly complex yet musical drumming serves as a large asset, keeping even the familiar aspects of The Pineapple Thief from sounding lazy.

While not as ambitious as it could have been, Your Wilderness serves as a needed push in a new direction for Soord and co. Whether Harrison remains in the band or not, this will hopefully stand in their impressive discography as a stepping stone to even more lofty explorations for the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Thom Yorke SuspiriaRiverside Wasteland
Toby Driver They Are the ShieldGoldfrapp Silver Eye
A Perfect Circle Eat the ElephantEno, Moebius and Roedelius After the Heat
user ratings (97)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mongi123
August 3rd 2016


19942 Comments


In Wilderness”

*Your Wilderness.

Nice man, I should try more of these guys eventually. They're pretty interesting.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2016


17866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

First review as a staffer! I'll link a stream when it becomes available to the public.



Thanks Mongi, you should definitely give these guys a listen. I'd start with Variations on a Dream or Little Man. The debut Abducting The Unicorn is sweet too but hard to find.

Mythodea
August 3rd 2016


4270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, I expected it would be longer, but it's quite helpful as it is.You're off to a good start as a staff reviewer! I'm stunned by the two singles and can't wait to listen to the rest of it. First TPT album I truly enjoy.



You might want to correct ''alum'' with ''alumnus''.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 3rd 2016


17866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'll be a poor man's Adam Thomas in no time! No, it's just because I reviewed Magnolia back when it came out and it was hard to say much more here without just repeating what I said there.



I've heard people say alum a lot in life for some reason, but I guess alumnus is a more technical term so I'll probably change it.

jtswope
August 3rd 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haven't been into these guys besides Little Man and Variations. Short and sweet review though.

Ocean of Noise
August 3rd 2016


10388 Comments


"The Pineapple Thief step into the wilderness, and while not as adventurous as it could be, remains a captivating journey nonetheless."

This isn't a proper sentence. May I suggest:

"The Pineapple Thief step into the wilderness, and while the resulting album is not as adventurous as it could be, it is nonetheless a captivating journey."

Or simply:

"The Pineapple Thief step into the wilderness."

Digging: Buckethead - Pepper's Ghost

DickLeggingtonThe3rd
August 4th 2016


88 Comments


Nice short review, definitely makes me want to have a listen. Always found these a little boring but the single from this was great. Also Harrison (easily my favourite drummer, the guy can make beautiful sounds come from a kit) being this is bound to make things more interesting. looking forward to checking it out.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2016


3120 Comments


We'll wind up re-featuring as it gets closer to the release date.

SirArthur6
August 5th 2016


264 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought Someone Here is Missing was a fantastic record but was disappointed by All the Wars and Magnolia. Sounds like this will be a turn for the better.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2016


17866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks guys, and sounds good Jom that makes sense. I'll post a stream when it becomes available.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2016


17866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I found this superior to the previous two records SirArthur, which I also enjoyed, so hopefully you'll like it too. Someone Here is Missing is still their best in a while though imo

Mad.
August 11th 2016


4735 Comments


Not sure if I can be bothered with this, have a feeling it's not gonna be much more interesting than Magnolia... I'd say that Bruce Soord has burnt out as a songwriter but then his album with Jonas Renkse was some of the most interesting stuff he's ever done, if he only he'd continue down that route

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2016


17866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

The first two songs are around, people who like this band who're on the fence about this should jam them and see what you think.

OmairSh
August 12th 2016


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

We are in exiile



You knooooow

Tunaboy45
August 12th 2016


16627 Comments


Nice, I'll probably check this out at some point.

Onirium
August 12th 2016


3035 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm only on my first listen right now, but found a piece of interesting news: the limited special edition will feature a second disc that consists of a single 40-minute track exploring the "progressive and ambient side" of the band. https://vimeo.com/177555008

OmairSh
August 12th 2016


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh shit, Mad's alive

DKMachine
August 12th 2016


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've only on my third listen, but my first impressions are that most of this feels like run-of-the-mill acoustic ballads with some cheap builds and guitar solos taped on. "No Man's Land," for example, is an acoustic ballad for two minutes, then starts to steadily builds up to a climax, with all the instruments coming in for 10-30 seconds before the song just... cuts off. It's as if the band wants to be progressive, but doesn't know where to go. The album is also surprisingly light on hooks.

Darran Charles and Gavin Harrison did a great job, though.



(Edit) Because it wasn't mentioned in the review: Darran Charles (Godsticks) does the guitar solos in the album.

KILL
August 12th 2016


81231 Comments


this band is pretty boring

i rly like vapor trails tho

Jasdevi087
August 12th 2016


5369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

colour me surprised, it's not as boring as I thought it would be



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy