Despised Icon
Beast


3.5
great

Review

by Risodo USER (5 Reviews)
July 24th, 2016 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Despised Icon = Deathcore hope?

Deathcore is always a suspect style in terms of creativity and originality, making almost all the albums released by this style repetitive, weak and with a lack of innovation, leading us to listen about five songs then in a album with more of ten.But from the moment that a band escapes this rule almost standard style, we have to give a little attention to the quality of work from the beginning of his career. And when that band still innovates in such a positive way as to give us an album with so much quality in both instruments and in production, we can only deposit a drop of hope in one of the most generic styles of metal.

'' Beast '', is an example of a disk that style always expected, and that may depend on it to give new eyes to Deathcore. Even though it is not a masterpiece of style work, he flees most clich├ęs and certainly deserves a certain respect. Obviously it is easy to establish the latest release of Despised Icon as important to the style when we see bands like Suicide Silence, Carnifex, Chelsea Grin years living in limbo music, bringing in materials to be forgotten.

Another point to be discussed is in relation to Alex Erian, one of the lead singers of the band that brings us a mid-range growl absurd technique. His work with the Obey The Brave is also relevant, and it is interesting to compare these two stylistic differences with the power of adaptation that Alex has for each of them. In addition, Steve Marois makes a nice brutal duet vocals with him, bringing the band to a level of respect in the Deathcore scene. Works on bass and guitar are very interesting and flexible so to speak, but the strong point of the album is deafening and fast battery of Alex Pelletier, which can be very well observed in '' The Aftermath '.

Perhaps the only disk weak point is the cover, which is follows a philosophy of bad produced covers and dubious inspiration for bands style. But that does not make much difference after the ears blasted by 29 minutes of rage that '' Beast '' has.
The disc is essential for music lovers that mix speed, weight, quality, innovation and creativity sound, and perhaps can now be placed as the best work of the band so far. '' Beast '' leaves us with a good impression and even a portion of hope to see new Deathcore discs that enrich the style and let generic bands in the shadow of it.

Recommended Tracks:
The Aftermath
Drapeau Noir
Grind Forever
One Last Martini
Beast


user ratings (198)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Gameofmetal EMERITUS (2.5)
A return to something perhaps better left in 2007....



Comments:Add a Comment 
AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2016


7141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Some of the wording hear seems a little awkward. And you don't really talk about the music all that much, and I'm not sure a critique of the cover art really fits. Still, its your second review, so not too bad

Spec
July 24th 2016


36304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is dope.

Risodo
July 24th 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My english it's not that good, not even close to fluency.

I'm a brazilian who have a lot to learn in that language, but i'm trying my best.

I'll take a better look in my words for the next reviews, thanks for the tip bro.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2016


7141 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ah right, well considering english isn't your first language and your not even fluent this is a brilliant review

Spec
July 24th 2016


36304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn esl and the review came out like this? Props.

Ebola
July 25th 2016


4014 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Need to jam this, good review

Update: ehhhhhhh......

Nikkolae
July 25th 2016


5869 Comments


risodo try give it a go on a online spell check website, massively improved when i was starting to write on my second language as well

Digging: Counterparts - Nothing Left to Love

Sinternet
July 25th 2016


24221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

first deathcore release i've enjoyed this year



pretty great review for a second language speaker too, good job

dixoncocks
July 25th 2016


3247 Comments


How much breeing is in this album? Cuz that might ruin it for me.

iloveyouall
July 25th 2016


6319 Comments


it's got plenty of brees.
embrace them.

melowhit
July 25th 2016


13 Comments


I disagree with what you said about Carnifex living in Limbo, their past 2 releases were great and their 2 new songs are great as well. And critiquing the album art when it's not even that bad is not needed. Album art should never effect the score of the album. Other than that, good review, you still get a pos!

Risodo
July 25th 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks bro.

All opinions, sugestions and corrections are well-received.

Spec
July 25th 2016


36304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

doesnt have THAT many brees

Risodo
July 25th 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

agree it that.

kinda like the bree stuff, but they don't invested too much on that.

SIIMBOLIC
July 26th 2016


1713 Comments


The structure of your paragraphs could use a little work man, doesn't flow particularly well. Just work on formatting because you seem to be good at getting the gist of your point across.

Haven't listened to these guys for years but im cautiously curious

Risodo
July 26th 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks bro!

I'll work on that with more attention.



MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 3rd 2016


12881 Comments


Dunno if I'd end up liking this. Stuff here usually opts for a heaviness > melody and ingenuity route. But I'll keep it on my radar.

For not being an English speaker, this is pretty well written, and I give major props for that. There are definitely points where I could tell it wasn't your first language, but this is a pretty good attempt. Pos.

Risodo
August 3rd 2016


666 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks bro!

I'm still trying to improve my english writing reviews and comments here.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy