Night Verses
Into the Vanishing Light


4.5
superb

Review

by Goldblum USER (4 Reviews)
July 9th, 2016 | 157 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "I Hear the Sound of a Revolution"

Back in September, Night Verses issued a press release for the new album saying , "The new album will put an emphasis on a presenting a fuller, darker ambiance than our previous releases, with more effects, live electronics, experimentation and an overall massive sound" … and boy did they deliver. This was the first indications of the next steps for Night Verses. So with a band like Night Verses that has proven their talents between "Out of the Sky" and "Lift your Existence," you know that their creativity had no room for repetition or directional ambiguity. The early singles released showed us the eclectic nature that this album would provide. “A Dialogue in Cataplexy” picked up exactly where Lift Your Existence left off but bigger, bolder, and simply raw in presentation. The two singles that would follow “Drift” and “Panic and Pull Your Heart Out” showed us that darker ambiance we were promised.

The album introduces itself with an energetic boost of draining vocals, intricate guitar riffs, and Aric absolutely shredding on the drums (per usual - one of the next greats) on the opener “The Future As History: I Love You Dead” that will get anyone’s blood pumping for what is clearly going to be another home-run for one of the most gifted acts in Post-Hardcore today. The best part is that as great of a track as this is, it’s not a top track from the album. This energy remains consistent through the entire album. However, this energy is not necessarily in tempo. Tracks like “Drift,” “Vantablack,”and “Strange Graves” really show how slower tempo, ‘softer sounding’ musical composition still harnesses the energy that Night Verses was aiming for; continually illustrating that darker ambiance they were reaching for. However, don’t be mistaken. This album still will make you want to scream right along with its high intensity, high tempo tracks.

One of the largest differences between "Into the Vanishing Light" and "Lift Your Existence" is clearly the footprint placed by producer Ross Robinson. Ross has done some incredible albums such as Glassjaw’s "Worship and Tribute" and At the Drive-In’s "Relationship of Command". What Ross Robinson does extremely well in these albums (and continues on "Into the Vanishing Light") is that he pushes these great artists to the limit. He takes what they do well and doesn’t accept it until it is better. There is no room for complacency and that one of the reasons is why this album is as incredible as it is. That is why this hones in on what "Lift Your Existence" did well and also gives new flavor without sacrificing the integrity of the band.

All in all, there were high expectations for Night Verses as they followed up the critically acclaimed "Lift Your Existence". They absolutely crushed it. "Into the Vanishing Light" compliments their previous work wonderfully while also remaining a unique piece of the band’s discography.

Top Tracks:
Connecting Hexes
Growing Out Of Orbit
A Dialogue in Cataplexy
Blue Shades of the Sun


user ratings (160)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
SlanderTheSalamander (1)
Into The Vanishing Light, ultimately fails to be the intellectual and creative masterpiece that it s...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Skoop
July 8th 2016


2093 Comments


I was quite disappointed by this actually, LYE was much better.

decisions
July 8th 2016


263 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll have to listen to this soon. One of my favorite bands in their prime, stoked to hear it, although I will say that the first two singles didn't wow me THAT much.



Decent review, mayble a little lacking in detail, relating to why the things you say are good about the album, are actually good.

Snide
July 8th 2016


7050 Comments


I really need to check this out.

LotusFlower
July 9th 2016


12001 Comments


Quite an alright review, I would personally suggest putting "top tracks" tabs like that one as a comment as opposed to a part of the review, but thats just me.

TooManyFriends
July 9th 2016


3018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is so. fucking. good

percyforward
July 9th 2016


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos



There is no room for complacency and that one of the reasons is why this album is as incredible as it is.



Also, this should be



There is no room for complacency and that is one of the reasons why this album is as incredible as it is.





Thinking of giving this a four on the first listen. I don't like it quite as much as their previous outings, but I recognize that it's outstanding musically. Really digging Growing Out of Orbit.



Also, what's up with the all caps titles of the songs on Spotify?

TooManyFriends
July 9th 2016


3018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

gg every other post hardcore band releasing an album this year. you probably tried really hard but it's not gonna be as good as this

ShitsofRain
July 9th 2016


8119 Comments


I was quite disappointed by this actually, LYE was much better.

dont say that

wwf
July 9th 2016


6266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh my jesus the first song is good



honestly I wasn't completely floored by LYE like I was with their EP because I thought the EP explored most of the same ideas just as well and more concisely but oh my god this is on point so far

Digging: Little Simz - GREY Area

percyforward
July 9th 2016


80 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

my god I wish there were more songs like the closer

wwf
July 9th 2016


6266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is totally filling the void in my heart from the sorta disappointing deftones release

wwf
July 9th 2016


6266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that album art is fantastic too

wwf
July 9th 2016


6266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The production on this is absolutely gorgeous. The slightly shorter run time than LYE is appreciated too. Ever get that feeling on first listen that you know what you're going to rate an album and you don't expect that reaction to change much? Yeah, I'm feeling a hella 4 on this guy so far. Like the 4est 4.

TooManyFriends
July 9th 2016


3018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

LYE is a perfectly fine and good phc album. this is the evolution that other bands talk about making but never actually do

wwf
July 9th 2016


6266 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah just about everything hits harder here; it's wonderful. this album is definitely less wanky than their previous releases which is good since that was starting to get played out to me

RustCohle
July 9th 2016


260 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is a huge step up from the last album, loving it!

Digging: Brutus (BE) - Nest

TheHung89
July 9th 2016


328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@wwf good to hear this album is shorter than LYE. The length and some lack of variety were reasons why I felt like LYE wore off kind of fast, but it still has some awesome moments on it.



Can't wait to check this out.

jmh886
July 9th 2016


2316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeaaa this is good.

supremejelly
July 9th 2016


1064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Solid review.



This album is beyond good. My only complaint with LYE was that there was too many repeated chorus' in several songs, but this album never has that problem. Super intense listen. Love the experimentation.

Digging: Jade Bird - Jade Bird

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
July 9th 2016


16115 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album is really good. vantablack is terrible terrible terrible and strange graves aint that great either, but the experimentation is just so on key most of the time.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy