SAFE
Stay Down


3.5
great

Review

by LotusFlower USER (24 Reviews)
July 1st, 2016 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Uncertainty at its strongest and weakest, rolled up in one.

SAFE’s debut mixtape, released to a lack of fanfare in the cold season of 2015, was quite the situational drop for the weather. This mixtape is cold; a chilling piece of trap styled hip hop that awkwardly moves with an anxious set of eyes. Even with what one would call your standard for the “sex, money, drugs” slice of party music, there’s a sense of uncertainty and uneasiness in presentation and performance. When SAFE is describing a one night stand on “Back 2”, for example, it’s done through gritted teeth. The lyrics show signs of struggling with showing confidence with the crowd SAFE is rolling with. It’s also reflective in the production, too, which moves around with seduction through sensual synth work and a gripping percussion line. Yet, at the same time it also has many atmospheric qualities that pinpoint a suffocating, uncomfortable bite of coldness on the undertone. More or less, Stay Down is an eight track mixtape that displays a very, very interesting concept, even if it covers familiar ground through the run time.

Interesting as it may be, and believe me, it is, Stay Down overall is a product underwhelming in how indecisive it is with thematics. As aptly fitting as that disconnect may be, as conceptually, this album stings with SAFE struggling to pick out his identity in the craze of the night life; it takes a toll on songwriting as a whole between trying to be a clever gaze into the dark side of the party and being a straightforward banger to kick back to at the same time. Despite this, production and performance shines consistently through the album and the novelty of the concept has enough charm to make it an endearing listen, along with being enough to warrant another spin. SAFE proves himself to have the potential to be a force in underground hip hop with this tape, despite the bumps. If his assets are utilized correctly on future endeavors, then you could very well be looking at a musician worthy of placement on your music radar.



Recent reviews by this author
Chris Farren Can't DieFox Stevenson All This Time
Kamikaze Girls SadNoname Telefone
Blind Pilot And Then Like LionsShoe SDAASLOI
user ratings (7)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Score: 3.3/5

Stand Outs: Eternity, Back 2, Way Out, Feel, Honest

Blow Outs: Don’t Lie, Nuh Time

Stream: http://soundcloud.com/safe-44/sets/stay-down

On a review roll right now, feeling good about what I’m working on so I wanna keep pumping out more reviews. Don’t know what is up next, but probably something more recent. Comments and criticism appreciated!

LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

small bump >.>

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2016


7187 Comments


Really great review. Short, sweet and to the point.

Not sure the semi-colon is correct in the second sentence, though the sentence itself is great. I could be wrong though

Keyblade
July 1st 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yooo niceee. really glad to see this on sput man, props to u clover

LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can't punctuate to save my life, so it's probably wrong. And thanks for taking the time to read and respond, cheers~

LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also thanks be to you key blade, saw it when stalking your profile a whileback and I really dug it.

AsleepInTheBack
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2016


7187 Comments


No worries man, been enjoying your reviews recently. Need to get back to reviewing myself but I'm a bit rusty

LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you're enjoying them, I've been feeling pretty good and in a writing mood recently so I've been pumping stuff quick.

Keyblade
July 1st 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not sure what his relationship with drake is now after the whole mo-g beef, but dude should be going places. hopefully we'll see a slick LP soon

LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Didnt know he had a "thing" with Drake, actually. But hearing stuff like eternity makes me want a whole album full of them. So good.

Keyblade
July 1st 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea drake was really putting him on at one point



http://assets.noisey.com/content-images/article/safe-toronto-rapper-interview/Screen-Shot-2016-01-13-at-12-21-57-PM_vice_970x435.jpg





LotusFlower
July 1st 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well I gotta hand it to Drake, he sure has the knack of finding some pretty cool artists even though is own music is pretty lame.

Keyblade
July 1st 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea man, the Toronto scene is really killing this trap&b sound, and Drake is giving them exposure on his radio show which is cool. a lot of good shit coming out of my city man, really sweet seeing ppl like myself make it

Conmaniac
August 19th 2016


26673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

checking this now

Conmaniac
August 19th 2016


26673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eternity is hype hype

Keyblade
August 19th 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

imma keep it real thorough to the bone

Conmaniac
August 19th 2016


26673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love the cold party vibes he does it so well

Conmaniac
August 19th 2016


26673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fuck Honest is gonna fuck me up isnt it.

Keyblade
August 19th 2016


30310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Blow Outs: Don’t Lie, Nuh Time"



aww man Don't Lie is easily my favorite after Feel. baby baby baby dont lieeee~

Conmaniac
August 19th 2016


26673 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nuh Time isn't bad either. I enjoyed most of these songs tbh. surprised I liked this so much



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy