kj
wake


4.0
excellent

Review

by StrangerofSorts STAFF
June 23rd, 2016 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: get carried away

The feel of a review should be paired with the thing reviewed – it just makes sense. In a general way, the words match the music. There would be something odd in getting too metaphysical about Taylor Swift, or to focus on the hype surrounding a new Mozart interpretation. Music will be presented in a certain context and a review must be aware of this. So how to review an album like wake, set deliberately beyond language in what some philosophers call “pure feeling”" How do you put words to that"

Doing so would seem to miss the point, yet here we are. I do not want to break wake down but give an impression of the experience without getting overly metaphorical. This would be too easy: low hums, backwards melodies and an airy grace invite us to share its soft embrace, or something. But first I want to say wake is really good. Really, really good.

wake defies criticism because we are asked to leave cynicism at the door. This is a space where it makes such overwhelming sense to just give in. There is no pretence here, or hidden intentions, and it gives the impression of being utterly effortless. Nor is it overly pretty. In fact it leaves itself quite vague. Half-realised thoughts flicker at the border but vanish as they come into view, and there is no frustration in this – we are left content with simple feeling itself.

Months have passed since the last album able to inspire such pure, naïve love. In the first repetitions of “beyond”, I found myself bristling with empathy. (For what" I don’t know. We’re beyond language, remember"). With “blue”, the tone shifts lower: there’s some loss in the mix now, but still it feels easy and uncomplicated. By the time “noville” comes round the sense of calm is almost complete. If only monks high up on mountain temples had a stable internet connection, they could skip a few weeks of meditation with a quick trip to bandcamp.

In the end, there is probably something negative to say about wake somewhere. Only it doesn’t make sense to. Actually, it would feel wrong, because there’s a beauty here too precious to risk tarnishing. In its gentle, dreamlike way, something very special flows in wake, which leaves me only to point out that this is a debut album, so maybe we will get far more than we deserve and the best is yet to come. Until then, this feeling is more than enough.




Recent reviews by this author
Burial UntrueRaime Tooth
Tape Loop Orchestra Go Straight Towards the Light of All That You LovePhaeleh All That Remains
Brian Eno The ShipGidge Lulin
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ownrecords.bandcamp.com/album/wake



good to see Own Records too, it's been a while

parksungjoon
June 23rd 2016


5383 Comments


the 4th paragraph is the only one that says anything remotely meaningful about the music i meant wtf even is this who knows

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well that's kind of the point of the first bit - it doesn't work to break it down to words. leaving out the fact that spotify, youtube, bandcamp, soundcloud (there's an embedded player!) limit the useful parts of a review to context, tone and whatever. no point describing the sound of the album when it takes 2 seconds to hear the sound itself.

parksungjoon
June 23rd 2016


5383 Comments


"no point describing the sound of the album"

i guess we must have extremely different philosophies on the meaning and purpose of a music review

fair enough though

BlushfulHippocrene
June 23rd 2016


2015 Comments


This is a sweet write-up. Oddly enough fits the tone of the album, so well done. Going to listen to this a few more times.

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not all the time! just with this album i think (:

CaliggyJack
June 23rd 2016


1783 Comments


Taylor Swift's albums are so metaphysically interpretive fuq u m8

zakalwe
June 23rd 2016


23376 Comments


That sample is quite lovely. I'll give this a go.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


19702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

man I strive to get this whole informal tone you've got down so well in this review ugh jealous

parksungjoon
June 23rd 2016


5383 Comments


keep practicing bro

writing ain't all inspiration

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


19702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i am my friend i am. basically why i post reviews on here is to practice. hoping to put one out by the end of this week

claymanonfire
June 23rd 2016


2 Comments


This might be the single most useless piece of writing I have ever read on this site. Literally nothing is conveyed.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


19702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

have to disagree with you on that one

RadicalEd
June 23rd 2016


8576 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

listening to this right now. Blue reminds me of Stars of the Lid. I love Stars of the Lid.

zaruyache
June 23rd 2016


17924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

More ambient weeooweeeooowweeeeee. I'll check it tonight :D

NewBallistics
June 23rd 2016


749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Great album to relax to. But the review didn't really sell me. I'm just saying why post a review if your going to keep the positives/negatives/experience to yourself.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sometimes something is "unreviewable" but you still want to talk about it. That's kind of where I'm coming from. There's a book called the crisis of criticism which covers a similar idea (and responses to it)if anyone's interested in some further reading.



Possible that I went too far, which I'll keep in mind for future writing (:



@clay: Not entirely sure how absolutely nothing is conveyed tho? Might be a little different from what's normally posted but there's a least a little bit of something.



StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@zaruyache: if you're in the mood for even more the new Celer is *ace*, as are the past couple of whitelabelrecs releases - tsone's new one in particular (think early Tim Hecker - https://whitelabrecs.bandcamp.com/album/dovetail)



Reviewed the Celer one for acloserlisten (and tsone, but it won't be posted for a while) if you want to have a read.

zaruyache
June 23rd 2016


17924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I jam a bunch of ambient junk on spotify (especially while I read) and then forget about it... according to last.fm I've actually listened to Celer before, eheh. I'll check out the new one, though--there's so much in their discog to sift through that any recs for where to start are definitely welcomed.

StrangerofSorts
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2016


2902 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had an email chat with him about the size of his discog once - he can't quite believe it either. For Celer, Engaged Touches is the place to start. Would check Discourses of the Withered too ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lzV-sci6P8 !) and I've really been digging the recent stuff.

There's waaay too much to listen to all of it, but rym is a good place to look if you want to pick out some more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy