Thrice
To Be Everywhere Is to Be Nowhere


3.0
good

Review

by EasterInTheBatcave USER (5 Reviews)
May 27th, 2016 | 146 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There's nowhere I would rather be than here.

To Be Everywhere Is to Be Nowhere is distinct for Thrice, but still distinctly Thrice. It's a rock record a la Beggars and Major/Minor, but it is darker and more brooding than those works and, though the band don't engage in the unexpected, really, they have delivered a record unique to their oeuvre. To Be Everywhere... is a satisfying comeback record which nestles itself comfortably amongst the band's impressive discography.

Opener "Hurricane" toys, beginning with somber acoustic chords before unexpectedly breaking into mid-tempo distortion. Kensrue's vocals, which enter shortly after, are gruffer than ever and, indeed, better too. It's appropriate that he returns from his band's hiatus with a voice both more weathered and more gallant. The song remains mid-tempo throughout and, though it bears elements of Thrice's other releases (the end, for example, is reminiscent of 2007's "Firebreather,") the conglomeration results in a track unique in the band's canon.

Such describes the record as a whole. To Be Everywhere... is dark, yes, but it is also celebratory. It is at once an aggregation and commemoration of Thrice's post-Artist in the Ambulance career. "The Window" opens with a Vheissu-esque 7/4 groove; "Black Honey," an album highlight, would have fit on Major/Minor; closer "Salt and Shadow" is a touching, well-produced ambient number which brings to mind The Alchemy Index's Water volume. Furthermore, I would be amiss to ignore "Death from Above," an odd-tempoed twister of a track, and "Whistleblower," the record's heaviest number, which bear traces of the band's Air and Fire EPs, respectively.

The production is excellent, Dustin's voice is better than ever, and the songwriting is mostly strong. I would have liked to see minute-long interlude "Seneca" developed further, and "Blood on the Sand" is too short, but minor complains aside, this is a satiating listen, and an excellent launching point for the second phase of Thrice's career. How exciting it is to be privy to experience both this and, hopefully, future releases from a band once thought extinct. To be everywhere may be to be nowhere, but there's nowhere I would rather be than here.



user ratings (1052)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
EasterInTheBatcave
May 27th 2016


324 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Physical copies: http://thrice.shop.musictoday.com/store/



Download: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/to-be-everywhere-is-to-be/id1094832277?app=itunes&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

wwf
May 27th 2016


6772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whoa a review

omgbecky
May 27th 2016


499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. I thought I'd be more excited about new Thrice. He definitely sounds older.

ConcubinaryCode
May 27th 2016


5384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whoa a 2.5, I bet this sucks then

wwf
May 27th 2016


6772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It unfortunately does a little bit



I'm relistening to Beggars for the first time in ages because I've always kinda overlooked it and compared to this it sounds like a masterpiece

omgbecky
May 27th 2016


499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Beggars is a masterpiece.

ConcubinaryCode
May 27th 2016


5384 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This must really sound shit then. Beggars sucks

LotusFlower
May 27th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i pray this isnt as bad as WWF say sit is

omgbecky
May 27th 2016


499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen to Beggars more than once before you say that shit.

FearThyEvil
May 27th 2016


17225 Comments


The singles have been incredibly mediocre.

wwf
May 27th 2016


6772 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm clearly the minority here so far and I don't even hate it, might bump to 3

omgbecky
May 27th 2016


499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Okay, first single wasn't all that hot. They kinda redeemed themselves with the second and third. Still holding out hope.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2016


43833 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

"Beggars sucks" nah



great review, looking forward to this reservedly

Digging: Mike Shinoda - Dropped Frames, Vol. 1

GreyShadow
May 27th 2016


4092 Comments


I've never kept up with this band much but I just heard Hurricane and really liked it.

Digging: Protest the Hero - Palimpsest

osmark86
May 27th 2016


10121 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Madreclucking finally!

redrig
May 27th 2016


141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this has nothing to do with major minor or beggars, this sucks.

osmark86
May 27th 2016


10121 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hmmm, was hoping for something further along the lines of beggars for this release. this is a pretty uneven release upon first listen. there are some gems on here like "death from above", "the window" and "salt and shadow", but overall it's just not as interesting as I've come to expect from a Thrice album. by all means, it's not bad it's just average and lacking edge.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2016


43833 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

Hurricane is absolutely incredible

bananatossing
May 27th 2016


1275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think I like this more than Beggars, probably because it is a much more straightforward album. It harkens back some of the darker tones of Vheissu, but following the alt-rock sound of Major/Minor.

MH18
May 27th 2016


454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening now. Eddie, their bassist stated in the last studio interview that he's excited for the next step, and the next. So I guess we'll get more records from these guys in the future.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy