Fort Minor
The Rising Tied


3.5
great

Review

by wikuk USER (24 Reviews)
May 23rd, 2006 | 151 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


For the one's that still don't know it (to those who are isolated from the rest of the world). Mike Shinoda made his debut solo album: Rising Tied. It's a rap album with lots of guest appearances from both MC's and Singers. The songs differ from rockish rap song to the standard formule rap songs, and there are also some experimental song on it. There are both weak and strong songs on it, it differ very much. But the majority is pretty standard.

The album sure has it's moments. Kenji and Slip Out The Back are some really catchy, yet melodic and emotional rap songs with deep meanings. Red To Black is also a very nice song to relax with, although the song gets weaker after listening many times. The lyrics are very good thought of although sometimes the words are just too generic which also takes away the value of the song. The song has an awesome chorus, a Chester Bennington-like vocalist sings in it while a guitar takes the lead while it still stays in the background.

There are some songs that really make me agressive, not because the song itself is agressive, but because of the fact that there isn't a single enjoyable moment in the song. Right Now is a perfect example of this. The song has the most irritating beat ever made in a hip-hop song. The guitar is very monotone, Mike Shinoda raps like he's whispering. Funny for one second but irritating for the rest of the song. The drummachine makes me crazy too, with an arabian like bass beat and an handclap that you can hear in 85% of the rap songs. Petrified, the first single is also a good example of it. The synth beat is top notch annoying and goes on for the whole song. The lyrics are really generic, with Mike "introducing itself" on the most gangster-rap way you can think of. It's almost 50 cent! (normally I would say "no offense" but since I hate 50 cent most of the whole world I will call it offensive) The chorus is also a letdown, even compared to the song itself. With lots of uninspiring "yo's and come one" and things like that.

Luckily the other songs aren't that bad as those two above. However they are also not as enjoyable as Kenji and Slip Out The Back. The good point again is that most of the songs are pretty original. Some songs have a rock edge as a nice addition to the CD. Believe Me is a song that could be easily used in a Linkin Park album. The chorus is sung very well (I'm not sure, but is it Chester Bennington singing it") and flows perfectly with the couplets. Something weird is the bridge. A kind of conga(") solo is set in there, but the solo is nothing more than a background beat with some very easy additions to it. The song that really suprised me was High Road. The song starts with a piano loop that could be easily copied from a old-school rock band like Aerosmith or Led Zeppelin. The song has John Legend singing in it making it even more old school, and although the bridge is really a letdown the rest of the song is very interesting.

Cigarettes is a weird song. It lacks a steady beat but with the sound effects it sounds mysterious, making it better and more originial. The lyrics are well thought of, you can even hear Mike Shinoda hear the F-bomb. Pretty impressive for someone who hasn't said it in songs for years. Hearing the song reminds me of things like Area 51 or The Bermuda Triangle. It's mysterious, alien-orientated but very interesting. Another original song is Where'd you go. It's a ballad-like rapsong about the worst side of touring. Missing your family... The chorus has a women (Holly Brook") singing in it. It's a nice song but drags down later in the song as it stays the same through the whole song.

So what is with the rest of the album" Well, it's pretty generic. In Stereo is a very heavy song but is not interesting enough to listen till the end.Remember The Name is a very generic rap song, very cool though. It has some violins in the beat and Mike rapping some cool lyrics. Feel Like Home has some really stupid lyrics and standard beat. There is not really a chorus in it, if there is one, it just not sounds as a chorus. In short, this song is basically a filler. Back Home is very similar to Feel Like Home, the song names are even almost the same. The difference is that Back Home is raelly not a filler, it's not outstanding either but it's not bad. The chorus has a nice flow and the couplets are, besides the fact that they're boring after few listens, also cool. The skits and introduction are also nice. The intro, named Introduction, is very disturbed with some synths and a spoken word in it. There are some marching sounds in it. Get Me Gone is stupid and funny at the same time. Mike talks about a person that wanted Mike not to rap in LP and FM. It's almost a real songs save for the fact that it's just 1:56 long. The last between-2-songs-track is The Battle. It has Celph Titled freestyling (If that's the right word) in it. A nice thing is that the song goes perfectly into the final song, the epic Slip Out The Back.

If you like Linkin Park you will both be suprised and disappointed. Almost all the LP elements are gone, but Mike is improved with his lyrics and rapping speed. He even drops F-bombs or B-bombs (B*tch) in the songs. He has never done that before. I suggest to download some songs first before buying it.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Introduction 7.5/10
2. Remember the Name 7/10
3. Right Now 1/10
4. Petrified 1.5/10
5. Feel Like Home 6/10
6. Where'd You Go 7.5/10
7. In Stereo 6/10
8. Back Home 7.5/10
9. Cigarettes 9.5/10
10. Believe Me 8.5/10
11. Get Me Gone 8/10
12. High Road 9/10
13. Kenji 10/10
14. Red to Black 9.5/10
15. Battle 6.5/10
16. Slip Out the Back 10/10




A 3.5/5!!!!!!!!



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park ReanimationLimp Bizkit Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water
Soilwork Stabbing the DramaIn Flames Clayman
Rush GoldIn Flames Whoracle
user ratings (566)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brain Dead
May 23rd 2006


1150 Comments


Very good review. I remember Mike Shinoda censoring himself on Hi Voltage... I hate him a little for doing that.

Honeymoon_Croon
May 23rd 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Remember The Name is actually supposed be making fun of the whole "I'm the coolest rapper" thing.

Great review, great album.

Brain Dead
May 23rd 2006


1150 Comments


I'm not sure about that....

Honeymoon_Croon
May 23rd 2006


297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Read about it in an article.



Plus Mike dosen't seem like a guy that's full of himself.

Brain Dead
May 23rd 2006


1150 Comments


The only time I've seen Mike Shinoda was on this Punk'd episode, and he lied his a$s off so I don't really respect him. You might be right about Remember The Name, though. I'm listening to it now and I can't tell for sure.

Zebra
Moderator
May 23rd 2006


2647 Comments


I've heard a few Fort Minor songs here and there but have never actually listened to a full album of theirs. This doesn't sound to appealing to me since I dislike Linkin Park.
Great review.

The Jungler
May 23rd 2006


4826 Comments


Good job on the review Wikuk, I really liked all three singles off this.

Keep up the good work.

masada
May 23rd 2006


2733 Comments


I like the single.

Brain Dead
May 23rd 2006


1150 Comments


I agree with you, Iluvatar. Mike Shinoda seems much better at rapping in this album then his Linkin Park raps.This Message Edited On 05.23.06

The Jungler
May 23rd 2006


4826 Comments


Yeah, I agree with that too. His rapping was decent on some tracks in the old days, but it's much better here.

icaught fire444
May 23rd 2006


622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude right now is an awesome song. its 100% honest and hes brave for amking something like that. its an awesome song. besides that good review.

wikuk
May 24th 2006


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude right now is an awesome song. its 100% honest and hes brave for amking something like that. its an awesome song. besides that good review




well, opinions differ.

encmetalhead
May 24th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok i'm tired of reviewers nto getting things right in their reviews



Petrified, the first single




WRONG! second single Remember the name was first



Believe Me is a song that could be easily used in a Linkin Park album.




this is a fort minor cd not a likin park cd so dont mention linkin park got it? good! NEXT!



The chorus has a women (Holly Brook?) singing in it.




there is no excuse for this even if its a burned copy u can look it up on the net



Mike talks about a person that wanted Mike not to rap in LP and FM.




just LP!!!!!!!!!!! they didnt know abotu fm back then gosh!



If you like Linkin Park you will both be suprised and disappointed. Almost all the LP elements are gone, but Mike is improved with his lyrics and rapping speed. He even drops F-bombs or B-bombs (B*tch) in the songs. He has never done that before. I suggest to download some songs first before buying it.




if u like LP u will hate this cause this aint nu-metal.

all lp elments should be gone cause this aint LP!

lyrics and speed was already with him just couldnt be used in a nu-metal band

i wouldnt call bitch a b-bomb...

i suggest u read my review for a better review even though it's track by track and an old one which i'm much better with my new style



want some water for that burn?

Bron-Yr-Aur
May 24th 2006


4405 Comments


Shut up. You aren't funny, and you're being a dick. Even if this review had inaccuracies, this is far better than your sub-par review. This Message Edited On 05.24.06

Zesty Mordant
May 24th 2006


1196 Comments


ok i'm tired of reviewers nto getting things right in their reviews

Similarly, this would be a great statement if you could only
spell properly and use proper grammar.
this is a fort minor cd not a likin park cd so dont mention linkin park got it? good! NEXT

Why not? People are gonna obviously wanna know how this compares to Shinoda's other work.
there is no excuse for this even if its a burned copy u can look it up on the net

well, can we say the same for this from your review:
This song is about Mike's Grandpa/grandma or uncle/aunt i forgot which one.

nitpicking, yes, but you are doing just the same.
if u like LP u will hate this cause this aint nu-metal.

all lp elments should be gone cause this aint LP!

Though I haven't heard the album, the idea of an artists sounding COMPLETELY different from their past work is a pretty tall order. Making such grandiose statements is also very retarded as you are assuming that ALL people who like Linking Park will hate this.
i suggest u read my review for a better review even though it's track by track and an old one which i'm much better with my new style

Not saying that your review is bad, but as a review itself, this one flows much better and is more readable.
want some water for that burn?

Dude, don't be a 'tard.



encmetalhead
May 24th 2006


744 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how about u dont be a terd?

Zesty Mordant
May 24th 2006


1196 Comments


not when you started it.
I'm just giving you constructive criticism, while you are resorting to lame name-calling, unfounded criticism and anal nitpicking.

Brain Dead
May 24th 2006


1150 Comments


a terd? Actually Remember the Name and Petrified were dually released as a single... Why don't you go look that up on the net?

wikuk
May 26th 2006


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i suggest u read my review for a better review even though it's track by track and an old one which i'm much better with my new style


to make it clear, your review s*cks. it gives few to no information of the songs, only which single it was and like that.



if u like LP u will hate this cause this aint nu-metal.







all lp elments should be gone cause this aint LP!





To make it clear. I both like LP and FM so your statement is invalid. You also say the LP elements should be gone because it's no LP. That's another invalid opinion/fact, because lots of metal bands have the same elements, it's just that if you hear this album, you sometimes hear a LP thing through some parts.



and from you on: PEace!







and you better stop being so rude, people will dislike you when you do that. Unless you're right.This Message Edited On 05.26.06

Bron-Yr-Aur
June 1st 2006


4405 Comments


Welcome back. Here is how you quote (no spaces throughout): (quote)message goes here(/quote).
The parenthesis are brackets though, I couldn't use them to display that to you for obvious reasons. This Message Edited On 06.01.06



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy