ANOHNI
HOPELESSNESS


2.0
poor

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
May 10th, 2016 | 674 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Rockism and poptimism, bastardized.

Hopelessness sounds like that dreaded intersection between rockism and poptimism; that is, where music is elevated both because of its self-righteous purpose and its propensity towards likable hooks. Think about it; a serious attempt to marry political rhetoric with music that might otherwise be described as disposable or throwaway. Lesser minds would refer to it as subversion, as if by merit, any attempt to exist outside of what is considered normal is an automatic attempt to undermine the accepted pop music structures. Anohni, though gifted, falls victim to this idealism, and constructs Hopelessness as something so devoid of intelligence or fun that it seems almost unprecedented to praise her for singing about death by drone strikes. She doesn't actually address the implications of it as such, instead writing clunky observations about what it might be like to be on the receiving end of Western aggression. But then criticizing Anohni for having a political purpose is unfair, and to say that her message is the problem with her album isn't addressing the actual problem; it's terrible delivery. The idea that one might be able to enjoy music regardless of its lyrical content is thrown into peril when Anohni makes it clear she intends to beat you over the head with the droning of her achingly simplistic lexicon. Accordingly, Hopelessness is marked by its excessively guilt-ridden navel-gazing, unable to divorce itself from any surface level aesthetic it seems keen to emphasize in the interest of being an overt political rant.

Most of Hopelessness attempts to mix politicized sentiment to danceable music and rarely succeeds. Deliriously silly though its lyrics are, "4 Degrees" stands out as a most obvious success, arguing the complicit nature of human consumption in relation to global warming whilst also presenting itself as a melodically engaging piece of synthpop. That overwrought contemplation is rife, though, and Anohni's infrequent distractions from it leave most of her songs to sound like what they are; lyrically overwritten and hookless compositions. At its worst, as in "Obama", she voices naive disappointment in the assumption that the neoliberal polices of the 45th president were the first time anybody was ever blindsided by a politician's false promises. All of that wouldn't be an issue were it not for how her vocals, so dramatically calling attention themselves, put every word in stark contrast to the beat. It problematizes highlights like "Drone Bomb Me", which, though elevated by Hudson Mohawke's customarily club-ready production, is left to sound so very cringy with a refrain that unironically exclaims, 'blow my head off / explode my crystal guts.' In being so obvious and direct, she betrays the central thesis of subversion; namely, the music isn't fun to listen to. At its core, that's the very problem with Hopelessness' desperate attempts at political sloganeering, as every opportunity that Anohni has to bolster such wonderful Oneohtrix Point Never bangers with confrontationally political sentiment, she manages to reduce it to platitudes and a remarkably poor vocabulary. To the extent that we can commend a class tourist, Hopelessness is admirable. However, without subtleties and seemingly proud of it, it is not the subversive statement it strives to be. Instead, it wallows in obvious answers, unable to defeat its enemies as much as paint mediocre caricatures. This is pop music, made to seem intelligent without the substance to assert its claims.



Recent reviews by this author
Sheck Wes MudboyTravis Scott Astroworld
Denzel Curry TA13OOPusha T DAYTONA
Post Malone beerbongs and bentleysJ. Cole K.O.D.
user ratings (191)
Chart.
2.9
good
other reviews of this album
SpeakSound (4)
ANOHNI confronts modern humanities’ destructive nature on her newest release “Hopelessness” wi...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Keyblade
May 10th 2016


27755 Comments


"Drone Bomb Me"

lol wow

Idleness
May 10th 2016


459 Comments


riffs on drone bomb me tho

hal1ax
May 10th 2016


13879 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ya i did not enjoy this

good review

RadicalEd
May 10th 2016


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

hot garbage from what I heard.

DoofusWainwright
May 10th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You wanted subtlety from this dude(ette)?



Also how do I pronounce that name - Ah-no-nee? Ah-nonny? An-on-aaaigh? Anthony?



Only listened to this twice but found some of it pretty interesting I gotta say. He's already done one album too many of ballads so had to be anything but that

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2016


18781 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

aaah no knee

DoofusWainwright
May 10th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Painful - sounds the name of a true artist

brandontaylor
May 10th 2016


826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Anohni goes by she and its offensive to imply she's a dude.



Anyway this album definitely lacks subtlety but that's the point, even if it goes overboard sometimes (for example the name-dropping of other countries in Execution). Drone Bomb Me may not make some greater point about the issue its about, but it at least draws attention to it, and the song itself is beautiful. I get some of the criticisms but not the one about terrible delivery, I would've thought the two agreed-upon things about the album are that Anohni sounds fantastic and that the production is great.

DoofusWainwright
May 10th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

She was a he on the previous albums was where I was coming from in terms of historical context referring to past work



He's now a she and I get that.

p4p
May 10th 2016


1959 Comments


the vox reminds me of Antony and The Johnsons

DoofusWainwright
May 10th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Masculine voice?

Gyromania
May 10th 2016


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album is the biggest load of self-righteous, presumptuous, PC-bandwagoning dogshit I've heard all year. I like 4 degrees a lot, but it seems weaker now in the context of the album.



Will read the review shortly

Digging: black midi - Schlagenheim

p4p
May 10th 2016


1959 Comments


oh its the same person, nvm then.

"Anohni goes by she and its offensive to imply she's a dude."

not everyone knows about her past u hyper sensitive bellend

theBoneyKing
May 10th 2016


16967 Comments


I was interested in checking this out so I tried "4 Degrees" and after about 15 seconds I was like lol no

Gyromania
May 10th 2016


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gotta watch out dude, people love to snap on others over inconsequential shit like that

Gyromania
May 10th 2016


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

4 degrees is easily the best song here

brandontaylor
May 10th 2016


826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@arcade i agree that the singing from a victim's perspective is a little problematic, but i think the purpose is to shock the listener and make them think about the issue and it succeeds at that. i think that she asks the audience to think critically about issues rather than do it herself on the album and that understandably could hamper one's enjoyment of the record, but it doesn't for me.



@doofus it's probably best to use she to refer to any of anohni's past work regardless of her pronouns/identification at the time, all good tho

brandontaylor
May 10th 2016


826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not everyone knows about her past but the person i was replying to did. i wouldn't really call someone's identity inconsequential anyway

Gyromania
May 10th 2016


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think the purpose was to exploit major political problems to make herself seem more worldly and controversial. When you make a political album you can be sure you'll prob be raking in $ and adoration from legions of fans who want to pretend they actually give a shit about these problems

Gyromania
May 10th 2016


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Um, being confused about whether or not she's a man when you didn't know, and then vocalizing that on 1 of a billion threads on Sputnikmusic.com is pretty damn inconsequential.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy