Eluvium
Curious Things


4.5
superb

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
April 16th, 2016 | 25 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Curious things, indeed.

The man behind Eluvium, Matthew Robert Cooper, has been providing listeners with beautiful ambient soundtracks for about thirteen years now. When I first listened to his 2007 release Copia, it was unlike anything I had ever heard before. The emotive and dreamy atmosphere is something I immediately fell in love with, and I quickly devoured his back catalog. As the years wore on, he continued to refine his combination of simple piano and larger-than-life ambient compositions. His prolific output has never equated to a dip in quality, nor has it stopped him from experimenting within the confines of ambient music (see Static Nocturne for proof). Curious Things is a compilation of rarities and unreleased material to accompany the "Life Through Bombardment Vol. 2" vinyl boxset, and it's not surprising that the compilation boasts some incredible tracks. However, it may be surprising to find that there is no fragmented quality to the continuity; this listens just like another focused Eluvium album.

The compilation does an excellent job of maintaining a singular contemplative mood while employing different elements in songs to make them distinctive. Whether it be the somber piano piece "Confessor" slowly progressing towards a beautiful ambient mess or the somewhat playful electronic meanderings in "Adolescent Space Adventures Outside the Supermarket", Cooper has proven time and again that he is the master of taking glacially-paced movements and injecting them with captivating beauty. The modulated heartbeat-like sound in "Airtapebreathingheart" is juxtaposed perfectly against the calming, yet cinematic background noise. There is more detail to Eluvium's music in Curious Things than any of his other works, as proven by the brilliant "Defibrillator". The song makes further use of the simple piano by placing it in the background and giving it some reverb at the end of the track, making it one of the standouts. Behind Copia, this the strongest showing thus far from Eluvium. Cooper is gaining more and more traction as he uses further influences to bolster his songwriting, and it's incredibly exciting given the fact that these happen to be his "throwaway tracks" from 2009 to 2015. Curious things, indeed.



Recent reviews by this author
Young Thug Slime Season 3Mac Miller GO:OD AM
Mac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMASThe Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' Boys
Blood Gemini Snow SeasonCaina Setter of Unseen Snares
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A little write-up for my favorite artist. The music here is really something.

RadicalEd
April 16th 2016


8624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, a new Eluvium release. Sweet. Will check. Review is tasty.

Digging: Swarms - Black Chapel Sun

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shanks, buddy. Let me know what you think of it.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2016


17066 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will check this out (review and album)

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you'll dig, man.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2016


17066 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've only checked a few individual tracks by him before but liked what I heard so hoping so crypt

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

His albums are pretty immersive, but I'm a fanboy so take it with a grain of salt lol.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 16th 2016


6143 Comments


love the artwork

Digging: Emperor X - Western Teleport

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same, ponton. He's married to the artist, Jeannie Paske. I actually have some of her artwork tattooed on me.

LordePots
April 16th 2016


38567 Comments


that album art is neat

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

LordePots
April 16th 2016


38567 Comments


holy fuck this chicks art is insane

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, have some framed potsy. I love her stuff so much.

LordePots
April 16th 2016


38567 Comments


i didnt realize this chick was his wife/did a lot of his other art. her album covers for Eluvium are nice but just googling her and checking out her personal work is a whole 'nother level. i LOVE her characters, seem like a mix between some weird indie game and some miyazaki spirit shit

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, agreed there. She has such an unique style that her "universe" of characters is exactly that; otherworldly and interesting. I found out about her stuff after I liked the "Between the Garden and Sea" artwork, and have been in love ever since.

ATARI
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2016


22810 Comments


Nice short 'n sweet write-up Mark! I liked Copia as well but need to revisit this guy's stuff. Also agreed that the artwork is cool, checked the wife's website as well

Digging: Amy Shark - Night Thinker

Gyromania
April 16th 2016


23724 Comments


takk

zaruyache
April 16th 2016


18089 Comments


Had no idea this comp was a thing. Hype.

cryptside
April 16th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, Aaron!



Zaru, it's so amazing.

cryptside
April 17th 2016


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@gyro, it does remind me of Takk's artwork, definitely some similarities.

RadicalEd
April 17th 2016


8624 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Artwork is gorgeous, Compilation is rather boring to me. It's definitely pretty, but I can definitely see why does songs didn't really make the cut. Don't want to sound to negative, I did enjoy the two spins I gave this, but nothing really stuck and I can't see myself getting back to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy