Cocteau Twins
Treasure


5.0
classic

Review

by USER (27 Reviews)
April 16th, 2016 | 31 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Treasure lives up to it’s title by being an incredibly precious piece of art.

Cocteau Twins guitarist Robin Guthrie referred to Treasure as “an abortion” and bass player Simon Raymonde felt it was an unfinished and rushed album. It is easy to assume that when most members of a band despise their own album, it’s fairly safe to say that it will be a terrible listen. Despite this, the ethereal wave masterpiece, Treasure, completely defies this logic by being highly conceptual, fluid, and most importantly incredibly gorgeous. The type of gorgeous that brings five dollar words like bewitching and pulchritudinous to mind. It’s such a solid album that it brings up the question: “What were Guthrie an Raymonde thinking"”

Atmospherically, the album is frigid like the first morning after a snowstorm in December. The kind of snowfall that where it’s bright and sunny out, yet still below 0°C. The kind where the kids get off from school so they can have snowball fights and make snow angels. Playful acoustic guitar, soothing electric guitar and bass, shimmering bells, and lightly mixed drums all serve to aid Elizabeth Fraser’s vocalis as she takes you off into another world.

Fraser’s elegant cheery vocals could be likened to a brisk wind current, there to remind you of the album’s temperature. Occasionally her vocals are a bit harsher, but because when this occurs her heavy Scottish brogue is accentuated, her performance in these moments are somehow even more beautiful. This brogue is particularly prominent in highlight “Pandora” where she switches between it and her typical high pitched warbling. Lyrically, the album is completely meaningless, but this actually serves as a strength. In a way it persuades the listener to focus on the sound of her voice rather than what she has to say. Lyrics such as: “Every week, move is small. When he cared, when he did love. When he knew, when he'd fall. I hear she'd fall, ha, she fell. Hear she'd fall, ha, she fell” from “Beatrix” focuses far more on how the syllable of each word sounds together than any actual meaning –adding to the the overall beauty of her voice.

Every song on the album takes its name after an actual human first name –some of which that are archaic in nature (such as Aloysius and Persephone.) This gives the album an overall personal feeling, as if each song was written for someone in specific (two of which definitely were since “Pandora” is sometimes listed as “Pandora (For Cindy)” and “Ivo” has been confirmed to be written for 4AD producer Ivo Watts-Russell.) Treasure is an excellent example of how truly beautiful ethereal wave can be and I wholeheartedly treasure it.

Album highlights: “Ivo”, “Lorelei”, “Pandora”, ”Amelia”



Recent reviews by this author
Mid-Air Thief CrumblingBruce Haack Haackula
Gal Costa Gal CostaDoprah Wasting
Brainiac Bonsai SuperstarTalking Heads Fear of Music
user ratings (640)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Phil (4.5)
This album is full of gems....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ArsMoriendi
April 15th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album needed a better review, I hope this is good enough.

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - Farm

Pheromone
April 15th 2016


7129 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fantastic album

Digging: AL-90 - CODE?-915913

JigglyPDiddy
April 15th 2016


3657 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Amazing album!! auto-pos

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

theBoneyKing
April 15th 2016


16983 Comments


Nice review. I've really got to check out the Cocteau Twins. I've heard a lot of their songs and always like them but I've never listened to a full album.

brandontaylor
April 15th 2016


826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fantastic album but it doesnt surpass heaven or las vegas for me

Friday13th
April 15th 2016


6959 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

pos Ars, one of my favorite albums as of late

Alastor
April 16th 2016


2086 Comments


1984, what a year

ArsMoriendi
April 16th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Someone neg'd this? To whoever did this, can I know why?

TwigTW
April 16th 2016


3799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice imagery, nice review--every song on this album could be my favorite. I'm very interested in finding out why they didn't like it. Did you ever find out, “What were Guthrie an Raymonde thinking?”

Digging: Brian Eno - Apollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks

ArsMoriendi
April 17th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Guthrie hated that it reminded him of pre-Raphaelite art or something

Friday13th
April 17th 2016


6959 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh, no good reason not to 5 this

bump



Friday13th
April 17th 2016


6959 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

All I've gotta say to Guthrie and Raymonde is this. You know you're a hipster contrarian when you can't even come up with a convincing reason to dislike your own critically acclaimed album haha

TwigTW
April 17th 2016


3799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Guthrie hated that it reminded him of pre-Raphaelite art or something"



Lol, I know I shouldn't laugh, but WTF? Anyways, brilliant album--even if the creators don't like it.

ArsMoriendi
April 17th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah he's obviously a pretentious fuck but he was literally quoted saying that.

TwigTW
April 17th 2016


3799 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Don't get me wrong; I think they are geniuses--but slagging such a brillaint album annoys me.

ArsMoriendi
April 17th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hey people ghost negging, if you're going to neg my review, at least tell me why.

WilhelmBlack
May 5th 2016


603 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am pretty sure they hated the album because it was not finished. It was a rushed album.

Friday13th
May 5th 2016


6959 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

rushed to perfection XD

WilhelmBlack
May 5th 2016


603 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He did mention it in his intro but that is all I could find on the album. Ivo Watts-Russell, the founder of 4AD, rushed the album. Ivo is an implicit diss track to Ivo Watts-Russell. The lyrics "He didn't deal, little Ivo (peep peep hole), with the part animal" are describing Ivo as a creep. They did not have an amicable relationship with Ivo after this album.

ArsMoriendi
May 5th 2016


26774 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"rushed to perfection XD"



For sure



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy