Bossk
Audio Noir


4.5
superb

Review

by Krvst USER (1 Reviews)
April 3rd, 2016 | 53 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Long overdue, but a journey more than worth your time.

I’ve always felt a little bit haunted by Bossk. No seriously, let me explain.

Rarely is there a worse feeling than a band that shows so much initial promise, splitting before said potential is realised. Sure their two EP’s (named “.1” and “.2” respectively) were brilliant little slabs of post metal. But the endless desire for more cast a deep shadow when ‘Bossk’ announced their split in 2008. So you can imagine my delight when “Audio Noir’s” existence was announced to the world, while a reunion had been confirmed with 2013’s ‘Pick up artist’, actually getting a full LP was a genuine surprise. Whether it would live up to the sky-high expectations thrust upon it however is an entirely different matter.

Thankfully ‘Audio Noir’ impresses from the very beginning. With the entrancing opener of ‘The Reverie” showcasing a much more refined sound from a band who feel like they are finally showing us that sound in their head. The classic blend between post rock and sludge has always been a cornerstone to Bossk’s sound but here it feels more immediate and completely natural. It feels cliché at this point to state an album needs to be experienced in one sitting, but to witness such a transition from these beautiful passages, start to finish is astounding. ‘Kobe’ is possibly the best example of this kind of movement, but the release as a whole encompasses this ideal. Whether it be the sludgy groove heavy riffs of ‘Atom Smasher” or the psychedelic bliss of ‘Relancer’, nothing feels out of place and exactly where it should be. Some of the absolutely colossal climax’s these songs achieve are nothing short of blistering and stand among the best the genre has to offer.

Credit has to be given to Sam Marsh for exercising such restraint with his blistering yell. Whilst ‘Audio Noir’ has a huge focus on its instrumental sections, Sam shows up precisely when the impact would be greatest, complimenting to some already incredible sections (closer ‘The Reverie II’ is possibly the best song Bossk have ever written in this regard). While there are times where the vocals are dipped amongst the guitars in the mix that may prove bothersome for some. Personally I feel it adds to the catastrophic walls of sound ‘Bossk’ often create to add even more depth to an already polished sound. It’s worth mentioning the brilliance of the rhythm section. Smooth bass slowly creeps its way into mix often shifting the mood entirely. Backed up by Nick Corney’s lurking drum work, which often develops into a beast of its own.

If anything, ‘Audio Noir’ is a huge relief. The wait for one of the most overdue debut LP’s is finally over and the fact that it hits such soaring highs is just the icing on the cake. I can’t help but wonder where ‘Bossk’ will go from here. We can only await and hope for more releases of such quality. Armed with renewed vigour and brilliant new material the future is certainly looking bright.


user ratings (90)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Krvst
April 3rd 2016


469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably didn't cover the overall sound half as much as I should have. Constructive criticism welcome



That Trandoshan knows how to riff.

PistolPete
April 3rd 2016


5037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've been racing through their EPs for the last month or so in preparation for this. I must say this did not disappoint in the slightest. Still deciding between a 4 and 4.5, I've always felt the need to take my time before handing out a 4.5 or above.

Digging: JPEGMAFIA - All My Heroes Are Cornballs

Ignimbrite
April 3rd 2016


6559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is such a great album. All of the good parts of post-metal with none of the bad. Also, the production and the riffs are so fucking tasty.

Also, great review.

teamster
April 4th 2016


4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The quieter parts of the album - especially the first track - are my favorite parts of the album. Immaculate production and so atmospheric. Awesome review and thanks.

Digging: Klone - Le Grand Voyage

Avagantamos
April 4th 2016


6673 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet, didn't know about this. definitely will get it

tacos n stuff
April 4th 2016


3181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I remember .1 being super rad, totally forgot they were doing a full length!

Insurrection
April 4th 2016


24734 Comments


shit, had no idea this was coming out. great first review

Krvst
April 4th 2016


469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the feedback guys, was unsure on rating for the longest time, would give a 4.3 if I could

Mad.
April 4th 2016


4780 Comments


Ah niice glad these guys got back together, this looks great

Nice review pos'd

RustCohle
April 4th 2016


331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fantastic album and nice review

Digging: GosT - Valediction

BjannySpjann
April 4th 2016


25 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is bloody amazing

Sniff
April 4th 2016


5805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You guys need to chill with the high ratings!

Krvst
April 4th 2016


469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But it's great tho

Flugmorph
April 5th 2016


21778 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is fucking goat man

Digging: Opeth - In Cauda Venenum

PistolPete
April 5th 2016


5037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's very good, I just wish it had a song as good as "Truth". Damn the ending of that song was epic. Only reason I gave this a 4...otherwise it's amazing.



I think I hear a lot more Old Man Gloom in this than Isis but that's just me.

CaimanJesus
April 6th 2016


3761 Comments


Probably gonna order this

Digging: The Appleseed Cast - Two Conversations

Flugmorph
April 6th 2016


21778 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gonna buy the shit outta that vinyl man. artwork's gonna rule

JS19
April 6th 2016


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

When I saw these guys I was extremely impressed by how sparsely the intense vocals were used to lift it to a new level - super glad they've finally made a full length that incorporates that perfectly. Hyped to jam now



Digging: Tides From Nebula - From Voodoo to Zen

RogueNine
April 8th 2016


4027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Does the riff in Atom Smasher remind anyone else of the riff in Cochise?

CrimsonLies
April 11th 2016


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is gorgeous on vinyl. Awesome album, did not disappoint.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy