Brainiac
Hissing Prigs in Static Couture


4.5
superb

Review

by NeroCorleone80 USER (12 Reviews)
March 24th, 2016 | 59 replies


Release Date: 1996 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A Forgotten 90s classic.

Brainiac were arguably one of the most underrated bands of the 90s, and undoubtedly one of the most creative. Hissing Prigs in Static Couture was the band's last album before the tragic death of vocalist/keyboardist Tim Taylor in a car accident in 1997. Musically it continued where Bonsai Superstar left off, giving us a dose of weird, noisy and just downright disturbing rock music.

The release of Bonsai Superstar must have garnered some acclaim in the underground of the 90s, so much so that the band signed to Touch & Go records for the release of Hissing Prigs. Touch & Go are one of biggest and most influential independent record labels, along with the likes of Discord and SST, releasing many cult albums by bands such as Big Black, Slint and The Jesus Lizard to name just a few. Steve Albini of Big Black fame even recorded one of the album's songs in "Nothing Ever Changes".

Its difficult to describe Brainiac's sound on this and the preceding album other than a mix of noise rock, post-hardcore and some electronic elements thrown in for good measure. Hissing Prigs has all the trademarks of classic Brainiac with Tim's strange vocal effects encompassing a wide range of styles, and the quirky instrumentation that's always twisting and turning. Any fan of Bonsai Superstar will surely love this album as the formula is largely unchanged. The only real difference is that Hissing Prigs is slightly more rock-based and maybe a bit less "weird" as a result, yet it still contains many of the band's best songs, most notably the hard hitting opener "Pussyfootin", "Vincent Come on Down", "Hot Seat Can't Sit Down" and "I Am a Cracked Machine", which features some of the best use of processed vocals you're ever likely to hear.

Its a real shame that Brainiac were only with us for such a short period, but in that time they created two of the very best 90s rock albums, showing just how weird and out-there rock music can be, in an age where so many were turning to the rather dull grunge sound. Had Tim Taylor not died, the band would have likely continued to innovate and might have even topped this album, who knows. At least we are left with two masterpieces of creativity, that still remain largely forgotten today.



Recent reviews by this author
Smog A River Ain't Too Much To LovePalace Music Viva Last Blues
Black Sabbath Mob RulesBlack Sabbath Heaven and Hell
Black Sabbath SabotageBlack Sabbath Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
user ratings (57)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Review for this was way overdue.

Digging: Two Dogs In A House - Dog House

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dammit you beat me to it

pos'd

Digging: Autechre - LP5

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Didnt know if you were gonna end up reviewing it, but thanks.

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

tbh i probably was never going to get around to it anyways lmao

ArsMoriendi
March 24th 2016


23647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oooh pos, will check it months from now lmao, but probably within the year

Digging: Mazzy Star - She Hangs Brightly

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah this wasnt an easy write-up by any means lol

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Ars. You'll probably end up 5'ing this too.

ArsMoriendi
March 24th 2016


23647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Want me to do the one for Bonsai Superstar? It'll be a 5 review though haha

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

do one for smacky bunny baby instead

it'll be funnier that way: two legit reviews and a wall of text

ArsMoriendi
March 24th 2016


23647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well that one won't be anytime soon if I do... was planning on doing a review on a different album anyway. Been trying to do at least 1 review a month.

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I'm gonna try and review a bit more often. This was my first in well over a year.

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

same

i remember doing like a review every other day when i first joined this site

ArsMoriendi
March 24th 2016


23647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I got one for January and one for February, need to hammer one out for March soon otherwise one of my New Years Resolutions will be a failure.

KILL
March 24th 2016


81229 Comments


listened to this once
it was odd

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's odd alright

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Not as odd as Bonsai Superstar though

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not as odd as More by No Trend tho

NeroCorleone80
March 24th 2016


34390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Only heard Too Many Humans

Supercoolguy64
March 24th 2016


8589 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

everything they did after that was completely different

More is a serious contender for "weirdest album ever" status

ArsMoriendi
March 24th 2016


23647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

In a god way?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy