Enisum
Arpitanian Lands


4.0
excellent

Review

by Rastapunk USER (51 Reviews)
March 12th, 2016 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An ode to the beautiful lands of the Alpes

It’s one of those times where the cover art is very important. In fact, if it wasn’t for the cover, I probably would have never check this band out. Hailing from Italy, Enisum is a black metal band composed of Lys at vocals and guitar, Leynir at bass guitar, Dead Soul behind the drums and Epheliin for the female vocals. If you’re wondering where their name comes from, it’s actually Mont Musinè spelled backward, which is the closest mountain to Turin. Arpitanian Lands (Terre d'Arpitanie, Lands of the Alpes) is the second album from them, after Samoht Nara that came out in 2014.

“In my lands I can feel the soul/spirit of nature. / I would like to dream of better times. / In my lands I can see Nature’s creatures / In my heart I want to protect them”

From the very beginning of this record, you’ll understand that this record is all about nature, landscapes, atmosphere and emotions. The album is introduced by Epheliin’s beautiful and mystical voice before slowly evolving towards an atmospheric piece and then becoming the paradox of this album: aggressive drums and calm atmosphere. Lys screams his heart out with lyrics of love for his land. One could compare them to the Cascadian Black Metal scene although they do add a few aspects that are not usually present. The clean vocals introduction of Chiusella’s Waters feels like an indie folk type of singing but don’t be fooled, Enisum masters the mixing of calm and aggressive parts.

“Mother Nature, Men don’t understand… / They seek happiness, they have no respect”

Highlights from this record are easy to choose. For the most part, they all have a calm side that the other songs don’t have. Arpitanian Lands, Chiusella’s Waters, Fauna’s souls and The Place Where you died are the most memorable tracks from this record. As for the other songs, most of them are too repetitive. Alpine Peaks for example is the same formula repeated for over six minutes. While this doesn’t affect the listening experience as it is the second track, the atmospheric effect wears off after hearing the same issue with Mountain’s Spirit and Rociamlon one after the other.

“Sometimes I feel you inside of me and no one can understand this feeling / Nothing is important anymore when I’m caressed by your waters”

This record was definitely made with the love they felt for the Alpes. Their music felt like a hike through this beautiful scenery, and their lyrics are an ode to their land. Arpitanian Lands came out in 2015 under the label Dusktone and is definitely one the contenders for the Black Metal release of 2015.



Recent reviews by this author
Enisum Moth's IllusionMark Knopfler Down the Road Wherever
Psychic Dose Maleficium Volume 1: Death of the SorcererDamian Marley Stony Hill
Bask Ramble BeyondEmyn Muil Elenion Ancalima
user ratings (46)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rastapunk
March 12th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hit writer's block for the conclusion :/

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 13th 2016


10662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album

zaruyache
March 13th 2016


21601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This record

Digging: Blue Noise - Everyone Goes Away Eventually

Rastapunk
March 13th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Woow this band isn't very popular here :/

Hawks
March 13th 2016


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Finally a review, album fucking slays.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Cruelty and the Beast - Re-Mistressed

zaruyache
March 13th 2016


21601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yyyyyyyyup. Surprisingly good bandcamp find.

Rastapunk
March 13th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to review this. I mean this is to me the best kind of BM. And if that isn't enough, I'm from the (French) Alpes and I love those landscapes. I can really relate to this record.

Hawks
March 13th 2016


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is an easy 4.5 for me also tbh. It's pretty long but doesn't get boring. Blew me away on first listen and hasn't let up.

Rastapunk
March 13th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Those repetitive parts kinda get boring for me, but that's probably because I've been listening to it at least twice a day last week...

Hawks
March 13th 2016


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk I think it flows so well for me, but I can see where you're coming from.

Rastapunk
March 14th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It still amazes me that this album hasn't made that much of an impact. It's very well executed...

CaptainDooRight
March 14th 2016


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

book



Digging: Cadacross - So Pale Is The Light

Spado
March 14th 2016


489 Comments


This put me right to sleep. Had some ok moments I suppose.

Rastapunk
March 14th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah, it's somehow very appeasing yet aggressive. Probably one of the reason why i love this band.

zaruyache
March 14th 2016


21601 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It still amazes me that this album hasn't made that much of an impact.



if it ain't hip and if it ain't new and if the moons ain't rise at the right time and the shadow of the gray dog don't align with the cardinal directions at the time of your posting... Sput won't care none for your 5/5 classics.

PortalofPerfection
March 20th 2016


1991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. Female vocals on this are so good. And Desperate Souls just kicks my ass.

Rastapunk
March 21st 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After listening to it for about a week I've found that the second half has it's own "sound" and it is very good. Fauna's Soul is still my favorite though.



They have a a video for Desperate Souls I think.

AsleepInTheBack
April 13th 2016


6057 Comments


Sweet review dude, really like the style. Another band I should probably check out

Rastapunk
April 19th 2016


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you for the feedback, glad you like it



Let me know what you think of it once you've listened to it

Sevengill
August 14th 2016


9312 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album has some great, soaring bm but it's about two songs too long. Still a very enjoyable listen. Review is well written and cuts to the chase. Pos'd.

Digging: Ilbeltz - Auskan Gabiltz Olatun Gainian



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy