Sheer Mag
Sheer Mag III


3.3
great

Review

by Tristan Jones EMERITUS
March 6th, 2016 | 68 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: My heart is ruled by Venus

Sheer Mag frontwoman Christina Halladay delivers a sort of smile-inducing heartbreak, and there’s a weird barrier of vulnerability you don’t want to cross. When she insists, “I’m nobody’s baby / I’m nobody’s girl,” there’s a sense that anyone “in the know" would betray the essence by explaining the backstory to outsiders; and really, it’s besides the point. All of it coalesces into anthems of feminism (particularly opener “Can’t Stop Fighting”) and an accessible communication, where apart from feelings of resentment lies an uncompromising basement-rocking work ethic. Dance has long been a mode of building resilience, both physically and therapeutically, and Sheer Mag deliver some of the most groovable tunes you’re likely to hear out of Philly - or anywhere in the realm of modern power pop, really. Kyle Seely’s lead guitar is still the band’s second voice, and it has greater clarity here than past efforts; for Cheap Trick riff-saluting in 2016 to still carry infectious sentimentality is something to applaud. Sheer Mag’s brand of fun is deeply emotional, like it was fought for tooth and nail, with several toe tags to boot.

That’s not to say their third EP comes with any obligatory baggage. The undertones of spite are anything but shackles; III is very liberated. Even on “Nobody’s Baby”, where Tina sings of romantic defeat, she emerges victorious. A great deal of Halladay’s charisma is independent of her lyrical content - she could be reciting an odyssey of hard luck and still connote a bellyful of liquid courage and a down-but-not-out degree of personal rebound. This is versatile breakup music, bolstering self-worth with zero patronizing entailed. A song like “Worth the Tears” doesn’t downplay anything; lines like, “well, your stubbornness reveals itself / but you ain’t coming back, Jack, I won’t do it again / even if I want to,” are pretty standard woman-scorned fare, but Halladay just does it better than most. What’s more, having catchiness be their claim to fame is oddly commendable in itself. III, like their entire short discog, is relentlessly catchy, which is a difficult trait to exalt in contrast to conceptual depth or instrumental brilliance; Sheer Mag are pretty barebones, and their newest effort won’t dish out much for wet blankets to reweigh. It’s fitting, as the quintet have always been take-it-or-leave-it with their lack of self-hyping. Their mettle says more than any self-aggrandizement ever could.




Recent reviews by this author
Jon Hopkins SingularityReindeer Field Reports From The Western Lands
Cecil Taylor Unit StructuresDrowse Cold Air
Iannis Xenakis Persepolis (2018 Reissue)Mark Applebaum Speed Dating
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 5th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

https://sheermag.bandcamp.com/album/iii-7

eh why not

wtferrothorn
March 5th 2016


5800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet review for a sweet little EP. Nobody's Baby has been stuck in my head ever since I first heard it.

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I miss the days when you could pos and neg staff reviews still cuz I would neg this into buttfucking complicit oblivion with a decade's worth of alts seriously fucking lame man

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 6th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

ᕙ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ᕗ

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

foh arcade u pitchfork buzzfeed coachella-ass reject weeaboo, this review is straight BOOTY O'S #thenewdayrising

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 6th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Imma clap so I don't snap 👏😅

WeepingBanana
March 6th 2016


10506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i like these guys just fine but the hype is pretty ridiculous for a band with basically 3 solid at best demos

Pangea
March 6th 2016


2864 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm excited to listen to this

Digging: Stella Donnelly - Beware Of The Dogs

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just to clarify, SpotJohnny is my boy, and this review is great 👌



he asked me to set the record straight. practically offered to give me a handie in the bathroom of Denny's to do so 👋🍆💦

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 6th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

it was The Lobster Shack and let's not pretend you didn't you didn't beg for this review hat in hand 😂

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I also said if you give this album less than a 4 to fucking hang yourself by your nutsack till the blood rushes to your head and you dei so

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 6th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

nah I'm pretty sure you agreed to my proposition of one wife nudey pic per 0.1 increment increase. well, my inbox is looking pretty barren 📭



edit: whoomph, now it's blowing up 😱

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the day I send you n00dz if my wife is the day i violate your sister-in-law's kissed by fire hair with my prodigious but after she gives me loving dome. cuz like Cedric the Entertainer, IM THE MAN IN HOUSTON #alliwannado #isbangscrew #inthedirtythird

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
March 6th 2016


6681 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

a dirty third is when your shocker hand gets greedy 👋 a gentleman, sir, you ain't

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I already knew that mang.



I am a punk first, a hood rat second, father third, and husband at a way distant fourth

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice boys ain't make good punk rock smdh

ParanoidAndroid96
March 6th 2016


1391 Comments


so excited for new sheer mag yes

Hep Kat
March 6th 2016


1231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also itt: Zepdude doesn't get things smdh

ZippaThaRippa
March 6th 2016


10480 Comments


This reminds me of The Gaslight Anthem a lot

Ashen
March 6th 2016


1469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the gaslight anthem??



boy you better tread carefully



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy