The Smith Street Band
No One Gets Lost Anymore


4.7
superb

Review

by Atari STAFF
March 2nd, 2016 | 99 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An authentic trek through life's bumpy terrain

Over the past several years, The Smith Street Band’s debut has become a bit of a personal escape for me; a safe haven where all life’s agitations are momentarily buried. The raucous mixture of Wil Wagner’s naked lyrics, loud guitars, and drunken gang-vocals remain alarmingly relatable – not unlike that deep bonding experience that occurs over a few beers with the guys. Yet, No One Gets Lost Anymore doesn’t sugarcoat reality to make you feel better about yourself either. It’s an often bleak, yet honest exploration of life told via the nasally, inebriated vocals of an Australian dude. With Wil Wagner penning the lyrics, every song seems to portray personal experience, and his delivery is as poignant as the subject matter is vivid. Like all effective storytellers, he manages to make you feel as though you’re a part of the rugged journey, rather than merely a fly on the wall. Perhaps that’s why every time I revisit No One Gets Lost Anymore there’s a sense I’m hearing parts of it for the first time – the general familiarity is there, but the rough terrain and alcohol-fueled revelations pave the way for an exhilarating climb each time.

On the opening track, Wil declares “we’ve both slept under bridges darling, don’t you look so ***ing proud”, and from that point going forward the blatant lyricism never lets up. ‘The Belly of Your Bedroom’ finds the singer at his most vulnerable as he express disdain for his own body, while other songs touch on anxiety, booze, friendships, more booze, and everything in-between. Dozens of lyrical excerpts could be used to demonstrate the raw lyrical approach here, but they would do little justice to the overall package. Whether it be to accompany you through that tedious day at work, or unwind with a cold brew in hand, No One Gets Lost Anymore is a poetic powerhouse; most effective when heard in its glorious entirety. The heavy lyrics within are not unlike weights on your shoulders, leaving you emotionally exhausted by the end of the album. It’s as weathered as life itself, and as such, the journey may leave you feeling banged up, but you always walk away feeling stronger – or at the very least, knowing you learned a thing or two in the process.



Recent reviews by this author
Circuit Des Yeux Reaching For IndigoNadia Reid Preservation
Phoebe Bridgers Stranger in the AlpsSannhet So Numb
The Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless GraveNeun Welten The Sea I'm Diving In
user ratings (270)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
preston (5)
Part 1: I'm getting there....

FreddieDelaney31 (5)
I'm just really far away...

profoundword (4.5)
A unique mix of punk and folk that will have you shouting along in no time....

Transient (4.5)
I whisper in your ear "don't you ever disappear" and you whisper back "don't you ever fucking touch ...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


5447 Comments


Nice little write-up dude :] Given how much I love Throw Me In The River I need to check this asap really.

Artuma
March 2nd 2016


29122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is quite a bit better than that album imo

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

tried to say more in less words with this review, hope you guys like it



I'm sitting on another review I haven't posted yet, so figured a personal little write-up sounded like a nice change of pace after my last few

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Tempertemperature
March 2nd 2016


190 Comments


Nice to see a staff write up of this, and I like the brevity of your review. Wish you touched more on the actual music instead of solely the lyricism, though, as Wil isn't the only member of the band worthy of praise.

Definitely my favorite release of theirs.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


6366 Comments


nice brief review. and yeah for the sake of being thorough you could've expanded a bit into the instrumentation - BUT, I think there's a bit more creative liberty when you review slightly older albums like this. i think you said what you needed to, and left it at that, which is a nice touch.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


55358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yayy

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers Johnny, glad u liked it



I can definitely see where you're coming from Tempertemperature. I just didn't want to bore the reader with too much information for an album that already has two lengthier reviews. I do like the instrumentation, but the lyrics are the real selling point of this album for me personally

zakalwe
March 2nd 2016


23374 Comments


Nobody gets lost anymore cos you're too busy leading them by the hand with this sort of drivel.

Crawl
March 2nd 2016


2368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album so much. I can't not dance do Sigourney Weaver.



Nice review too man, the song is called The Belly of Your Bedroom tho

Digging: Citizen - As You Please

zakalwe
March 2nd 2016


23374 Comments


Does it ebb? does it flow? does it question? does it invent? does it expand? does it shout? does it point? does it focus? does it bite? does it last? does it invigorate? does it enrapture? does it dominate? does it ignite? does it harness? does it channel? does it simmer? does it boil? does it free? does it get in the bones? does it fuck!!!



Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@crawl, glad you dig man. also, nice catch...gah, I knew that! (fixed) I blame Anthrax

RogueNine
March 2nd 2016


3342 Comments


This review appears in the user reviews section rather that the staff one?

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
March 2nd 2016


6366 Comments


yeah staff reviews for older albums do that now

Feather
March 3rd 2016


3954 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, I think I will revisit this today. This is my favorite release of theirs by far. For whatever reason it just has more staying power for me than their other records.

YetAnotherBrick
March 3rd 2016


6691 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes i'm so happy this review exists now. album is prolly a 5

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2016


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers guys. yeah this seems to be the smith street I return to the most, but their other work is pretty phenomenal as well. keeping my fingers crossed in hopes of a new album from them this year

MyNameIsPencil
March 3rd 2016


4949 Comments


great review for a great album

but the title is a lie

i got lost last night in the woods

i think i was being followed by a wolf, shit could have been bad

Digging: letlive. - The Blackest Beautiful

Cygnatti
March 3rd 2016


32010 Comments


nice review, user STAFF :]

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2016


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx friend :3

Hep Kat
March 3rd 2016


1012 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this band sux.



stupid-ass hanson/chancore

Digging: Cam'ron - The Program



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy