The 1975
I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It


3.0
good

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
February 28th, 2016 | 227 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...for you are so indulgent yet still so aware of it

The only reason anyone would name an album I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It is if they'd already forsaken any semblance of restraint. As subtle as a ten-tonne truck to the face, The 1975 hop on the neon-text-on-white-background bandwagon (see: Lupe Fiasco's Lazers) with one major qualification: it sounds like they actually recorded this album in a sterilised, whitewashed box with no external stimuli whatsoever. It's distractingly polished; every sound and tone is so precise it sounds like an album written by Skynet. Reaching for perfection is hardly a sin, but the minimisation of human error necessitates the reduction of spontaneity and, well, all trace of humanity.

That's not to say that there are no moments of inspiration in I Like It When You Sleep. In its more minimalist moments, The 1975 show an aptitude for some beautiful soundscapes, such as the Hammock-esque "Please Be Naked". Despite some unbelievably shoddy lyrics (And would you sign an autograph for my daughter, Laura"/Cause she adores ya, but I think you’re ***/I've gotta look for my brain for a bit), "The Ballad of Me and My Brain" benefits from an emotional performance from Healy and a truncated, more digestible length. The most notable exception to the album's clinical feel is its one-two closing punch, "Nana" and "She Lays Down". The former is a movingly human eulogy, utilising the same echoing keys and drums as the rest of the album to a notably stronger emotional kick; the latter is a sweet guitar ballad, forsaking the album's sanded-down smoothness for a lo-fi acoustic aesthetic. The best of this album proves The 1975 have definite potential, if they would only splash some colour on the walls and rip down the neon lightshow.



Recent reviews by this author
Mac Miller SwimmingPemberton Maybe I'm a friend that stuck around too long.
Earl Sweatshirt Some Rap SongsThe Smashing Pumpkins Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1
Vince Staples FM!Coheed and Cambria The Unheavenly Creatures
user ratings (347)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
beachdude (4.5)
...

shostakoverture (3)
The most infuriating musical cocktease...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


41019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sup

Digging: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Bird Box (Abridged)

ChoccyPhilly
February 28th 2016


11788 Comments


'please be naked' - what a fucking song title that is

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


41019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gets to the point pretty quick, unlike this album

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


3101 Comments


Hey it's a Rowbro review!! Nice to see your reviews getting smaller [2]

Wouldn't change anything about the review, except maybe "benefits from an emotional performance from Healy" to "benefits from Healy's emotional performance" but I'm looking for fault at this point.

Not doubt this album is a hard POS but hard pos for the review anyways : )

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


41019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah if this was an EP of the 7 or so best tunes it would be smokin' jordy



@jac happy 69th comment! that wordplay on fire tho

Tunaboy45
February 28th 2016


16698 Comments


Great review as always rowan

Love the ironic album title xD

Digging: Yves Tumor - Safe in the Hands of Love

BHAR
February 28th 2016


231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, horrible album title. xD

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2016


29220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4 | Sound Off

I like this quite a bit actually and it's still growing

Digging: James Blake - Assume Form

TheWrenKing
February 28th 2016


1696 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

proper shithouse

FreddieDelaney31
February 28th 2016


5182 Comments


whoever neg'd this is dumb, great little review
I am extremely on the fence about trying this out but I guess since I'm so conflicted about checking it out i should just go ahead and do it

Digging: Hodera - First Things First

BrushedRed
February 28th 2016


2951 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It is a great album, and a bit better than their last. More diversity

Mongi123
February 28th 2016


20001 Comments


Haha funny little review Rowbro. Goddamn that title is awful agreed.

Cygnatti
February 28th 2016


32704 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

awful bnad but why isn't rowboat a contrib yet?

Skoop
February 28th 2016


2067 Comments


Pretty solid stuff

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 28th 2016


24306 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review man. dont really want to check out the whole album...what are the best songs off of this?

hogan900
February 28th 2016


2894 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Pretty much most annoying band I've listened to in a while

theNateman
February 28th 2016


3570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is actually way better than their first one tho

torts
February 28th 2016


4300 Comments


bad band

Hogan's comment[2]

tommygun
February 28th 2016


26839 Comments


ten tonne truckkkkk

LotusFlower
February 28th 2016


12001 Comments


this album title can give The World Is A Beautiful Place, and I Am No Longer Afraid to Die a run for it's money



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy