The 1975
I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It


3.0
good

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
February 28th, 2016 | 231 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...for you are so indulgent yet still so aware of it

The only reason anyone would name an album I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It is if they'd already forsaken any semblance of restraint. As subtle as a ten-tonne truck to the face, The 1975 hop on the neon-text-on-white-background bandwagon (see: Lupe Fiasco's Lazers) with one major qualification: it sounds like they actually recorded this album in a sterilised, whitewashed box with no external stimuli whatsoever. It's distractingly polished; every sound and tone is so precise it sounds like an album written by Skynet. Reaching for perfection is hardly a sin, but the minimisation of human error necessitates the reduction of spontaneity and, well, all trace of humanity.

That's not to say that there are no moments of inspiration in I Like It When You Sleep. In its more minimalist moments, The 1975 show an aptitude for some beautiful soundscapes, such as the Hammock-esque "Please Be Naked". Despite some unbelievably shoddy lyrics (And would you sign an autograph for my daughter, Laura?/Cause she adores ya, but I think you’re ***/I've gotta look for my brain for a bit), "The Ballad of Me and My Brain" benefits from an emotional performance from Healy and a truncated, more digestible length. The most notable exception to the album's clinical feel is its one-two closing punch, "Nana" and "She Lays Down". The former is a movingly human eulogy, utilising the same echoing keys and drums as the rest of the album to a notably stronger emotional kick; the latter is a sweet guitar ballad, forsaking the album's sanded-down smoothness for a lo-fi acoustic aesthetic. The best of this album proves The 1975 have definite potential, if they would only splash some colour on the walls and rip down the neon lightshow.



Recent reviews by this author
Julien Baker Little OblivionsHayley Williams FLOWERS for VASES / descansos
Black Country, New Road For the first timeWeezer OK Human
Kid Cudi Man on the Moon III: The ChosenManDancing The Good Sweat
user ratings (434)
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
beachdude (4.5)
...

shostakoverture (3)
The most infuriating musical cocktease...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


44752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

sup

ChoccyPhilly
February 28th 2016


13266 Comments


'please be naked' - what a fucking song title that is

Digging: A.A.L. (Against All Logic) - 2012-2017

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


44752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

gets to the point pretty quick, unlike this album

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


4690 Comments


Hey it's a Rowbro review!! Nice to see your reviews getting smaller [2]

Wouldn't change anything about the review, except maybe "benefits from an emotional performance from Healy" to "benefits from Healy's emotional performance" but I'm looking for fault at this point.

Not doubt this album is a hard POS but hard pos for the review anyways : )

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2016


44752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.1

Yeah if this was an EP of the 7 or so best tunes it would be smokin' jordy



@jac happy 69th comment! that wordplay on fire tho

Tunaboy45
February 28th 2016


17294 Comments


Great review as always rowan

Love the ironic album title xD

Digging: Nick Cave and Warren Ellis - Carnage

BHAR
February 28th 2016


231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, horrible album title. xD

SowingSeason
Moderator
February 28th 2016


36800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like this quite a bit actually and it's still growing

Digging: Leon III - Antlers in Velvet

TheWrenKing
February 28th 2016


1707 Comments


proper shithouse

Slex
February 28th 2016


10923 Comments


whoever neg'd this is dumb, great little review
I am extremely on the fence about trying this out but I guess since I'm so conflicted about checking it out i should just go ahead and do it

BrushedRed
February 28th 2016


3305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It is a great album, and a bit better than their last. More diversity

Mongi123
February 28th 2016


20965 Comments


Haha funny little review Rowbro. Goddamn that title is awful agreed.

Cygnatti
February 28th 2016


34606 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

awful bnad but why isn't rowboat a contrib yet?

Digging: DJ Assault - Jungle Love

Skoop
February 28th 2016


2178 Comments


Pretty solid stuff

Conmaniac
February 28th 2016


26280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review man. dont really want to check out the whole album...what are the best songs off of this?

hogan900
February 28th 2016


3202 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Pretty much most annoying band I've listened to in a while

theNateman
February 28th 2016


3808 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is actually way better than their first one tho

Digging: AWOLNATION - Angel Miners and the Lightning Riders

torts
February 28th 2016


4300 Comments


bad band

Hogan's comment[2]

tommygun
February 28th 2016


26987 Comments


ten tonne truckkkkk

LotusFlower
February 28th 2016


12000 Comments


this album title can give The World Is A Beautiful Place, and I Am No Longer Afraid to Die a run for it's money



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy