Say Anything
I Don't Think It Is


1.5
very poor

Review

by ncguitar USER (2 Reviews)
February 15th, 2016 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: As likable as the artwork

I'll be completely honest: I didn't listen to all songs completely. I just couldn't.

If I've learned something from music, it's that one shouldn't torture oneself with things that one doesn't like, unless it leads to some sort of personal growth. This doesn't fit into the later category, so screw it.

Anyways, my impression of this album is that, overall, it consists of potentially catchy sections shoved into spastic, lo-fi hipster poo.

Yes, there is a difference between "cathartic music" and "dissonant mess" (and not the structured dissonance type, but just dissonance as "lack of harmony".

Also, in regards to its dissonance - and despite whatever you say to me -, midwestern emo instrumentals, spastic hardcore punk yells, and electronic fiddle DO NOT MIX WELL. It's like trying to eat apples with ketchup; separate they might be okay, but together they make up for food puke.

This unpleasant arangement of sounds ends up being counterinvuitive, since whatever concept the album attempts to convey - probably something about the meaninglessness of life, individualism and other crap - is overshadowed by poor production, unfitting noises, dadaistic arangements, and mostly, annoying vocals.

Why are vocals annoying, you asked? Because they fail at being a voice of the angsty uncomformists and rebels, and instead come out as the whines of a scarf and ironic tee-wearing hipster (or young adult, if that is more correct for you). Also, what I got from the lyrics was just big words in caps lock.

It is a shame because there are plenty of catchy sections, or in its defect, melodies that have the potential to make up for great alternative rock songs. They are just covered in loads of hipster dump.


Also, the album artwork is punchable as f*ck.


user ratings (213)
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
Atari STAFF (3.5)
taking a detour from the hype train...



Comments:Add a Comment 
DirEnRefused
February 15th 2016


3665 Comments


can we just fucking ban the word hipster rofl

DirEnRefused
February 15th 2016


3665 Comments


also i can see you were trying to do the whole off the cuff casual negativity thing but frankly it comes across as obnoxious here

LotusFlower
February 15th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

can we ban this review tho

Lavair
February 15th 2016


949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Why are vocals annoying, you asked?" I wasn't asking about anything.

Calc
February 15th 2016


17337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"I'll be completely honest: I didn't listen to all songs completely. I just couldn't."



and everything you wrote after this is completely meaningless

HeadbangMastermind93
February 15th 2016


702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Worst opening line of a review ever tbh

Sowing
Moderator
February 15th 2016


43943 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll be completely honest: I didn't read this whole review completely. I just couldn't.

StallionMang
February 15th 2016


9003 Comments


y even review it if u can't finish it

LotusFlower
February 15th 2016


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

review reads like they listened to 30 seconds of the first song

Lavair
February 16th 2016


949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll be completely honest: I didn't read this whole review completely. I just couldn't. [2]

ScuroFantasma
Emeritus
February 16th 2016


11971 Comments


Terrible review but I'm sure you knew that before you posted it given that zero effort was put into it.

onionbubs
February 16th 2016


20673 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This review is as likable as the artwork

Spigot
February 16th 2016


39 Comments


This review is as likable as the album itself

AngryChristian
February 16th 2016


120 Comments


I can't be the only o e who liked the review.

Jasdevi087
February 16th 2016


8124 Comments


you could very well be

impoppy
February 16th 2016


2249 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No.

Jasdevi087
February 16th 2016


8124 Comments


ok

Scoot
February 16th 2016


22191 Comments


artwork makes me physically ill

Snake.
February 16th 2016


25249 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

why did they think this was a good idea

Conmaniac
February 16th 2016


27676 Comments


stopped reading after the first line..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy