">
 

Meg Mac
MEGMAC


4.0
excellent

Review

by tempest-- USER (3 Reviews)
February 15th, 2016 | 9 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist


“Everything is gonna be alright,” Meg Mac assures us on ‘Roll Up Your Sleeves,’ opening her debut EP with a decidedly optimistic note. A singer based in Melbourne, Australia, Megan McInerney began writing the songs on MEGMAC as a teenager. Now in her early 20s, she took her time with the tracks, making sure they were strong enough lyrically and musically to give listeners the best introduction to her sound.

The core element of MEGMAC is definitely McInerney's incredible voice. Often accompanied by only some simple percussion and a piano, she delivers soulful and infectious melodies. Smooth tones and brooding instrumentals combine to create a sultry sound somewhere between R&B, soul and alternative pop.
‘Every Lie’ is the most instant tune on the EP. It features driving rhythms that swell into a fantastic, danceable groove. The highlight of the release is undeniably ‘Grandma's Hands,’ however. It begins quite minimal – just her voice and some handclaps – gradually adding textures until its passionate climax, Meg's powerful voice belting out the lyrics.
Although the songs on MEGMAC may be a little too similar to one another, at only 5 tracks and a less than 20 minute runtime, it refrains from overstaying its welcome.
Meg's music might feel very familiar as well, clearly showing a fondness for the likes of James Blake, yet it's distinct enough to not sound like a complete imitation.

This groovy little EP serves as a great beginning for Meg Mac, setting up exciting things for the future. Despite lacking a wholly distinct identity, Megan McInerney's debut release bodes well; with a hotly anticipated full-length expected some time during 2016, Meg Mac has started making a name for herself.


user ratings (4)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
tempest--
February 15th 2016


20634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

‘Roll Up Your Sleeves’ – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKeX0DmLSaI

‘Every Lie’ – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZ-l6FDu7T4

Full EP stream – http://soundcloud.com/megmacmusic/sets/megmac-ep-1

danielcardoso
February 15th 2016


11770 Comments


First to comment on Lloyd's first review :D
You rule bud, can't believe it took you this long to finally put out a review.

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2016


11803 Comments


Great review, will check

tempest--
February 16th 2016


20634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys. I'm not wholly satisfied with some parts of this but eh ¯_(ツ)_/¯

I never really had any plans to review stuff on here, but I figured I should probably write at least one haha.

Pon
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2016


5234 Comments


Lloyd review so auto-pos.

In the third sentence, you could be a little more descriptive. Because it reads as if although she began writing the songs as a teenager, it was the refining/editing/producing/whatever that took up the bulk of her time, but I'm not sure this is what you meant to say.

"she delivers delectably soulful and infectious melodies" - Should prob get rid of "delectably" because having two adjacent words beginning with the same syllable reads a little awkwardly.

"driving rhythms that swell into a fantastic,* danceable groove"

"“Release my soul beneath my naked bones,” Meg cries." - This bit is a little superfluous, I'd get rid of it. While you're at it, maybe combine the previous two sentences with the next two into a single paragraph, and fix the formatting, as well.

"setting up exciting things in the future" - for the future? idk I think it reads a little better.

Not a bad review, I'd like to see you write more but I dunno if you will. Ah well ¯_(ツ)_/¯

tempest--
February 16th 2016


20634 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, that middle section felt pretty "standard music review," if you know what I mean. I've never really been entirely content with my creative writing skills. Thanks for the tips dudes!

Don't expect any more reviews though, haha.

Hommecidal
February 16th 2016


90 Comments


Nice review Lloyd, short + to the point, I'll check this out soon I reckon

danielcardoso
February 16th 2016


11770 Comments


gonna echo Jac's sentiment, re: write more [2]


"don't expect any more reviews though, haha."

yeah gotta keep that 100% approval rating ahahah :]

tommygun
February 21st 2016


27001 Comments


m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy