Julien Baker
Sprained Ankle


4.0
excellent

Review

by NoSons USER (26 Reviews)
February 15th, 2016 | 404 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'm only screaming at myself in public.

Solemn in nature and emotionally riveting is Julien Baker's debut. With Sprained Ankle, the Memphis singer trudges through her distressed complexes with downbeat songs plucking both guitar and others heart strings. She fastens her songs with crystal clear notes, intertwining between simple chord progressions and trembling vocals. She wallows in despair and the thought of being alone; evidenced by the lack of happening in any of her songs. At most, we find a few vocal harmonies and a few distant drums diving deep with her. Armed with a few ethereal moments and constant cries for help, Julien Baker captures a rather healthy snapshot of her life with Sprained Ankle. She's aware of her troubling lifestyle and not afraid of calling herself out, painting a dark picture with minor keyed songs and putting on display her - and dare I say everyone's - inner monologue. When she finds herself desperately crying out I find the same voice to channel through. The lyrics play out like rhythmic diary entries and her imagery is easy to resonate with. Her full voiced yelps are her clawing out of the grave she dug and her songs are the soundtracks of people being tired of suffocating in a layer of their own filth. There is real artistry in honesty, and I don't think Julien Baker is lacking any of that.




Recent reviews by this author
Hodera United By BirdcallsDesaparecidos Payola
alone. Somewhere in the SierrasPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
No Bragging Rights The Concrete FlowerMy Fictions Stranger Songs
user ratings (456)
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
BlushfulHippocrene STAFF (4.7)
Finding light in the darkness...

Brendan Schroer (5)
Julien Baker....

nonamereviewer (4)
The steps to being a better person and the stories of disappointing yourself along the way......

MyLoveOfMusic96 (5)
"I wish I could write songs about anything other than death."...


Comments:Add a Comment 
hal1ax
February 15th 2016


14542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the kanye contrast feels super out of place and unnecessary lol

YakNips
February 15th 2016


19969 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this album is so good!!!!

NoSons
February 15th 2016


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha, it is very unnecessary but i just wanted to do it. cause why not.

RadicalEd
February 15th 2016


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Title Track is very sweet. Review is RYM-lvl.

JS19
February 15th 2016


7652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bad review good album

Digging: Rafael Anton Irisarri - Peripeteia

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2016


9803 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Sprained Ankle was one of my top 10 songs of last year, love this album and chick and can't wait to see where she goes from here

Digging: Nuvolascura - As We Suffer From Memory and Imagination

NoSons
February 15th 2016


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey Js19, can i get some feedback? Thanks.

NoSons
February 15th 2016


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

took out the kanye part because it was upsetting, so now i would enjoy feedback on the actual review.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2016


9803 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i don't think it's poorly written, it's just not much of a review. You use a lot of descriptive buzz-words without really saying how the songs make you feel and you basically don't talk about the album at all. It's kinda all style no substance, but i wouldn't neg, just needs some work and more focus

AngryJohnny
February 15th 2016


1009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Missed this when it came out, might get round to giving it a listen.



As short reviews go it's fine, 2nd sentence doesn't flow all that well and you use a fairly cringey metaphor in it, but the problems are minor. Keep writing and you'll get better.

NoSons
February 15th 2016


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That makes sense, thanks guys.



I wanted to try and do a shorter review trying to capture just a snapshot of the album I guess. First time doing that, i'll keep that in mind when doing more like this.



Usually I am very busy with my structures and details (check my Payola review for that matter), so I'll work on that when trying to do something super concise.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2016


9803 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The writing is good and i wouldn't get rid of the expressive writing, just need to add something a little more to the overall review

JamieTwort
February 15th 2016


26988 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really good album, glad to see it reviewed.

zakalwe
February 15th 2016


31200 Comments


I'll give it a whirl, I hope it's real deal.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 15th 2016


9803 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

it is

Aids
February 16th 2016


24461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This got reviewed! Most wonderful!

JS19
February 24th 2016


7652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Something kills me

dimsim3478
February 24th 2016


8751 Comments


beautiful stuff

AngryJohnny
February 27th 2016


1009 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, I love depressing stuff like this, what a great album

Aids
February 28th 2016


24461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Rejoice is S tier



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy