Moon Tooth
Chromaparagon


3.5
great

Review

by AngryLittleAlchemist USER (16 Reviews)
February 7th, 2016 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: On their debut album, New York hard rock band Moon Tooth, through a blend of different pallets, reveal themselves as a promising act for the future with Chromaparagon.

In this day and age, standing out from your peers can be fairly hard. Trends set up a yellow brick road to success, while underground affairs become funded by the accessibility of the internet. Differentiating oneself from competition is, in the end, what makes a band great in the first place. On their debut album, New York hard rock band Moon Tooth, through a blend of different pallets, reveal themselves as a promising act for the future with Chromaparagon.

Most easily explained as a fusion of blues, rock, and heavy metal influences, Moon Tooth step over many musical boundaries in the quest for a characteristic. While the band does not exactly experiment with structures enough to be seen as a progressive quartet, sing-a-long melodies over rambunctious harmonies and stoned guitarists allow them to stand out. Though comparisons can definitely be drawn to Mastodon, Moon Tooth seems more upfront about their poppier side, with vocalist John Carbone providing some seriously catchy chorus's. The band also strives for different contrasts throughout numerous tracks on the album. Track three and four for instance contains a more stoner metal approach to music, while Queen Wolf could be seen as one of the best pop rock melodies of the year thus far, and Forgive Me Snake Ryder is driven by pure punk mentalities. This level of variety and individuality is definitely rare on a debut record, and while some people might argue that it's too far to call this a progressive rock album, this could at the very least be put into the alternative category.

While Moon Tooth are pretty convincing in selling their style of musicality, there is a big problem. In the cooperation of aesthetically different soundscapes, the band has spread themselves too thin, and fails to specialize in one area or the other. Creativity isn't a bad thing by any means, but focusing on so many different substances has ironically dulled the experience and made it fairly mundane, when it was supposed to spice things up in the first place. Moon Tooth doesn't excel at thrilling shifts in tempo or heavy grandiose epics like their peers, they are kind of just there. Though intentions were of the best kind - it's clear that trying to do so much on a first time effort has made them ultimately do so little. Still, a recommended album. Just a bit bland after a while.



Recent reviews by this author
We Gather Stones Demos & B SidesGarbage Strange Little Birds
Troye Sivan Blue NeighborhoodQueens of the Stone Age Songs for the Deaf
Radiohead In RainbowsMegadeth Rust in Peace
user ratings (60)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

FREAKS

Comments:Add a Comment 
ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2016


11660 Comments


I reckon this is a great review to be honest, about the right size and none of it's wasted on overly-wordy descriptions, it's concise and to the point without sacrificing any explanations, the way it should be. This sounds pretty appealing so I will check this out. Edit: fixed

Digging: Windswept - The Onlooker

PappyMason
February 7th 2016


5702 Comments


Album cover is all kinds of awesome.

I reckon this is a great review to be honest [2]
Most definitely, a good read!!

sexpoi
February 16th 2016


648 Comments


interesting. Good review

decoyoctopus
February 16th 2016


159 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is phenomenal

halloway
February 17th 2016


689 Comments


This is so many kinds of good. Wow! Like a Mastodon/Human Abstract lovechild, with tons of bluesy goodness in the mix.

jtswope
February 17th 2016


5788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great songwriting on this.

Flugmorph
February 24th 2016


20655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

interesting album

Flugmorph
March 16th 2016


20655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this really is something else. really love it.

TheWovenWeb
April 22nd 2016


41 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the vocals wtf!!!! they need to be turned down

AnswerOnce
May 18th 2016


34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll be seeing these dudes later this month at a dinky pizza place in the middle of nowhere for 5 bucks. Welcome to scenic Peterborough, NH, gentlemen.



Honestly, I agree that the album lacks consistency, but when it's good- it's really good. I actually think Death and the Vibrant Architect is catchier than Wolf Queen, but I like the latter more for the excellent lyricism on display.



I think your review might have the same problems as this album. It's kind of all over the place, but you raise some good points along the way. Pos'd.

majordevlin
July 24th 2016


185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this album it is very good! Saw them with Intronaut last week They put on a really good live show, and they are nice guys too!

FearThyEvil
August 13th 2016


16742 Comments


Instrumentation is great but I can't get into this at all just because of the vocals.

AaroN911
October 19th 2016


2312 Comments


Seeing this band with Toothgrinder the 24th, going for Toothgrinder but these guys sound fun live

Digging: Ithaca - The Language of Injury

Kompys2000
November 29th 2016


2134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I gotta say, a 3.5 is way too low- this album fucking shreds. I get what you mean about the variety of styles hurting the album's cohesiveness, but considering each song individually, it's gold front to back.



I might write a review of this myself, if I can manage to restrain myself from going full fanboy.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2017


8190 Comments


This came out last year and I am aware of its existence now?

Shame on me :-P

Their guitarist is also in Riot, now Riot V.

Digging: Sordide - Hier Déjà Mort

AngryLittleAlchemist
March 30th 2017


1999 Comments


Glad you guys could enjoy this!

SitarHero
March 8th 2018


7782 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy Fuck. I just discovered this through Igneous and my mind has been melted.



PS: Good review but "pallet" should be "palette".

chug73
March 30th 2018


3794 Comments


If these guys tighten up their songwriting they will be a serious force.
They have the technicality, that's for sure.

SitarHero
March 30th 2018


7782 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They're tracking guitars for the new album at the moment. All the snippets of riffs I've heard sound MASSIVE. Hopefully the vocals the vocals will be up to snuff too.

Kompys2000
April 2nd 2018


2134 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

New Moon Tooth is my most-hyped release for 2018, and it's not even close.



Also, if any of you liked this but couldn't get past the vox, check out Exemption- it's the same guitarist and drummer, with a different vocalist.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy