Latitudes
Old Sunlight


3.0
good

Review

by BurntSynapse USER (20 Reviews)
February 6th, 2016 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A few gems keep the sunlight from fading.

Latitudes, the progressive metal quintet from Hertfordshire, have returned from a four-year gap since their last effort, Individuation. Their latest album, Old Sunlight, pivots from the grooving riffs used on their previous records to focus on a more calculated tone. They conjure an atmosphere with tremolo-style guitar and sprinkle short melodic overtones to slice its surface for moments of intrigue. Old Sunlight’s opener, “Ordalian”, is a solid example. The song splashes chugging riffs which texture the foreboding backdrop as brief guitar crescendos glide over dissonance. “Altarpieces” traverses a similar path, but it opts for piano passages and warm synthesizer interludes. Both tracks illuminate fun transient movements, though they are muddled by incessant riffs which fail to leave an impression.

Sparse vocals create the most memorable moments on Old Sunlight. “Body Within A Body” collapses from its rhythm into a void lit by a piano and layers of crooning vocals, until the song erupts into a cacophony of drums and guitar. “In Rushes Bound” is book-ended with depressed vocals lifted by a wailing guitar melody. These highlights inspire awe, but it’s unfortunate there are so few. Even the closer, “Quandary”, harbors lyrics of unease backed by a sad guitar progression, though it falls from its precipice before instilling emotion. Old Sunlight engulfs listeners far too often in an atmosphere which meanders. Despite the redundant tone, it’s the few gems on the record which keep the sunlight from fading.



Recent reviews by this author
Horrenda Neronian TimesNoctilucant Oblivion To You All
Cryo Chamber Locus ArcadiaWayfarer Old Souls
ANCST MolochWitch Vomit A Scream from the Tomb Below
user ratings (71)
3.6
great
related reviews

Part Island

Individuation


Comments:Add a Comment 
BurntSynapse
February 6th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Comments and constructive criticism are always welcome. And to not make this error again, here is Latitudes' bandcamp page for the album:



https://dmp666.bandcamp.com/album/old-sunlight



Thank you for reading (:

Sniff
February 7th 2016


8041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Isn't this quite Intronaut-y?

BurntSynapse
February 7th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey Sniff :], I actually have not listened to a whole lot of Intronaut, besides their latest release and bits and pieces of their older records. Did you enjoy the album?

RogueNine
February 7th 2016


5533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure how I would rate this yet but I like it better than Individuation.

rasi
February 7th 2016


100 Comments


I wish they would return to their Agonist style, that one was a killer album
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcAbjpVtgGA
https://shelsmusic.bandcamp.com/album/agonist

BurntSynapse
February 7th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My favorite of their albums is actually their debut EP, Bleak Epiphanies In Slow Motion. Their style on Agonist is fantastic, I agree (:

teamster
February 17th 2016


6220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is more post than prog - great review, and thanks

Sniff
February 17th 2016


8041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The vocals sound exactly like Khoma

BreadOfBitterness
February 18th 2016


87 Comments


I think this review really sells the album short. It's easily their best album yet, imo, mainly because they've pretty much perfected the elements that made the last two albums enjoyable. I also can't agree with the comment about the album meandering; if anything, the album just flies by and the riffs importantly always have a sense of *momentum*. Body within a Body's main motif could almost be a Dissection riff, but fits seamlessly with the rest of track and of course the vocals, which is pretty much a testament to their musicianship at this point. My only gripe is that they didn't extend the final track, which though short lived, really leaves a mark.

I would be amazed if this isn't in my top ten 5 records by the end of the year.

BurntSynapse
February 18th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, that's certainly your opinion to have (:



I did not find many of the riffs memorable with the exception of bits and pieces I referenced above. I also believe I articulated my sentiments well enough and I would not say I sold it short. You yourself said the album flies by, that's why the review is concise.

BurntSynapse
February 18th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think it's funny too, did you just make an account to "neg" the review?

BreadOfBitterness
February 19th 2016


87 Comments


"You yourself said the album flies by, that's why the review is concise."

That statement hurts my brain. So because something flies by - i.e. is enjoyable, especially given it's not exactly short - it warrants a short review? Please tell me you're trolling.

BurntSynapse
February 19th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No need to start an argument over the review. The review is short, like the album. It's also a stylistic choice I make when I write. I do not expect every individual who reads my review to like my style. Does that make more sense to you?



I wrote what I felt about the album. If you have a problem with it, you can write your own review.

BreadOfBitterness
February 22nd 2016


87 Comments


That makes more sense than what you wrote previously.

BurntSynapse
February 22nd 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Understood. Regardless, I hope you stick around and enjoy the website. Don't let my review taint your experience of what you can find here, I'd like to learn more about your sentiments on this record and other albums you enjoy

Underflow
February 25th 2016


5297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting take on the album, but I'd disagree. This feels like the best elements of the previous album consolidated.

BurntSynapse
February 25th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey Underflow, thank you for your comment. I had a feeling I'd catch some flak with my write-up, though I appreciate you sharing your opinion. I'll need to give this record some more listens to see if it catches my attention. On the listens I gave it up to writing the review, I didn't feel like many of the songs had staying power (but that's just me, again), but I'll give it another shot (:

YetAnotherBrick
March 11th 2016


6693 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review man, idk why someone negged it. i really, really dig this album. it's got a nice mix of suffocating moments and wide-open beautiful moments. one of my favorites so far this year (for what that's worth)

BurntSynapse
March 14th 2016


132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey YetAnotherBrick - Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate it! Pretty sure it was negged because my opinion of the album did not align with someone else's, but that's just how it goes sometimes.



I'm glad you dig this album. (: It seems like I fell on the side of the fence which is less popular.

robotore
August 10th 2016


39 Comments


No you didn't, the review sums everything up pretty well. The band save for the debut and preceding ep are just not very good. Album is better than the last one though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy