Ulvesang
Ulvesang


4.5
superb

Review

by Dmax28 USER (19 Reviews)
February 6th, 2016 | 22 replies


Release Date: 10/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Warmth and Chills Collide

Ulvesang classify themselves as a blend of acoustic, ambient, atmospheric, black, neofolk, neoclassical, and even metal. They are a three piece instrumental acoustic guitar group who are inspired by spiritualism, paganism, nature, and melancholy. Multiple layers of acoustic guitars build a dynamic whole, with subtle drones and chants adding to the already immense atmosphere. Ulvesang has created a chilling debut album.

The music is thoroughly alive. Parts don't simply float in and out of nothingness. Rich, interwoven guitar lines flow smoothly from one satisfying section to the next, and not without harmonic surprises along the way. Repetition and simple overall chord structure is, of course, still an essential tool here; but subtle nuances, superb note choice, and consistently endearing motifs enthrall the listener as these repetitions gradually unfold. Often, right when a section looks to have been played out, another begins that is even more satisfying than anything in the song beforehand. Imperfections of fret noise, string slides, and buzzing are often emphasized while still feeling impromptu. It's the combination of raw performance and refined composition that make this album feel real and satisfying. Harmonically, sorrow and joy are equally balanced, encapsulating the beauty of life as well as its hardship.

One of the most impressive features here is the consistent quality throughout all eight tracks and their ability to create a cohesive album. The Purge and Arms in Pledge to Ellis begin and end the album respectively, and both songs pack an extra punch of large strummed chords and raised vocal dynamics. Taakeferd allows one to bask in little more than acoustic guitars, while Two Rivers adds a deep drone to the proceedings. Furthermore, the next track, Wolf's Passage has moving chant lines. The first portion of the record is brighter. Starting with A Town of Ash, relatively more focus is given to the deep, earthy tones. The utter loveliness of numerous sections, effective atmospherics, and interplay of the guitars make this work shine. The songs each have uniquely emotive moments that are extremely effective and yet unique to that track. Ulvesang has created an album that is simply pleasing and also rich enough for numerous listens.



Recent reviews by this author
BABYMETAL Metal ResistanceSorrow Plagues Sorrow Plagues
Bakos Attila AranyhajnalBorn of Osiris Soul Sphere
StormLord Mare NostrumDark Sermon The Oracle

user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dmax28
February 6th 2016


365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As someone who is interested in making this style of music. This album was very inspiring to me.

Cygnatti
February 6th 2016


32005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this sounded exactly how i expected it to sound (based on album name and art).

ChoccyPhilly
February 6th 2016


11667 Comments


Sounds good. Will listen and pos'd

Digging: Thantifaxath - Void Masquerading as Matter

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2016


22699 Comments


Great album, nice to see a review for it

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2016


5446 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad someone reviewed this, got a bit looked over last year sadly. Great job too :]

Dmax28
February 8th 2016


365 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate it. It is nice to meet others who are into this too!

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2016


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Pos, listening now and loving it. Recs for more albums like this would be appreciated.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

DungeonBoy
February 8th 2016


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That album cover looks so Richey Beckett it's unreal. Not that he's the most original artist ever but even the color scheme is way too similar.



Anyways, this is really cool! I've never heard of this band, but this is right up my alley. I really dig the production, definitely feeling the over saturation of delay/reverb on the acoustics. Thanks for sharing, good review.

Digging: Bell Witch - Mirror Reaper

DungeonBoy
February 8th 2016


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Recs similar to this:

Agalloch - The White EP

Oado - Life Era

October Falls - Marras

Ulver - Kveldssanger

Musk Ox - Woodfall

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2016


22699 Comments


@talons, check sangre de muerdago

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2016


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

^I've listened to all of those and they're fantastic. One way to find more music like this that I just discovered is to click on the tags listed for the album. I clicked noefolk and darkfolk, and bandcamp listed tons of artists free to listen to who play that style.

DungeonBoy
February 8th 2016


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet, I thought you might have, but on the off chance.

Spacesh1p
February 8th 2016


7099 Comments


Planning on checking, cool stuff

Digging: Deadbeat - Drawn and Quartered

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2016


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Thanks anyway tho, it at least reminded me to relisten to some of 'em I heard a while ago DungeonBoy, and at least it'll be here for others.



Posted that comment b4 seeing Atari's though, I'll check it out.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2016


22699 Comments


they just had an album in 2015, so I recommend starting with that one :]



bnelso55
February 8th 2016


1256 Comments


Good work on the review! Pos'd. It's nice to see this album get some attention. It's a good one. I need to hear it again though. It's been a while.

Essence
February 8th 2016


5836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is really good, but i'm a sucker for this genre

Superreallycool
March 15th 2016


134 Comments


It's good, but I just wish there was a bit more to it. It feels pretty monotone to me

DungeonBoy
January 19th 2017


3221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent album. Just ordered a very beautiful green, hand numbered and limited to 40, vinyl edition of this.



Only $22 shipped to the US.



http://thronerecs.com/TR64preorder.html

Dinosaur
April 16th 2017


1107 Comments


Yeah, this is so good for the genre. It's fresh to hear stuff of similar caliber as Vali, Neun Welten, Ainulindale...

Digging: Taurus (USA-OR) - No/Thing



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy