Fuath
I


3.5
great

Review

by Gameofmetal EMERITUS
January 31st, 2016 | 150 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Under starry nights, in raging winds of frost.

In interviews leading up to the release of Fuath’s debut full length I, Andy Marshall, the Scottish black metal mastermind behind the newly sprung project (along with the widely acclaimed Saor and rather less well received Falloch) said that his chief intent was to channel the early 90s black metal scene that initially inspired him. A “cold, hypnotic, and melancholic” atmosphere in the vein of Burzum’s Hvis Lyset Tar Oss or more recent acts like Paysage d'Hiver was the goal here. And that goal is pretty clear when you finally listen to I. It feels like his open letter to the bands that pushed him into this musical style, with sprinklings and hints from various sources to be found across its runtime. But it doesn’t get too bent over channeling these sounds. Marshall doesn’t quite capture the atmosphere or background ambience of Burzum, or the frozen wall of sound of Paysage, not to the furthest measure at least. I is its own beast in several ways and the better for it.

Each of the four tracks on I clocks in neatly around ten minutes and neither do they differ too greatly from each other. There aren’t a great many surprises to be found in the dense waves of cold tremolos and starry melodies that comprise these songs, but they’re all frighteningly captivating in spite of it. It becomes a game when sifting through the songs of choosing which hypnotically repeated melody you want to hear at that given moment. Even still, the album doesn’t really overstay its welcome. Forty minutes is practically an achievement in concise runtimes considering the propensity in black metal to drag out records. I’s key strength is its hypnoticism. In a similar manner to Paysage d'Hiver, it doesn’t feel like it’s meant to be listened to too closely. While Paysage worked that way simply because of the sheer lo fi wall of sound preventing you from actually doing so, the constant simplicity and emphasis on atmosphere infer that for Fuath. I is a record you throw on to get lost in its atmosphere and not the second to second changes of a song.

Curiously, this is the first album Marshall has done entirely on his own since Saor’s debut under a different name, Roots. Falloch was the product of a partnership with fellow Scotsman Scot McLean and Saor’s defining record, Aura, was done with the aid of multiple musicians including legendary Panopticon mastermind Austin Lunn. His drum performance doesn’t come close to rivaling the exemplary work Lunn provided, but for Fuath’s purposes Marshall does just fine. His vocals are also a marked contrast from the Scottish battle roars present on Saor. Marshall sticks to a traditional black metal rasp which unfortunately doesn’t have the same charm. However, just like with Saor, his vocals serve as more of a background instrument which evens the disparity somewhat.

Fuath ends up being a middle ground between Marshall’s will to channel his influences and being able to stand on its own two legs. He doesn’t quite hit the heights of his predecessors no matter how much he tries, and his trademark touch to melody slips in enough that after a couple of listens you can really hear the Andy Marshal-ness of it all. It’s not as engaging on a song to song basis, but the atmosphere is dead on. In essence, I isn’t exactly the home run that Aura was, but it’s a respectable hit nonetheless.



Recent reviews by this author
Vimur Triumphant Master of FatesBorn of Osiris The Simulation
Hate Eternal Upon Desolate SandsCultes Des Ghoules Sinister
Horrendous IdolBosse-de-Nage Further Still
user ratings (77)
3.5
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://noisey.vice.com/blog/fuath-album-premiere



really good stuff that I enjoy a bit more casually, but when thinking about it critically i felt like i had to mark it down just a tad

ScuroFantasma
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


12056 Comments


Great review man, need to hear the rest of this

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

aaaaaaaaaah you suck



good review

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Yeah I remember enjoying the single"



for some reason i thought you wouldn't like this at all but you like cosmic church and that other band that stars with a c from the black metal tourney we did like a year ago so dunno why im surprised



thx scuro

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"aaaaaaaaaah you suck







good review"



yea i saw you were wanting to do a review but i wanted to do this since the moment i heard about it. you should do yours still for sure doe

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

honestly though like i said in my sound off, this is like the definitive good but not great atmos black metal album



honestly really surprised it came from marshall, expected better from him



blood is the standout song



nah i'd just say the same thing you did

TheSpirit
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


30304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

On the first track; digging it hard. I think I'm gonna like it more than you guys.



Good review man, I'm thinking I still might write one up myself depending on how I feel about this after I hear it all.

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this is background black metal

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"honestly really surprised it came from marshall, expected better from him"



i mean he did have a part in falloch which was a lot worse than this (if not outright bad imo)

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh goodness a feature has appeared



ty sput gods

TheSpirit
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


30304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i definitely hear the darkthrone influences on the first track, but not on anything else. third track started out so cliche cold black metal but the second half is a lot better.

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

hmm that's true, though i've never personally heard falloch



is it really that bad?

i do remember reading that metallum removed it for not being metal enough which is HILARIOUS

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


11606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it leaned a lot more towards folk and post rock and with some weak vocals. not awful but not great. after andy left the other guy put out another record that was better

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

interesting. when i say i was surprised, i speak only of having heard his work in saor. and i do like this, just don't love it, which i expected to

Asmodeuss1990
January 31st 2016


388 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pretty dope and definitely feels similar to Paysage d'Hiver. Its nice to see a band trying to replicate that sound.

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

gave this another spin. still right where it was last time. blood is a dooooooooope track though

BallsToTheWall
January 31st 2016


51268 Comments


Paramore to me in 2007 is Fuath to me in 2016.

zaruyache
January 31st 2016


27483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

the reverby, faux lo-fi production bothers me, but aside from that this is OK. Would've been much better with an actually raw/lo-fi sound, though.

TheSpirit
Emeritus
January 31st 2016


30304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the production is perf

Essence
January 31st 2016


6695 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

actually im with brandon on this, production is really good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy