Bloc Party
Hymns


2.0
poor

Review

by Crawl USER (4 Reviews)
January 30th, 2016 | 36 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Dullness Within

This is not what I want from Bloc Party. In fact, I don't want this from anyone. "The Love Within" sucked and I hated it since I first heard it. Surprisingly, I learned not to hate the track, but I just still don't like it. The chorus is quite cool, but that synth riff. Oh man, that synth riff. It's so unbelievably unpleasant. It doesn't help that it actually only SOUNDS like a synth riff, because it's a guitar which makes that godawful noise. But yeah, I was ready to cope with that song on Hymns.

When I listened to Hymns for the first time, I was relieved that it's not as embarrassing as it could have been. It is not an album full of deafening synth/guitar/whatever sounds. But there's a catch! Hymns is boring as ***.

First I was worried when Gordon Moakes and Matt Tong left, but when I watched some live videos with the new members, it was all good. The drummer was able to play everything as well as Matt did. But listening to Hymns, their absence is very visible. Especially the energetic drumwork, which was a staple of Bloc Party, is absolutely gone. All we get are simplistic beats, working only as an undistracting background to Kele's soft vocals. If playing these tedious beats made Matt leave, I don't really blame him.

The saddest thing about Hymns is that almost every song has a great idea buried under a lot of bad ideas. "Only He Can Heal Me" could have been a nice little song, if the chant hadn't lasted for its WHOLE duration. "Different Drugs" which is the album's most ambitious track possesses a great somber atmosphere, which is destroyed by Kele's pseudo-falsetto cringeworthy vocals. "Into the Earth", a song with a sweet guitar sound is again dragged down by Mr. Okereke's sing-talk style in verses.

But there are at least some positives. "The Good News" is one of the few songs on Hymns which actually brings some excitement. The chorus is catchy and the guitar has an enjoyable country tone. Another bright spot is the serene closer, in which Kele truly shines and brilliantly leads the album to a close.

Overall though, I wish this album is the absolute bottom of Bloc Party. I hope they can bounce back on their next record and do something which can compare with their first three albums, or at least with Four. Because Hymns is absolutely incomparable to those.


user ratings (159)
2.1
poor
other reviews of this album
Finn Baker (1.5)
Although 'hymn' typically means a song of praise, it's very difficult to praise these songs....

basementality (1)
God have mercy on us all....

AcePhoenix007 (2)
Kele Okereke and His Backup Band - Hymns...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Crawl
January 30th 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wasn't really sure about posting this, as it was supposed to be merely a soundoff, but it got longer than I thought. Therefore, the review might lack a better structure. Constructive criticism is welcome anyway.





DoofusWainwright
January 30th 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Already fearing for this album's average lol

BHAR
January 30th 2016


231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry to say it, but I actually enjoyed the album. It kinda moves Bloc Party away from everything they've done before.

Crawl
January 30th 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

What's your favorite track?

BHAR
January 30th 2016


231 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who, me? My True Name.

Krvst
January 31st 2016


469 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Kele basically murdered this band, sweet review tho

mifzal
January 31st 2016


3352 Comments


What a pity, Silent Alarm was an excellent record. Oh the good 00's

Zanareth
January 31st 2016


297 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Not sure if I should touch this thing or not. I'm kinda scared. I mean I liked Intimacy overall but even after 7+ years I still don't get "Mercury" at all.

Nomos
January 31st 2016


1737 Comments


What a shame. Been waiting for the next Intimacy, but I guess I'm going to have to wait a whole lot longer. Was really not a fan of Four.

Crawl
January 31st 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was hoping for another Intimacy too, but this has absolutely nothing like Zephyrus or Signs.

RadicalEd
January 31st 2016


9546 Comments


Not a surprise after the 2 singles I've heard. Won't bother with this, since I never was a real fan of the band. Good review though.

Crawl
January 31st 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks. Didn't expect this would be featured.

DoofusWainwright
January 31st 2016


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Just read the review, pos'd.



I don't agree that I'd prefer them to release something along the lines of 'Four' - I've only listened to this once but I already prefer it to that one. This is possibly better than 'intimacy' too. It's still not very good though don't get me wrong on that

Crawl
January 31st 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the pos.



I didn't want it to sound like Four either, what I meant is that I wanted it to be qualitatively at least as good as Four. I love Intimacy though.

PappyMason
January 31st 2016


5702 Comments


True.

furyroad97
January 31st 2016


545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Kind of a shame. I think Four & Intimacy get a bad rap, but this was pretty damn average.

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Ghosteen

AngryJohnny
January 31st 2016


959 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That felt like a really long 47 minutes

Crawl
January 31st 2016


2603 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I didn't expect it being that dull tbh. I was worried that it would suck like The Love Within did, so my expectations were even lower.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
January 31st 2016


14566 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

lost all hope for this band long ago

Digging: The Chameleons - Script of the Bridge

DirEnRefused
January 31st 2016


3564 Comments


good review, i like your casual tone; it's endearing. became a bit by the numbers and blocky when you were citing tracks though.

also "almost every song has a great idea buried under a lots of" needs fixing.

pos'd!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy