Seoul
I Become A Shade


4.0
excellent

Review

by ceart go leor im droim USER (1 Reviews)
January 24th, 2016 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Welcome to Seoul

Even from the airplane window, it's clear the city is like nothing you've ever seen before. Your previous worries melt away as the glistening Seoul beckons you. Disembarking, you can hear the muffled splendour from the airport, and as the taxi approaches the incandescent city, the dreamy ambiance swells into soaring synth lines. You feel weightless, becoming a shade.

The main streets are a sight to behold. Walking down the line, Seoul smothers you in layers upon layers of gorgeous synthesiser stabs. It all feels real and organic, though. The city has a heartbeat, various kicks and bass lines give it the rhythm it needs to not collapse into an aimless sprawl. Although back alleys are merely segues to the main attractions, they still maintain the charm and unforgettable nature the rest of the city does, be it through haunting landscaping or the way in that they meld so effortlessly into the architecture.

The aesthetic of Seoul is faultlessly summarised in a structure the locals call 'White Morning'. At times it seems ready to float away, but steady beats anchor the unburdened groove lines and arpeggios. It is the keystone of Seoul, displaying all of the city's elegant and reflective anatomy in one composition. There is, however, a melancholy behind Seoul's walls, ones that talk. Mumbling of lost loves and uncertainty, Seoul's layered edifices contain a hidden vulnerability to them.

'Silencer' recounts a tale of a dysfunctional couple, while 'Haunt / A Light' mentions the "miserable city" that Seoul once lived as. Through its wistful and nostalgic disposition, Seoul is a truly memorable place to visit. In all of 41 minutes, I was completely consumed and enamoured with it. Nuanced yet simplistic , drenched with atmosphere second to none, this is one Lonely Planet review you'd best not ignore.


user ratings (23)
3.7
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheWrenKing
January 24th 2016


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A fun shitty review I wrote to get back to writing for my own enjoyment for an album I think deserves a lot more attention. Constructive criticism would be appreciated greatly

TheWrenKing
February 7th 2016


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*tentative bump*

hiyabootchie
March 11th 2016


421 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is pretty chill.

granitenotebook
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2016


1271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a really nice review, deserves more attention, just like the album. quickly gives off the exact impression/"vibe" the album exudes. really like how you tied together the city analogy with the timbre description

granitenotebook
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2016


1271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you should write more

TheWrenKing
April 16th 2016


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I's blushing i swear, that means a lot

I've got a few plans for reviews when exam season is over, we'll see what happens

devilsrider
November 30th 2017


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS BAND?!

Papa Universe
November 30th 2017


22503 Comments


@devilsrider: If I remember correctly, they're a sort of purposefully mysterious act that was never meant to actually follow through with another record. I think they were either a bunch of enthusiasts who are now in less significant roles in other bands, or this is an alter-ego of a different band as well. They pretty much only popped up in 2015 to drop this album and then went off their separate ways.

devilsrider
January 19th 2018


23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's depressing : (

TheWrenKing
January 20th 2018


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their ethos as a band was similar to mine as a reviewer

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2018


4052 Comments


"their ethos as a band was similar to mine as a reviewer"

You should change that perhaps: You're good.

Papa Universe
June 7th 2018


22503 Comments


are you implying that this band is bad?

granitenotebook
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2018


1271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think blush is saying that wrenking should write more

granitenotebook
Staff Reviewer
June 7th 2018


1271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

which is true i love this

TheWrenKing
June 7th 2018


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thank u blush and granite ! i reallly do wanna get back into writing, unforch inspiration is hard 2 come by 4 me



also i continue to love the closer on this

efp123
October 22nd 2022


249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What happened to this band

efp123
October 22nd 2022


249 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nvm I read the comment above, but still they were super cool



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2023 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy