Lycus
Chasms


3.5
great

Review

by Jacquibim STAFF
January 15th, 2016 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2016 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gloomy in tone, but not totally consumed with hopelessness, Lycus sophomore album offers more than what may initially meet the ears.

At this point, the funeral doom scene is about as impervious to newcomers as the genre’s content is to any listener not conditioned for its opacity and bleakness. It’s a genre so innately restrictive that there is simply no ground left to break. Aspiring bands come and go in the blink of an eye, and those who manage to make ripples are overshadowed by the contemporary efforts of funeral doom’s progenitors. The fact that Lycus haven’t already burnt out on austerity for austerity’s sake is encouraging because it means they’re resolute. Furthermore, it’s apparent they’re not content to repeat themselves on Chasms, their second full-length album. This is an imposing development of the ideas Lycus sported on 2013’s Tempest, with cascading walls of sound broken into what seem like movements rather than songs. Sorrowful minor chords create a leering aural canopy, while the resonant and powerful gutturals linger about your surroundings. The sense of detachment one feels here is the key, resulting in a conflicting mix of anguish and optimism.

In part, Lycus’ desired effect is achieved with a small cache of aural accessories. Choirs, synth lines and even a cello make appearances on each of the four tracks, but they’re used in such a subtle manner that they add weight to the compositions without becoming distracting. At certain points in the title-track, the cello appears to take the lead, reprising this role in “Mirage” and helping to bind the album’s two halves together. Unfortunately, “Mirage” is also the album’s weak-link, featuring a shambolic climax in which the lumbering chords refuse to gel with some unseemly blast beats. Blights in the production become apparent here as well, as frequencies clash and form a sibilant, distorted haze. However, this is a minor qualm given these moments account for so little of this album’s overall run time, and the remaining bulk is strong enough to overcome any loss in momentum. The compositional deadweight of Tempest is now a distant memory, replaced by arrangements that ooze melancholia, but not without glints of something more cathartic. Though Chasms may not expand the repertoire of funeral doom, it is nevertheless an engrossing venture worth anyone’s time.



Recent reviews by this author
Grave Infestation Infesticide (demo)Obliteration Cenotaph Obscure
Revocation The Outer OnesTomb Mold Manor of Infinite Forms
Ritual Necromancy Disinterred HorrorRicercar Consort J.S. Bach: Consolatio
user ratings (86)
3.5
great
related reviews

Demo MMXI

Tempest

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2016


3606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Arcade-style ;)



Hope y'all like the review, and check the album if you want to I guess.

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2016


19076 Comments


hot

Digging: The Angels of Light - How I Loved You

FearThyEvil
January 15th 2016


17071 Comments


good review, jac! Might have to check this album out

hal1ax
January 15th 2016


14018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

rly good review dude. just downloaded this, will jam soon

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2016


8466 Comments


Album stream: http://lycus.bandcamp.com/album/chasms

Great album, will read the review later in the day.

Digging: Dead Shed Jokers - All The Seasons

oltnabrick
January 15th 2016


37559 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a good album

Digging: Mayhem - Daemon

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2016


11741 Comments


Great review and cool artwork, let's see how she sounds

Digging: Blue Oyster Cult - Spectres

MoosechriS
January 15th 2016


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

My copy of this arrived in the mail this morning, quite eager to check it out now. I was on the fence with tempest but had heard good things about this recently so took a chance on it. Good review too jac dude

Spacesh1p
January 15th 2016


7717 Comments


Really nice review, planning on checking this soon.

Willie
Moderator
January 15th 2016


17933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2 | Sound Off

I liked the debut more, but this was still pretty good.

Digging: Leprous - Pitfalls

Hopelust
January 15th 2016


3457 Comments


Fuckin nice review, Jacq. I'm particularly appreciative of the "...sense of detachment one feels here is the key, resulting in a conflicting mix of anguish and optimism" line. Gives me a very clear picture.

On a side note, I find Funeral Doom as a name of genre or type of music to be ironically funny.


MoosechriS
January 15th 2016


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

About half way through my first listen, sounding really good so far.

Hawks
January 15th 2016


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet review Jac man, jamming this right now.

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
January 15th 2016


10652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album cover is awesome, will jam later

Hawks
January 15th 2016


73699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok this fucking slays.

Nazzadan
January 15th 2016


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really dug it, gonna check out their first album now

BadgerU
January 16th 2016


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enjoyed this more than Tempest, Solar Chamber in particular has some fantastic riffs, and the cello parts add a some cool atmosphere to the other tracks.

tragic.details
January 16th 2016


684 Comments


good review! definitely digging the artwork, so I might check this out.

Ryus
January 16th 2016


17832 Comments


awesome cover art

good stuff

rasputin
January 16th 2016


14968 Comments


thought these guys' demo was good but haven't been grabbed by anything I've heard since

good review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy