Demi Lovato
Confident


2.5
average

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
January 13th, 2016 | 39 replies


Release Date: 10/26/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Confident inconsistency.

Confidence is a trait most people treasure. Many people can relate to wanting to walk with your head held high every day, being happy with yourself, happy with your life and feeling like everything is on the up and up. If the title wasn’t a dead giveaway, Demi Lovato’s Confident is inherently about being confident in yourself. The former Disney star has had a fairly publicized history of cutting, but of late she’s been doing her best to reverse that image. Things like her “all natural” nude shoot for Vanity Fair and posting makeup-less selfies on social networks are, at the very least, pointing towards a happier Demi. Confident itself is Demi’s musical declaration that she’s found the self-esteem she lacked in her younger years. It manifests most prominently in the lead singles, the title track and then the bonafide banger “Cool For The Summer”. The latter especially is possibly Demi’s strongest composition to date, featuring sensual hooks and beats and absolutely oozing chemistry. Bombastic power pop hits are where Demi flourishes, most likely because the style lends itself so well to the ideals she puts forth with Confident. When Demi goes in, she really goes in (besides the singles, see “Old Ways”, “Waiting For You”, and “Wildfire”), but there are quite a few tracks that unfortunately drag the album down.

It does feel like Demi overshoots the mark in her attempt to express herself. Particularly a handful of tracks lean more towards R&B, soul, and gospel which just don’t suit Demi all that well. She can sing, make no doubt about that, but they feel out of place next to many of the other songs. Songs like “For You” and “Lionheart” are outright skippable, and closer “Father” isn’t much better. Even the title track, an otherwise fine song, could be seen as a bit too on-the-nose lyrically for some. Essentially, Confident has some truly shining moments, but quite a bit of it bogs down to the point where even her tremendous voice can’t pull it back out. Demi sounds confident for a certainty, and that’s admirable, but inconsistency is an altogether different beast to deal with.



Recent reviews by this author
Vimur Triumphant Master of FatesBorn of Osiris The Simulation
Hate Eternal Upon Desolate SandsCultes Des Ghoules Sinister
Horrendous IdolBosse-de-Nage Further Still
user ratings (85)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
connor12 (4)
What's wrong with being confident?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i review pop now, maybe, sometimes

someguest
January 12th 2016


29909 Comments


Can I bite your cherry, Gameofmetal?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you can try

Tyler.
January 12th 2016


17008 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cool for the summer is the jam

Asdfp277
January 13th 2016


20583 Comments


so, this is prolly better than i expected

EnyaFangirl
January 13th 2016


1743 Comments


outside of the singles, this was a tremendous bore that i can barely remember

Asdfp277
January 13th 2016


20583 Comments


lol, seems like i'll just dl the singles and be done with it

or just dl this whole, rate and move on lol

Asdfp277
January 13th 2016


20583 Comments


was just jammin don't forget, m/ m/ m/

EnyaFangirl
January 13th 2016


1743 Comments


dont forget is pretty good :O

RogueNine
January 13th 2016


3940 Comments


I can't see Demi without being reminded of how Decay used to go on and on about her.

XingKing
January 13th 2016


14670 Comments


"I can't see Demi without being reminded of how Decay used to go on and on about her."

What a horrible memory. Why would you remind me of that?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

""Cool for the Summer" was really quite awful"



u crazy mann

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2016


4480 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

yeah just about agree with this analysis, really wish I could like it more but outside of the first two tracks really there isn't anything super memorable about this. the one with sirah is all right but it kind of just blends together after a while. confident and cool for the summer are both great though

SCREAM!
January 13th 2016


15756 Comments


Can't even remember if I got all the way through this. It's too bad it's so bland because it starts off so strong

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

on first listen i mostly just remembered the 2 singles but a few mores songs poked their heads out of the bland rest later

Tunaboy45
January 13th 2016


16750 Comments


She'd confidently get one

Nice review man, pos.

Digging: The National - I Am Easy to Find

SgtAenema
January 13th 2016


484 Comments


anal

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2016


25396 Comments


Really bad summary, but the rest of the review is really good.

Digging: Malfet - The Way To Avalon

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2016


10591 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Really bad summary, but the rest of the review is really good. "



i waffled through a few after i realized the one i wanted was used on the other review so yea. summaries are hard for me

RogueNine
January 13th 2016


3940 Comments


Sorry Xing. :/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy