Motorhead
Bastards


4.5
superb

Review

by Atari STAFF
December 30th, 2015 | 28 replies


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An album to remember Lemmy by

With the sudden death of Motorhead’s infamous leader, millions of fans hung their heads in unison. Can he really be gone" The man who’s had his foot glued to the gas for nearly five decades can’t possibly be done, right" Once the shock subsided, and the painful acceptance took hold, the ultimate celebration began.

The fact of the matter is there’s a lot to celebrate: 40 years of unadulterated heavy metal to be exact. One thing I’ve always admired about Lemmy is his profound and genuine love for Rock ‘n Roll. Rather than bother himself with the prospects of mainstream success, he concerned himself with one thing and one thing only when creating music – does it riff" It's true, his music has remained almost entirely unchanged throughout his career in Motorhead, but his loyal fans wouldn’t have it any other way. We know exactly what we’re going to get when we put on a Motorhead record, but I’ll be damned if Mr. Kilmister doesn’t get our blood pumping every time we hear his signature gravelly voice over rapid-fire guitars.

Even though the foundation of Motorhead’s music remains virtually unshaken, there are several unique albums in their discography that strayed a bit from the standard formula. One of these albums is the often underappreciated "Bastards", released in 1993. In addition to containing a handful of songs with his trademark fast ‘n furious style, there are several slow burners that prove Lemmy was more versatile than many believed him to be. The poignant ‘Lost in the Ozone’ contains one of the most affecting performances of his entire career, as his gentler singing is nearly therapeutic, and a perfect match for the song’s dreary atmosphere. As if the track didn’t hit like a ton of bricks before, hearing Lemmy croon about his isolated state beyond the grave now hits with the emotional weight of a semi truck. The truth is, once you remove all the labels of Lemmy as an invincible rock God or even a sex icon, he was just as human as each and every one of us. ‘Lost in the Ozone’ is the perfect representation of this, as his soul is laid bare for all to see. It’s perhaps the closest we’ll ever get to unveiling the man behind the myth, but the song is sure to resonate with listeners for many years to come.

Aside from "Bastards" most sincere moments, there are still plenty of boisterous tracks that are bound to get your adrenaline pumping. ‘Born to Raise Hell’ is Motorhead at their very best, with guitar solos around every corner and Lemmy sounding as nasally yet confident as ever. Many other songs are simply groovy as hell, with ‘Death or Glory’, ‘I Am The Sword’ and ‘Bad Woman’ being immediate standouts.

Whether you’re a seasoned Motorhead fanboy or are just beginning to dive into their extensive discography, there’s no shortage of entertainment to be found on Motorhead's overlooked "Bastards". It’s an album that represents everything Lemmy ever stood for, and what a legacy he’s left behind. On December 28th, 2015, we lost a true metal great, one of the genre’s last true giants. However, he’ll never be lost completely. He poured every ounce of his blood, sweat, and tears into Motorhead for the span of four decades, and the music he left behind will never die. Lemmy was certainly born to raise hell, and his spirit is still alive and kicking in the afterlife. RIP Lemmy, you will be missed.



Recent reviews by this author
Outer Heaven Realms Of Eternal DecayUn Sentiment
Elise Davis CactusShannen Moser I'll Sing
Spanish Love Songs SchmaltzNatalie Hemby Puxico
user ratings (243)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
forkliftjones (4.5)
What are you waiting for?...

south_of_heaven 11 (4)
...

metalismymusic (5)
Motorhead's Beat Album To Date...


Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
December 29th 2015


29379 Comments


Epic review dude. Fist hard

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2015


23854 Comments


Cheers guys, lost in the ozone is one of my all time favorite Motörhead songs. Really great stuff on here , RIP so hard

On a side note, I just removed the summary when I realized it was identical to the summary on manosg's featured review. Not sure how I missed that haha



Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

manosg
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2015


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent review Atari!



Great minds think alike! I'm perfectly ok if you want to use the summary. It's Lemmy's after all ;)



On a side note, how can one not shake his ass while listening to Born to Raise Hell?

Digging: Dio - Magica

rockandmetaljunkie
December 30th 2015


7475 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

love all those Motorhead reviews

EvoHavok
December 30th 2015


7652 Comments


Great read, Atari!

ChaoticVortex
December 30th 2015


687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review, best Motorhead album of the 90's.

Tunaboy45
December 30th 2015


16583 Comments


All this love for the road crew is really warming my cold heart, you guys are great.

RIP Lemmy.

InFlamesWeThrash666
December 30th 2015


8472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT

Digging: Bokassa - Divide and Conquer

ksoflas
December 30th 2015


1243 Comments


Great review man. Solid album indeed.

YUJOS
December 30th 2015


1010 Comments


Sweet review Atari!

Digging: Esoctrilihum - Inhu?ma

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2015


23854 Comments


thanks everyone!

@manosg, that's nice of you but I can just think of a different summary ;) or I might just leave it without one idk doesn't really matter. and yes born to raise hell definitely makes you wanna move!

FunkyClaude
December 31st 2015


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Along with 1916, this is the best of their 90's output.

On Your Feet or On Your Knees rips my fucking head off every time.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 1st 2016


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. During the 90s they released their only so and so material.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
January 1st 2016


11313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sacrifice too for me but it was a period where every one of those big bands suffered so it's almost like it never happened.

FunkyClaude
January 1st 2016


92 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agree mano. Even Maiden struggled during that period. Obviously Bruce & Adrian leaving was a major factor, but, No Prayer for The Dying was, I think, by Maiden standards , a poor record, while Fear of The Dark,t/t aside, average at best.



Motorhead's output in this time, with the exception of 1916 & Bastards, was patchy, but most albums usually contain one or two killers.

March or Die & Snake Bite Love are probably the only MH albums i really struggle with.



That all said, the Inferno - Bad Magic period was very consistent. All excellent albums. I saw Motorhead when they were last down here in 2011, and they were magnificent. Completely wiped the floor with "rock stars" half their age.

EvoHavok
January 2nd 2016


7652 Comments


Yep, very solid live when I saw them.

virpi
January 2nd 2016


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review to a great album. "Devils" is an often overlooked classic.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2016


23854 Comments


yeah devils is a great track, this is one of my overall favorite albums by them. nothing beats overkill though

RunOfTheMill
January 6th 2016


3820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great fucking album, and a wonderful review. Really agree with you how this album is underappreciated. It's definitely my favourite outside of their classic '79-'83 era. The hard rockers go fucking hard and Lemmy was surprisingly great at the softer slower songs. Honestly I was about to say so and so song is my favourite, but I can't pick, this album is just so good front-to-back. Even the Stones cover is bloody great.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 6th 2016


23854 Comments


thanks man, agreed on all accounts. love the slower songs on here

their stones cover of 'sympathy for the devil' on the new album isn't bad either



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy