Axis of Light
L'appel du vide


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (92 Reviews)
December 29th, 2015 | 36 replies


Release Date: 02/07/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The very sound of the depths of hell....

It's been a few years since we've heard from Axis of Light. Their 2012 EP By the Hands of the Consuming Fire was one of the premier black metal releases of that year and these guys haven't missed a beat with their 2015 demo L'appel du vide.

Now this demo isn't very long at all, clocking it at only 18 minutes, but that's more than enough time for Axis of Light to get their point across. If you didn't hear the EP, then let me inform you on what you're in for here and that is just about 20 minutes of straight up, raw, balls to the wall black metal. You'll most likely be blown away at the amount of catchy, yet absolutely ferocious riffs that are featured throughout such a short time. While this demo is extremely raw, it's also extremely atmospheric. If there was a soundtrack for hell, this would be it. The vocals here are top notch as well. Demonic, piercing high pitched shrieks featured here are some of the best black metal vocals I've heard in recent years.

As far as black metal goes in 2015, Axis of Light find themselves at the top and that's very impressive for a 4 song demo. If you're a fan of the more harsh side of the black metal spectrum, then you'd be doing yourself a disservice if you didn't check this out. If you like riffs and you like Satan, L'appel du vide is exactly the demo for you.



Recent reviews by this author
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh / Hades Almighty One Who Walks With the Fog / Pyre Era, Black!
Mesarthim IsolateArizmenda Without Circumference Nor Center
Mayhem Live in LeipzigDraconian Sovran
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
December 29th 2015


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Short write up for a short, amazing demo. m/

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2015


10933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ayyyy, sweet write up Hawks. Kick ass album.

Digging: Evilfeast - Elegies of the Stellar Wind

Hawks
December 29th 2015


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks my man.

MistaCrave
December 29th 2015


2476 Comments


Nice review bro. Gonna have to jam this ASAP

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2015


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Paint stripper in musical form. Don't think I like it as much as you do but those vocals sure do rip hard. Nice wee write up :]

YakNips
December 29th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aye what a great record

MoosechriS
December 29th 2015


6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cool review hawks dude pos'd



Good to see this getting a write up

oltnabrick
December 29th 2015


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

one of my favorite black metal albums this year



its "name your price" on bandcamp:

http://axisoflight.co.uk/album/lappel-du-vide-2

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2015


22247 Comments


Great band. I haven't listened to this nearly as much as their first release, but I remember this being grittier and noisier while retaining the core elements I enjoyed so much about By The Hands...

Digging: Antiklesis - Antiklesis

Hawks
December 29th 2015


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's pretty much exactly how I feel about this Brandon. I def dig this a little more than BTHOTCF, but you can't go wrong with either one.



Thanks for all the kind words guys. m/

emester
December 30th 2015


8186 Comments


"Fuck Your Ears" - Axis of Light 2015

Srs tho this kicks ass

Digging: Morbid Angel - Kingdoms Disdained

Hawks
December 30th 2015


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hell yeah bro this blew me away tbh. Even if it is a very short demo the quality here is unbelievable.

YakNips
December 31st 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's all in the riffz

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
December 31st 2015


10933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sup Yak

Hawks
December 31st 2015


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2]

alachlahol
January 5th 2016


7593 Comments


good. not the review but the band yeah

Hawks
January 5th 2016


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey look who it is still just as funny as ever.

YakNips
January 5th 2016


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aye i'm chilling sup with u babes

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2016


10933 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not much anymore, finished up moving house a couple days ago so relaxing now mostly

Hawks
October 9th 2016


52296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bump.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy