Intervals
The Shape of Colour


3.5
great

Review

by ExplosiveOranges CONTRIBUTOR (72 Reviews)
December 29th, 2015 | 85 replies


Release Date: 12/04/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Colours speak louder than words.

Over the course of just a year, almost every member of Intervals has ended up departing the band. Only guitarist Aaron Marshall remains of the original quartet, having enlisted the help of Protest the Hero bassist Cameron McLellan and Periphery drummer Travis Orbin. However, even before the massive schism within the band, vocalist Mike Semesky had parted ways, leaving what was left of the group to re-pursue their instrumental sound. So, the question remained: would Intervals be able to avoid losing their unique identity from A Voice Within amongst a myriad of lesser bands" The Shape of Colour sets out to prove that despite having been on the edge of breaking up, Intervals still have what it takes to stand tall on their own.

“I’m Awake” kicks off the album with what you’ve come to expect from a band like Intervals: fast-paced, upbeat guitar riffs, and lead guitar sections taking precedence over the rest of the compositions. Aaron Marshall’s leads seem to act as a ‘vocalist’ of their own, focusing less on displaying pure technicality and more on sort of guiding the rhythm section. “Sweet Tooth” is a great example of this, with Marshall’s shredding literally sounding as though it’s some abstract form of ‘singing’. The production here is top-notch as well, as the bass and drums are still crystal clear despite the guitar’s imperious presence.

The biggest strength of The Shape of Colour comes in the form of its flourishing, unbridled energy. In a world of dull, average-at-best prog metal bands who pride themselves purely on ludicrously technical guitarwork, The Shape of Colour consistently stays alluring and robust. There’s never a point where the music begins fading into monotony, and the entire album seamlessly flows from one song to the next. Intervals could have ended up turning The Shape of Colour into half an hour of semi-interesting guitar compositions and not much else, but instead have managed to craft a vigorous, compelling album from all sides.



Recent reviews by this author
Every Time I Die Low TeensAsking Alexandria The Black
School of Seven Bells SVIIBTextures Phenotype
Fat White Family Songs for Our MothersNeurotech Evasive
user ratings (211)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

https://intervalsmusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-shape-of-colour



happy holidays. thanks to cometodaddy and arcade for proofreading. as always, criticism is welcome.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2015


6446 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

(edit: fixed)



sorry i didn't get around to proofreading when you asked. review looks good, though

Archael
December 28th 2015


1163 Comments


the shape of colour to come

there :]


ExplosiveOranges
Contributing Reviewer
December 28th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see what you did there



@johnny on mobile atm, but will incorporate your edits as soon as I get a chance. thanks for the feedback

OwMySnauze
December 28th 2015


1684 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great read Explosive. I was excited about this album but once I listened to it, nothing really caught my attention. The instrumentation is great but I feel like there's something missing from making this more enjoyable for me.

LotusFlower
December 28th 2015


12002 Comments


Liked them better when Mike was on board.

bloc
December 28th 2015


45272 Comments


Saw these guys open for Periphery a few years ago but never really checked them out. This is a pretty fun album though

Digging: Flotsam and Jetsam - Doomsday for the Deceiver

ScuroFantasma
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2015


10930 Comments


Cool review Explo, def makes me want to check it, but from reading though it I don't understand why only a 3.5?

Digging: Evilfeast - Elegies of the Stellar Wind

SitarHero
December 29th 2015


6062 Comments


Nice bounce back from the snoozefest that was a A Voice Within. I'm Awake and Meridian have been on playlist repeat since I first heard 'em.

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
December 29th 2015


5472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Quality review dude. 'Aaron Marshall’s leads seem to act as a ‘vocalist’ of their own, focusing less on displaying pure technicality and more on sort of guiding the rhythm section.' - probably the most important sentence here. It's nice to hear them without vocals again (even if this is almost an entirely different group).

Asdfp277
December 30th 2015


16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

loving this pop djent bullshit

SitarHero
December 31st 2015


6062 Comments


There's barely any djent here...

LotusFlower
January 1st 2016


12002 Comments


nah

Asdfp277
January 2nd 2016


16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this won't be part of that list tho

bloc
April 19th 2016


45272 Comments


Man Libra is so good

Shadowmire
August 3rd 2016


4545 Comments


very good

ExhaleTheLight
November 19th 2016


327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Libra is officially one of my top favorite instrumental tracks.

bloc
November 19th 2016


45272 Comments


Yeah that track is brilliant

Nomos
November 20th 2016


1589 Comments


Never, ever pass up the chance to see these fellas live. I did last night and it was mesmerizing. Rather, Aaron Marshall and Plini & his band. Goddamn that was good.

ktstein
February 2nd 2017


459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That Plini solo at the end of Libra. Wow.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy