Jean-Michel Jarre
Oxygene


4.5
superb

Review

by JP Patino Izquierdo USER (17 Reviews)
December 14th, 2015 | 35 replies


Release Date: 1976 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The birth of a whole new world for music

Jean Michel Jarre is one of those musicians that don't need (or at least shouldn't need) an introduction. One of the most important precursors of genres like electronic music, new age or ambient, he is, along with others like Brian Eno or Vangelis, one of the most creative minds that emerged in the 70's, and his magnum opus, Oxygene, is a cornerstone in modern music.

Before this album, synthesizers were already an important element in music, a central piece that differentiated genres like prog rock from other musical styles of that time, and artists like Eno or Vangelis already knew the potential that these magic, electronic instruments really had, and started to experiment with them a lot more than many other musicians did. However it wasn't until this LP that we would see what they were truly capable of, since even Jarre's early albums felt a little bit immature and unpolished.

In 1976 however, years of experimentation finally culminated in what would be the first modern electronic album. Oxygene's sound can be described as ethereal, and extremly dense, yet very simple at the same time; it creates a beautiful spacey atmoshpere that feels pretty cold, but in a good way, just like a cold air stream or the cold wind of a March morning.

Even when the ambient created in here is sublime, which works as the proof of the mature sound that Jarre managed to produce, it still feels happy, and even catchy at many points. That is probably one of the most interesting things about Oxygene. Creating such a mystical sound that at the same time could be played at a disco (using Part IV as an example) is certainly difficult to conceive, and even in the present day is a task that not many can recreate. Of course, artists like Solar Fields create a similar atmosphere in their albums but doing this, in such a prolific way, almost forty years ago is really something worthy of respect.

The LP is not perfect though, in some parts, specially around Part V, its spacey atmosphere loses a little bit of cohesiveness and tends to drag on, but this kind of issues won't last for a long time and certainly aren't "bad", they're just moments that don't feel as good as the rest of the album does.

Oxygene deserves to be praised because it is one of the very few examples of a work that's original and extraordinarily influential without falling into the immaturity and inconsistency of many albums that preceded newer sounds or styles in music. Jarre established a whole new sound in music and at the same time showed how it was supposed to be done, not just creating "some elements, or pieces" of how it could be.

Two years later Jean Michel Jarre released Equinoxe, an album that's considered by some as Oxygene Part II since its style is pretty similar, yet still feels as good as it does in here. After this album many others would come, none of them producing the magic found in these two releases though. It was the time for other artists to come, and keep exploring what would become one of the most important genres of the present day.



Recent reviews by this author
801 801 LiveForeigner 4
War The World Is a GhettoSupertramp Crisis? What Crisis?
The Web i spiderLucifer's Friend Banquet
user ratings (151)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As always, I'd appreciate if you guys could tell me if there are any typos since english isn't my first language, but anyway, can't believe this didn't had a review, it rules so hard



Part I https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj7A8SX7ccI



Part IV https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DDEl7JnWvo

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2015


16667 Comments


at last

magnetic fields is better tho

Digging: Taeko Onuki - Mignonne

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Magnetic Fields is great but nowhere near as good as this or Equinoxe for me

Jethro42
December 14th 2015


15196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oxygène IV must be among the most known track by Jarre, and it's gorgeous. I need to revisit that album. I have it somewhere in my homemade cds.

Jethro42
December 14th 2015


15196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review and I'm glad you covered it. I'm not surprised, knowing that you dig Jarre's music.

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love his music but I reviewed cause it really needed one, I thought this was like universally considered an extremly popular album, so it was pretty weird it lacked a review

Jethro42
December 14th 2015


15196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still good the artist is in the data base. You have no idea how many known bands/albums I've added to the database in the few past years...

Archelirion
December 14th 2015


5512 Comments


This had no review? Woah, you have done a service. Your spelling is perfect, although there's a few issues with sentence structure which I can message you about if you want. Good review all the same though :]

Friday13th
December 14th 2015


6214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. I have this on vinyl, but I haven't checked Equinoxe yet.

Digging: Shakti - Natural Elements

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It sounds pretty similar to this one, maybe a little bit darker

ShakerFaker
December 14th 2015


215 Comments


i sympathize with the language barrier, and this is a great review for the most part.
my only criticism - i have trouble with this too - is that you tend to write really long sentences that are kind of hard to follow. the fourth paragraph, which is also the longest, is one sentence and a lot of the other paragraphs are too.

Friday13th
December 14th 2015


6214 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

both albums have killer artwork

Ocean of Noise
December 14th 2015


9954 Comments


This guy's sound is ridiculously dated. I personally can't take it seriously, but he's undeniably an important artist.

In other words, great choice for a review!

Digging: Type O Negative - Dead Again

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah I'd say this one has one of the most iconic artworks ever, even if I prefer Equinoxe's

e210013
December 14th 2015


1725 Comments


Nice review SirLord. It reminds me that I need to listen to this album again. I really like this album and of Jarre. It's nice to have a review of this album and of this artist.

I particularly like of this expression:

"just like a cold air stream or the cold wind of a March morning."

You was particularly happy using it. It brings to your review a nice sense of poetry.

Very nice indeed. I really appreciated. Pos.

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man, glad you enjoyed the review

Keyblade
December 14th 2015


25455 Comments


great album and rev

MrSirLordGentleman
December 14th 2015


11375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thx m8

DoctorGreen
December 15th 2015


94 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great.

danielcardoso
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2015


11680 Comments


Your sentence structure is iffy sometimes, some of your paragraphs are only one sentence. If you want, I can try to give you a little help, see if it reads better.

"Jean Michel Jarre is one of those musicians that don't need (or at least shouldn't need) an introduction. One of the most important precursors of genres like electronic music, new age or ambient, he is, along with others like Brian Eno or Vangelis, one of the most creative minds that emerged in the 70's, and his magnum opus, Oxygene, is a cornerstone in modern music."

"Even when the ambient created in here is sublime, which works as the proof of the mature sound that Jarre managed to produce, it still feels happy, and even catchy at many points. That is probably one of the most interesting things about Oxygene. Creating such a mystical sound that at the same time could be played at a disco (using Part IV as an example) is certainly difficult to conceive, and even in the present day is a task that not many can recreate."

Plus, I'd split that "Oxygene deserves to be praised" into just two sentences, I'd probably use "Jarre established" as the beginning of the second sentence. Hope I could help you out.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy