Wage War
Blueprints


4.5
superb

Review

by WageWarFan USER (3 Reviews)
December 9th, 2015 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Blueprints is a stellar debut that pairs relentlessly aggressive vocals with soaring choruses and catchy, groovy riffs.

Wage War is another new addition to the ever-growing Fearless roster. Their debut album Blueprints was released a week early on Apple Music and is set for release on November 27th at all other retailers. So how does Wage War’s debut album stand among the constantly growing metalcore genre? Quite well.

The album starts off with a blistering and heavy intro track which transitions perfectly into “Twenty One”, one of their first singles. “Twenty One” highlights one of Wage Wars greatest strengths on the album, which is the duality of clean choruses mixed in with crunching heaviness. It also has some of my favorite lines such as “All along we’ve been searching for a place to call our home. You and I will never learn if we try to do this on our own” or “Underneath it all we are all the same. Never knowing where to go. Lost in our way. Can we ever escape? Can we decide our fate?” Next up on the docket is “Alive.”, which was the first single released by the band. It’s not hard to see why they chose to release this song first. It’s a ruthless, hard hitting song that has some serious groove and bouncy riffs and is sure to get the crowd on their feet. Alive is still one of my personal favorites off the album.

The album continues on with its backbreaking pace with songs like “Blueprints” and “Youngbloods” both of which feature the soaring choruses and heavy hitting sound that Wage War skillfully employs. “Youngbloods” is easily the highlight of the album. It has heavy and catchy breakdowns that is sure to get any live crowd on their feet. It also features probably the best clean chorus out of all the songs on the album. It’s emotionally charged and it’s hard not to want to sing along to yourself. “Youngbloods” touches on the tragic suicide of a personal friend. You can feel their emotion seeping through every line and the song is a beautiful tribute to a friend/loved one.

The album kicks it up a couple notches, with the next 3 songs, “Deadlocked”, “Enemy” and the venom filled “Spineless.” being the heaviest on the album. They pick up the pace considerably and are sure to incite some brutal mosh pits. The next song, “Basic Hate”, is an unrelenting smasher that is fueled with pure angst. This is evident with lines such as “There will be hell to pay, may you burn forever.” The album ends with “Desperate”, which is a song with anthematic choruses, undeniably catchy riffs and the unrelenting level of aggression you have come to expect from Wage War.

Blueprints is a stellar debut that pairs relentlessly aggressive vocals, soaring choruses and catchy, groovy riffs. It’s hard to believe this is their debut because this is an album you would expect from a band with couple albums already under their belt. Andrew Wade killed it on the production and leaves the final product sounding crisp, clean while still hitting you harder than a sledgehammer. If you aren’t familiar with Wage War then now is your chance to rectify that grievous error.

Attribution: http://www.soundfiction.net/2015/11/25/album-review-wage-war-blueprints/


user ratings (210)
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
WageWarFan
December 9th 2015


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd love any feedback! Thanks guys

RadicalEd
December 9th 2015


9546 Comments


Please don't post more than one review per day, it's kinda an unwritten rule around here. (Don't worry too much about it, this review won't be taken down or anything, but keep it in mind please)

Review is decent, if a bit fanboyish.

WageWarFan
December 9th 2015


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! Yeah I have to admit I love Wage War. (Look at my name) I tried to stay objective but I can keep that in mind for the future

AmbushReality
December 9th 2015


67 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There is nothing special about it at all. I don't understand why metalcore fans are creaming their jeans over this record. It must because its just more of the same to listen to, I guess.

Ebola
December 9th 2015


3823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[2]

nononsense
December 10th 2015


3512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mean it's better than most metalcore coming out these days. Nothing special, but certainly a good listen.

Ebola
December 10th 2015


3823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I listened to it again last night and it's actually pretty solid. Between a 3-3.5 I'd say

WageWarFan
December 10th 2015


10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean this record certainly isn't treading any new ground. It's just an extremely fun record to listen to that sticks out to me more than a lot of metalcore albums have lately. It's comes off incredibly mature for a debut album, production is slick and the lyrical content is varied and relatable.

nononsense
December 11th 2015


3512 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A band who sounds similar but are better than Wage War is a band called Sirens and Sailors.

dswhite85
December 13th 2015


34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been blasting Wage War for the last two weeks. Shit is on point. Saw Texas in July farewell show tonight, and now I'm pumped and need to see Wage War cuz I bet they'd kill it live!

Ebola
December 14th 2015


3823 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wtf I didn't like this at all on first listen but this is actually really fuckin good

EyesHalfClosed
February 7th 2016


57 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Loved 'Alive' first time I heard it and the rest of the album continues to get better with each listen. Also you're spot on with the production, one of the best produced records from this genre from the past year, Andrew Wade's work here is fantastic.

Snide
September 7th 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fuck, this album slays.

I went into the Wage War pit on one of the California Warped Tour dates and my shirt got torn to shreds, was one of the most fun pits I've ever been in.

nlh96
September 11th 2016


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seen these guys live twice and they killed both times! The guitar player's clean vocals are studio quality live its insane. When I talked to them after the first time I saw them, they're really nice guys too so that's always a plus. As far as the album goes, I give it a 4. I'm really burned out on metalcore but this album is still loads of fun to listen to.

Cjmetal36
October 25th 2016


22 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As far as metalcore goes, this is one of the better albums released in the last few years.

sempiturtle
December 14th 2016


1550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys kick ass live.

Snide
December 23rd 2016


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

These guys kick ass live [2]

sempiturtle
December 24th 2016


1550 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMZ_qytpwbY

Vocals at 2:00 and 3:40 are sex

Snide
February 11th 2017


7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't wait for their second album.

BallsToTheWall
February 18th 2017


49963 Comments


Gonna be able to see these guys and ADTR on their home turf for $10 bucks. I'm stoked.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy