Sunn O)))
Kannon


2.5
average

Review

by Sabra Net Wore CONTRIBUTOR (128 Reviews)
December 4th, 2015 | 184 replies


Release Date: 12/04/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Maximum volume yields minimal results.

It’s rather difficult to really describe what makes something like Sunn O)))’s music so appealing; a Seattle, Washington-based drone metal duo whose material largely consists of sluggish, feedback-driven riffery and dragged-out, distorted guitar tunage with no semblance of melody nor rhythm. Simply putting it, Sunn O))) is a typical drone metal band who tends to put out some of the most inconsistent music out there. This here is said band’s seventh full-length effort, Kannon. Made up of three tracks, all simply titled after the East Asian deity of the same name, Kannon is far from merciful like the deity was said to be.

The three tracks, spread over a meager 32-minute span, all suffer from the same nagging problem that plagues the Sunn O))) catalogue and even the drone metal genre – the compositions lack any interesting moments, to a point where it gets to be bothersome to even listen to. That's not to say that the latest offering from Sunn O))) is a complete waste of time, but it shows its flaws thoroughly. Sure enough, there’s a few moments of promise here and there, but the album plays out like three separate movements that have little variation. But even then, Kannon manages to go for the gold and have a predictable formula that practically plays out like baby’s first drone metal recording: whining/brooding guitar drone with or without feedback to begin the track/repeat until the unintelligible vocal comes into the mix/repeat riff for as long as possible/track fades out or abruptly cuts out. However, with the bad, there is some (read: hardly any) good as well. Kannon as a whole can be seen as one big composition, the final movement of the three tracks actually shows some variation by not using the same rehashed riffs for ten minutes and having vocals that don’t sound similar to a middle-aged chain-smoker. Okay, so I lied about that last bit. But I digress.

Kannon’s failings all lie in its refusal to be interesting, or the stripped-back sound that differs from such efforts as 2009’s Monoliths and Dimensions or last year’s collaboration with cult pop artist Scott Walker, Soused. Sunn O))) do have a good album in them, as shown from those two albums previously mentioned, but suffer from inconsistency issues. Only if the boys in Sunn O))) could look out from under those massive, black hoods draped over their faces and realize that maybe, just maybe, see what a little change could do. That couldn't hurt, right"



Recent reviews by this author
Konstrukt and Keiji Haino A Philosophy Warping, Little by LittleTom Rogerson with Brian Eno Finding Shore
Shiina Ringo Reimport Vol. 2: Civil Aviation BureauBrigitte Fontaine and Art Ensemble of Chicago Comme a la radio
Prefab Sprout Protest SongsPrefab Sprout Jordan: The Comeback
user ratings (171)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Chamberbelain (4)
(((UUUUuuuuuuummmMMMmmmmnnnnnnaaah)))...

BlacKapes (5)
This is the pinnacle of music throughout human history. Nothing has or ever will top this masterpiec...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

writer's block whatever have a go



streamin http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/hear-sunn-o-s-bright-drone-metal-return-lp-kannon-20151130

Digging: T. Rex - The Slider

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

editing rn so it wasn't wasted straya bro

betray
December 4th 2015


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"put out a relatively inconsistent output"



solid review



Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

all fixed up and what not. i tried

Futures
December 4th 2015


9987 Comments


wow it sucks who would've thunk???

Digging: Mogwai - Come On Die Young

betray
December 4th 2015


9186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

me

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

me tbh

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


13359 Comments


It’s rather difficult to really describe as to what makes something like Sunn O)))’s music is appealing;

unless ive had an aneurysm thats a fuckin shit/weird sentece man will give feedback in morning

Digging: Slint - Spiderland

deathschool
December 4th 2015


21928 Comments


I was kinda hyped for this. I'll still be checking, but doesn't seem to be getting great feedback.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

whoa shit mort that sentence looks wonky thanks



@death it's average, so-so, the meh album of the year. really let down after what they did on Soused.

deathschool
December 4th 2015


21928 Comments


Good review by the way.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man, I was worried if this long of a break would make me rusty. Glad to see it didn't quite yet.

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

again, thanks

Ashen
December 4th 2015


1403 Comments


"Sunn O))) is an typical"

should be a typical

good review :^

Ashen
December 4th 2015


1403 Comments


yeah that's nit-picky but im a prick : )

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

good enough man, whatever makes it look or read better is all good.



not gonna lie, i see no "This is" in the first paragraph LT, or I'm just reading it wrong (probably the latter, but whatever I'll take a look again after work tomorrow)

Frippertronics
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2015


15799 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yeah, I see it now. tyty

LordePots
December 4th 2015


38568 Comments


"Sunn O)))’s music so appealing"

rof


l

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

Ovrot
December 4th 2015


13217 Comments


does this one have riffs?

Digging: Argonath/Isegrimm - Foreign Fantasy

LordePots
December 4th 2015


38568 Comments


I bet it has the first note of a riff



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy