Tarquin Manek
Tarquin Magnet


2.8
good

Review

by Tristan Jones STAFF
November 27th, 2015 | 24 replies


Release Date: 11/27/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gasp language

Tarquin Manek’s thought process has been described as “[radiating] a cold and latent violence.” With Tarquin Magnet, it’s clear that this trait is more effective when the medium is erratic, prone to outbursts and never really letting you settle into a reliable safe zone. And while prone, Manek refuses to fly off the handle; his Blackest Ever Black solo debut is subdued, but with a twisted mindset trying to keep itself under wraps.

On “Sassafras Gesundheit”, Manek builds a dystopian suspense, and stretches it out like taffy. He takes a saxophone out of expressive territory, drenching it in synth and employing it mainly in rhythm and texture (though there are poignant melodies in the backdrop). Though gripping at first, the catchy main sax-synth-thing line lacks the percussive punch to carry the opener the full thirteen minutes, and its relentlessness forces the rest of the song’s elements through a funnel. At its midpoint, the track dips below the surface, forcing the saxophone to the edge of earshot, giving the ancillary concréte noises and stray instruments a wider berth. Manek has a talent for subtle textural tweaking, but underplays it by drawing our gaze to the repetitive lead riff. Off the path, there’s plenty to enjoy: jittery violins, fascinating electroacoustics, playful woodwinds, and so on. “Perfect Storm”, Magnet’s other juggernaut, features deep, watery pulses, industrial rattles, and a constantly-morphing soundscape that fucks up barometers and dilates pupils.

It’s difficult to gauge Magnet’s success, as its functionality is so vague. As with 2014’s Mince Glace (an album by Tarcar, of which Manek is a member), Magnet takes various musical styles out of context, weaving together sounds that have no business existing in the same 35-minute space. Somehow, the tracks segue into each other sensibly, yet with each song having a different feel. “Fortunes Past” is a brief follow-up to the mammoth opener, consisting of what resembles a flock of power-electronics, rubbery bongos, and an ominous public address system trying to reign in the hysteria - it matches the chasmic dub of “Sassafras Gesundheit” oddly well. “Fortunes Begun” is more deliberate, with each bell toll carrying a rich, haunting timbre. While examples like these make for an unpredictable listening experience, the jack-of-all-trades approach doesn’t always complement the obscure moods; a lack of sharp dynamics makes the eclectic compositions feel a bit wandering and grey. In a way, it fits the theme. Tarquin Magnet, while occasionally quite captivating, is too contemplative, never dropping the trapdoor. Strangely, with each successive listen, the noose fits a little bit snugger.



Recent reviews by this author
Jon Hopkins SingularityReindeer Field Reports From The Western Lands
Cecil Taylor Unit StructuresDrowse Cold Air
Iannis Xenakis Persepolis (2018 Reissue)Mark Applebaum Speed Dating
user ratings (6)
Chart.
2.7
average
recommended by reviewer
Tarcar Mince Glace

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 26th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

https://blackesteverblack.bandcamp.com/album/tarquin-magnet

2.8/5

thnx for the advance copy.

kinda preoccupied with finals but i managed to pinch this one out, should be streaming in full somewhat soon

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 26th 2015


39731 Comments


great review listening to Sassafras and its hard to gauge whether i will like the rest of this or not

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2015


11587 Comments


Great review as always Johnny.

Digging: Dekagram - May Flights Of Devils Guide

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

thx SF. and looks like it's streaming now, ftwc

ExplosiveOranges
November 27th 2015


4408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice writeup dude. gonna jam this asap.





JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 27th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

thx all. and tbh Sach this strikes me as very 2-able for you.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 27th 2015


39731 Comments


yeah sach will either 2 this or 5 it tbh. nothing in between. (altho now that ive said it he will rate it something in between just to prove a point) ((altho now that ive said THAT he will either 1, 1.5 or 6 it to prove a point on a point)) (((and now that THATS been said he probably wont rate it at all))) ((((that being said now that i've said it the edgelord will probably just either 2 it or 5 it))))

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 27th 2015


39731 Comments


k dude its got to the point where the 'czech' thing makes me want to kill your family stop it

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 27th 2015


39731 Comments


good question

ur deffs one of the less shitty of the contrib reviewers tbh not that thats saying much but ferreal u aint that bad

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

of course, of course. i was considering 2.5ing it my review but felt that xmas spirit. there's quite a few moments where I felt it could've been great.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

he's done some other stuff with other projects: Tarcar, F Ingers, and LST. i didn't care for F Ingers' music, but Tarcar is cool. I'd like him to make something just a bit more focused and cathartic. some of this is a bit too wishy-washy



and yeah if you go to the "new releases" tab, out of like 80 or so November releases there are only 4 with a "below average" rating. a 2.8 rating is Sput's equivalent of "shitty" when in all honesty this is a pretty decent, if a bit lacklustre, release.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments


I hate the fact that my fucking stupid rating system has such an influence on the average rating when there are so few votes.


then how about changing your fucking stupid rating system to reflect the guidelines set by the site itself with helpful descriptive words instead of being an edgelord like cyg and throwing both your own and the sites credibility out the window when it comes to lesser rated albums i dunno just a thot

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments


also Tarcar is fucking dope

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
November 28th 2015


6676 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

That second point is what really irks me. I tend to find the users that check this kind of thing out are a bit more critical (for lack of a better term) with their ratings. Bedroom bm that vaguely riffs will sit around with a 3.5 average whilst something that is altogether more substantial, yet similarly flawed, of this kind will have a low rating because of the way different users rate.


hmm yeah. i mean, that's why certain users' ratings hold more weight than others. like, I'm bound to check a Havey 3.0 for some experimental bullshit more than a ____ [insert 90% of users] 4.5 for some proggy metal crescendo-y whatever thing



Not a bad idea tbh. It'd convolute my rating system a whole lot though, and that might fry my small peanut brain.


that's why a lot of users reserve their ratings for RYM

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments



Not a bad idea tbh. It'd convolute my rating system a whole lot though, and that might fry my small peanut brain.


sall good. my rating scheme changes slightly all the time. lately its been more hyperbolic than it used to be but still within the constraints of what the descriptors set. but users like cyg who legitimately use 2.5 as a 'good' rating need to literally fuck off and die. at the end of the day rating is arbitrary but if u fuck with the guidelines too much u are actually damaging the sites and your own objectivity, which is why cyg is probably one of the worst users of all time from an objective perspective.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments


well, in the calculation of the average rating, every users rating is given the same weight, and that's where I think sput's rating system falls down hard.


lol yeah but i mean giving more weighting to certain peoples ratings is just a recipe for elitism and bias, both of which the site already has enough of

Archael
November 28th 2015


1163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but pots i wipe'd muh ratingz for u ._.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments


didnt i just see u 2.5 something and say it was great the other day? or did u wipe after that

if u wiped after that i am genuinely proud of you and would legitimately give u a hug irl

Archael
November 28th 2015


1163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

after that

literally a day after that

Lord(e)Po)))ts
November 28th 2015


39731 Comments


dude im so proud im glowing papa taught u good



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy