Sevendust
Kill the Flaw


5.0
classic

Review

by riffariffic7 USER (19 Reviews)
November 17th, 2015 | 18 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Travel back from going nowhere. Reflect along the way.

Keeping up momentum for so long can be a challenge. Where many bands have collapsed under the pressure, some can manage to endure the hard times just as gracefully as they do the good times. Thankfully Sevendust can fit under this type of bill just fine. A whopping ten albums later, the Atlanta-based rock group return with a record that is not only consistent with their previous efforts but also displays even further technical prowess through crafting truly engaging melodies for fans and newcomers alike to sink their teeth into. Kill the Flaw is another varied, deeply moving milestone from what is arguably the most underappreciated rock group of modern times.

"Thank You" kicks the album off in brilliant fashion. A perfect single for which establishes a genuine love for family and friends who have been around to lend a helping hand during the rough patches. The lyrics laced throughout are simple enough, but highly effective due to a great verse-to-chorus structure and the fascinating addition of a choir of kids singing the chorus during the finale of the track adds an extra layer of enjoyment to an already stellar song. Later on in the tracklist, "Letters" arrives and provides an incredibly welcome change of pace. Where the previous two tracks, "Death Dance" and "Forget", were more invested in being alongside the heaviest on the record, "Letters" feels like a beautiful callback to a song they did on their previous release, Time Travelers and Bonfires, known as "The Wait" (which featured the heartwarming, climatic lyrics "send a message when you're home"). Another song that provides a nice blend of acoustic and electronic harmonies, along with another endearing vocal performance from Lajon Witherspoon, is the oddly named "Chop", a track which retains the heavier side of the overall record while giving casual listeners a chance to experience the band work their magic with compelling lyricism on full-display.

Sevendust have always excelled in determining truly brilliant title tracks: "Home", "Seasons", "Hope", "Sorrow", "Black Out the Sun", "Alpha", even "Pieces" (in finding drummer Morgan Rose screaming "Next" during the conclusion). Following in this wondrous tradition is "Kill the Flaw", an undeniable standout. Though it initially starts off rather bizarre, with the lyrics "shaking (which sounds an awful lot like "shotgun") it tastes so wrong it burns", the chorus kicks the song into high gear, soon enough followed by an awe-inspiring array of guitar-solos from guitarists Clint Lowery, John Connolly and Vince Hornsby on bass during the breathtaking climax. Kill the Flaw keeps building momentum throughout the closing four tracks (five if the bonus song, "Slave the Prey", is counted), featuring intensified guitar sections and pulse-pounding drumming, all of which are counter-balanced by soothing vocal melodies from Lajon; most evident on the track rightfully known as "Peace and Destruction".

While the finding of evenly-distributed equilibrium between smooth vocals and raging instrumentals is beyond satisfying, something even more joyous is hearing the band cut loose and go for an all-out scorcher. "Torched" is another rightfully titled masterpiece. Literally blasting into the soundscape, the hair-raising finale immediately leaves on an exhilarating note due to a trio of outstanding choruses, lightning-fast drumming segments and a first-rate showcase for every individual artist overall; the vocal deliveries from Lowery and Witherspoon, in particular, throughout the explosive verses are simply magnificent. Even though "Torched" is technically the final song on the record, it would be wrong to forget about mentioning how spectacular the bonus track truly is. Arguably released as an extra addition due to the similarities it shares with "Praise", featuring a noticeably similar electronic melody during the opening chords, "Slave the Prey" nevertheless excites the senses due to complex instrumentals and another powerhouse vocal performance from Lajon Witherspoon.

This is the moment where most bands would crumble due to lack of originality, loss of key audience members and corporate/sellout mentality. Sevendust continue to reliably avoid this misstep, and they've been doing it for over twenty years to this day. In that case, a huge thank you goes out to Sevendust for their everlasting contributions to not only the world of rock and metal genres, but to music overall, giving hungry listeners a chance to experience well-diversified vocals alongside sophisticated instrumental sections (which reveal further depths upon repeated listens). Kill the Flaw is a genuine delight. Mature, layered and wholly optimistic, mixed with the nostalgic aggression many fans have come to treasure over time, this album further proves how consistently compelling Sevendust can be when they are having fun.



Recent reviews by this author
Moments in Grace Moonlight SurvivedHuey Lewis and the News Sports
Elvis Presley ElvisOtis Redding Pain in My Heart
Ray Charles Ray CharlesLe Very Playground
user ratings (142)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
pizzamachine (4.5)
"A life line abused, cut the cord, what's the use?"...



Comments:Add a Comment 
riffariffic7
November 17th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Finally... I'm back! It's been a while since I've posted a thing here and I figured it would be the perfect time to add in my review of Sevendust's new album. This was a tough album to pin down. Originally my rating for it was much lower, but the more I hear this album, the more I love it, and it's slowly crawling it's way to my top 3 favourite albums from Sevendust. As much as I love Sevendust, I wouldn't mind hearing the second record from Call Me No One before the 11th LP from Sevendust. Here's my track-by-track ratings:



1. Thank You - 5/5

2. Death Dance - 4.5/5

3. Forget - 5/5

4. Letters - 5/5

5. Cease and Desist - 4.5/5

6. Not Today - 5/5

7. Chop - 5/5

8. Kill the Flaw - 5/5

9. Silly Beast - 5/5

10. Peace and Destruction - 5/5

11. Torched - 5/5

12. Slave the Prey (Bonus Track) - 5/5



This is one of those rare, classic albums that continue to get better and better the more I hear from it. I love it.

ChopSuey
November 17th 2015


2506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This finally gets a review

riffariffic7
November 17th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thankfully from me. I was worried that someone would beat me to the punch while I was writing it. I love breaking on through the "no reviews yet" barrier. It's oddly satisfying. What were your favourite songs from the album, ChopSuey?

ChopSuey
November 17th 2015


2506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with breaking the "no review barrier" part. As for my favorite songs, I would go with the the opener, 'Thank You' I just got into this band a couple of months ago so I'm fairly new to this band. What about you???????

riffariffic7
November 17th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Animosity will always be my favourite record from these guys. So many of the songs strike such a chord with me. "Trust", "Crucified", "Xmas Day", "Dead Set", "Shine", the whole album is phenomenal. If you haven't heard it yet, give it a shot.

ChopSuey
November 17th 2015


2506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I will soon m/

Toondude10
November 17th 2015


12766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol 5 neg



Black Out the Sun was better. Still though this has some good jams.

pizzamachine
November 17th 2015


13844 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"arguably the most underappreciated rock group of modern times"



Yup they're right up there with Ra. Sevendust got the riffs man, they got zero bad albums.

Apollo
November 17th 2015


10674 Comments


love this band very much

PayneTiger777
November 17th 2015


4511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sevendust has and always will be my favorite band. I didn't care for this album on the first few listens, but now I love it. Not Today and Kill the Flaw are probably my favorite tracks.

riffariffic7
November 18th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Both are great songs. I'm mad at myself now in realizing that I didn't even mentioned "Not Today" in the review. I love the song too, and it's one of those songs that slowly grew on me the more I heard it. This album is incredible.

Hopelust
November 18th 2015


3008 Comments


"Animosity will always be my favourite record from these guys. So many of the songs strike such a chord with me. "Trust", "Crucified", "Xmas Day", "Dead Set", "Shine", the whole album is phenomenal. If you haven't heard it yet, give it a shot."

Couldn't agree more. That whole album is stellar. Really haven't cared much for these guys since, cuz they never really had a good follow-up to that album.


riffariffic7
November 18th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd argue that Black Out the Sun and Kill the Flaw, even Alpha (which I feel is very underrated), are strong follow-ups to Animosity. Their acoustic live album is fantastic too. I'd love to hear Sevendust drop more live albums since they're one of the better live bands around. Even a follow-up to Time Travelers and Bonfires would be great (but I'm holding hope for a new Call Me No One record to arrive before anything else).

PayneTiger777
November 18th 2015


4511 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Time Travelers and Bonfires is fantastic. "The Wait" might be in my top 5 favorite songs by them. I agree that Animosity is their best album (it's my favorite album of all time). Hope and Sorrow is probably my second favorite by them, although for some reason a lot of people don't care for it.



A new Call Me No One and Projected album would be great to hear.

riffariffic7
November 18th 2015


488 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Time Travelers and Bonfires is an excellent record. Their acoustic rendition of "Trust" is brilliant, one of the rare covers that's better than the original. "Bonfire" is my favourite of the new tracks on the album. Hope and Sorrow is a great album, the only thing that brought it down a bit for me was the Chris Daughtry-featured track, I didn't hate it, but it's an easy skip on an otherwise excellent record. "Hope" is easily my favourite track on the record though, Mark Tremonti's guitar solo is stunning. For Kill the Flaw, I'd say my favourite songs are: "Letters", "Chop" and "Torched".

Toondude10
December 7th 2015


12766 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank You got nominated for a Grammy? Can't say I expected that.

RogueNine
December 7th 2015


3564 Comments


Made the mistake of reading YouTube comments for some of these songs. There are some serious basement-dwellers out there.

pizzamachine
March 28th 2018


13844 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Bump. Great album m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy