Havukruunu
Havulinnaan


4.0
excellent

Review

by manosg STAFF
November 2nd, 2015 | 63 replies


Release Date: 10/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Highly atmospheric black metal that will appeal equally to traditional and non black metal fans with its strong epic and mystic flavor.

Misty mountain tops, foggy forests, treacherous shores and deep dark seas; oh and snow, lots of it, with blizzard beasts hiding in the background. This is how Havulinnaan feels. Havukruunu describe their music as pagan black metal and that definition is fairly accurate as their debut lies somewhere between Viking and folk metal.

After putting out a number of demos and EPs, Finnish duo’s first full release sees them developing their brand of black metal even further. As mentioned earlier, there certainly are elements from the Viking era of Bathory scattered throughout the album and folk passages bringing to mind bands such as Wolfchant or a rawer and faster version of Ensiferum on tracks such as “Aavevalo”. Moreover, after listening to Havukruunu’s debut, one will probably spot the various similarities to Immortal and the classic metal influences on the guitar playing. As stated by the band, Manowar is one of their main influences (along with Bathory) and that shows on various moments, as what characterizes the whole album is a sense of melody.

There are classic heavy metal leads and riffs to be found, which is what makes Havulinnaan an accessible listen for non-traditional black metal fans. In addition, the few acoustic passages on tracks such as “Rautalintu” and the title track enhance the sense of melody and help augment the contrast that is created throughout the album. Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean that one cannot find typical black metal elements – on “Tuuletar”, for example – such as blast beats, increased tempos and the tortured vocals. For that matter, the vocals are one of the highlights of the album, apart from the guitar playing which is phenomenal. The variety of vocals ranges from clean, to raspy and passionate screams. And even though they might sound a bit raw to some, they really add to the epic nature of the songs.

Havukruunu surely have not broken new ground with their debut, but by combining traditional elements, they have managed to provide a diverse album full of contrasting moments and a strong epic and mystic sense. As a result, the outcome of all the above, combined with cover art, make up for a highly atmospheric listen that works perfectly this time of the year.



Recent reviews by this author
Traveler (CAN) TravelerTwin Temple Twin Temple (Bring You Their Signature Sound....
Van Morrison Veedon FleeceRhapsody of Fire The Eighth Mountain
Chris Isaak Forever BlueAvantasia Moonglow
user ratings (56)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not my field of expertise but you should definitely check this one of you're looking for some atmospheric metal.



Full album: http://naturmachtproductions.bandcamp.com/album/havulinnaan-np061

Titan
November 2nd 2015


19278 Comments


not my cup of tea, however, every review of yours has my attention and I shall give this a spin

nice manosg!

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


8284 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Excellent album and band overall, nice to see this on the front page.

Digging: Veiled (DE) - In Blinding Presence

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed Voivod. Hope more guys check them.



Thanks Titan, I appreciate the support!

zaruyache
November 2nd 2015


20654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

will check

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


24524 Comments


Killer review manosg :] I have a strong feeling I'll dig this one. You're descriptions convinced me and that album art is too good

Digging: The Tallest Man on Earth - I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You'll definitely enjoy this one Atari. My only question is how much haha.

EvoHavok
November 2nd 2015


7682 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! Suggestive cover art.

ZippaThaRippa
November 2nd 2015


10486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the best Immortal record in years

Totengott
November 2nd 2015


4224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Going to check this, sweet review as always manos.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks guys, you're gonna have a blast.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


24524 Comments


"You'll definitely enjoy this one Atari. My only question is how much haha."

only one way to find out haha. jamming now and I'm definitely liking it so far. I can hear some bathory influence pretty strongly in track 2. pretty cool stuff

deslad
November 2nd 2015


634 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review man; I am not sure if this is to my liking, but I'll try it out.

Digging: B.B. King - Completely Well

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Cheers des! Knowing your taste, there is some hope. You enjoy Mithotyn so you might like these guys too.





manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"only one way to find out haha. jamming now and I'm definitely liking it so far. I can hear some bathory influence pretty strongly in track 2. pretty cool stuff"



Glad you enjoy dude! There's definitely a strong Bathory influence on here on most of the tracks but I really like how these guys have incorporated these elements to their sound.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


24524 Comments


hell ya this rules, nice find man

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks dude! This is perfect for this time of the year.

Sabrutin
November 2nd 2015


5996 Comments


Great review, just throw an additional 'n' in the 'finish' at the start of paragraph two. Heard "Talven Mustat Tuulet" and it sounds cool, but I don't think I'll check the album out soon. Cover artwork slays for sure.

DungeonBoy
November 2nd 2015


5795 Comments


cool review, you describe the sound well. I'll be checking this out.

Digging: Inculter - Fatal Visions

manosg
Staff Reviewer
November 2nd 2015


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks sab, nice catch.



Thanks DungeonBoy, hope you enjoy.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy