Horrendous
Anareta


4.5
superb

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
October 27th, 2015 | 431 replies


Release Date: 10/27/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No longer just an OSDM revival act.

2014 was a pretty good year for Horrendous to say the least. The band dropped Ecdysis, the critically acclaimed follow-up to an already well received debut, and seemed to firmly solidify their place in the old school death metal revival. Ecdysis was absolutely impressive in its execution, nailing the old school influences with just enough progression added to keep it from feeling like a stale retread of the originators. The sound suffered a bit from not being terribly adventurous, and lacking a sound Horrendous could totally call their own. Thus, the question in 2015 is whether that issue would be addressed with their next outing, Anareta. The answer" A frighteningly confident yes.

To say that Horrendous stepped it up on Anareta is an understatement: they turned everything up to 11 and then some more for good measure. It’s flashier, it’s more progressive, it’s more melodic, and frankly, it’s a whole lot more of everything. Digging deeply enough uncovers some of the more prominent influences (Death, Dismember, hell even some Heartwork-era Carcass believe it or not), but the result is all Horrendous. The biggest area of change is the shifting away from OSDM in favor of far more melody. The lead work really steals the show here, channeling both 80s heavy metal and Swedish death metal with wild abandon.

After a build-up of harmonized guitars, “The Nihilist” opens up the record in a fashion both frightening and oddly welcoming. The manic, scathing wail that sets the track off into thrashing riffs has about as much kick as a shot of adrenaline straight to the vein. Whatever their ambitions with Anareta, this track is enough to prove that Horrendous lack for nothing in energy and confidence. One detail to note is that the vocals have noticeably changed since Ecdysis, being layered much more heavily than the more traditionally OSDM style previously. They tend towards a high scream predominately (though some haunting chants appear welcomingly on “Ozymandias”), and were it not for small measures like the instrumental track “Siderea”, the potential to grate on the listener would certainly be there. Despite clearly being an acquired taste, they fit Horrendous’ sound like a glove.

In sometimes cliché fashion with overwhelmingly well executed albums, it’s difficult to name standouts on Anareta simply because every track is a standout in its own way. “The Nihilist” smashes eardrums like no other, “Siderea” is an early, shining example of their progressive tendencies, and “The Solipsist (Mirrors Gaze)” is one hell of a measured, well-constructed closer that hits on all the band’s aspects (especially a gorgeous clean guitar intro). However, given time you could find something each track does well to distinguish itself. The production deserves its share of commendation as well. None of modern death metal’s tendency to overproduce and brickwall is found here. Instead there’s an organic, even mix with just enough grit to please the old school fans.

The naysayers that said Horrendous didn’t have a unique sound on Ecdysis simply don’t have the same fuel for the pyre here. Anareta remedies every nitpick one could dig up on previous recordings without sacrificing anything in songwriting or instrumental prowess. The band have found themselves on this record and it shows. Anareta proves to be nothing less than a momentous achievement for forward thinking death metal in 2015.



Recent reviews by this author
Forteresse Thèmes pour la RébellionBattle Dagorath II - Frozen Light of Eternal Darkness
Wolves in the Throne Room Thrice WovenDayseeker Dreaming is Sinking /// Waking is Rising
The Acacia Strain GravebloomTwilight Fauna The Year the Stars Fell
user ratings (289)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
noinoeso (5)
Horrendous deliver a modern death metal classic....



Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Stream: http://www.stereogum.com/1837463/stream-horrendous-anareta-stereogum-premiere/mp3s/



strong contender for my aoty

Crysis
Emeritus
October 27th 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the production on this is just awesome, can't say that enough

MistaCrave
October 27th 2015


2475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review rules. And yeah this album fucking destroys.

Crysis
Emeritus
October 27th 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the drum and bass sound on this record like wow

Hawks
October 27th 2015


51947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome review bro. Dm aoty so far and one of the best albums of the year in general.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the only thing i can possibly say anything negative about is the vocals and only that they're not everyone's cup of tea

MistaCrave
October 27th 2015


2475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah haha, they sound somewhat reminiscent of Tomas from At the Gates.

evilford
October 27th 2015


40640 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm gonna have to jam this again soon. this was a great album and their best imo but it didn't blow me away like it apparently has to so many other people.

Crysis
Emeritus
October 27th 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the only thing i can possibly say anything negative about is the vocals and only that they're not everyone's cup of tea




I agree. I love how maniacal they are but I think they would fit in well next to some lower-pitched vox.

emester
October 27th 2015


8181 Comments


Damn good album


Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

agreed

Hawks
October 27th 2015


51947 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Vox kinda remind me of a raspier Chuck kinda tbh.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


16798 Comments


Wow I should check this band, does it matter if I start with this or go chronologically?

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

slikphuk
October 27th 2015


394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review, fantastic album. i really admire this new addition definitely their best yet imo. All the songs are very well constructed and not to mention the production is flawless.

"Vox kinda remind me of a raspier Chuck kinda tbh."

I agree hawks the tracks polaris, acolytes, and stillborn vox are really good and remind me of earlier death material and chucks voice, but more raspier.

"Wow I should check this band, does it matter if I start with this or go chronologically?"

tbh prolly wont matter they have a handful of albums, all of which are worthwhile



Digging: Dissension - Ancient Chaos

bloc
October 27th 2015


44314 Comments


Could have sworn this leaked like 2 months ago lol

Looking forward to checking this out

Digging: Beastmilk - Climax

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Wow I should check this band, does it matter if I start with this or go chronologically?"



chronological order is usually preferred imo



it did leak like 2 months ago bloc, official stream came out yesterday



ill fix that sach, thx for the catch

lalchimiste
October 27th 2015


704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I get some strong Van Drunen vibes for the vox, especially the 'maniacal' character they have as Crysis pointed out.



I'll repeat myself, but production is so dynamic and clear. It really enhances the superb songwriting chops



@TalonsOfFire you should either check this one or Ecdysis. I feel Ecdysis is more instantly gratifying and digestible. This gets better with multiple listens

Digging: Desolate Shrine - Deliverance From The Godless Void

lalchimiste
October 27th 2015


704 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice rev, pos

Crysis
Emeritus
October 27th 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if you didn't like ecdysis or the chills it's doubtful you'd like this

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2015


6366 Comments


#SkimAnd1/5It2015



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy