Gazpacho
Molok


4.0
excellent

Review

by TalonsOfFire STAFF
October 26th, 2015 | 72 replies


Release Date: 10/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A complex, sprawling concept album that sees Gazpacho at their most formidable.

It really is remarkable when a group of musicians are able to exercise complete and total control over their creations, all while getting their music out to those who can appreciate and love it. Say what you want about how the Internet has ruined the music industry, but no one can deny how good it has been for independent musicians. Of course there are plenty of hacks out there, but Gazpacho remain one of the most impressive and ambitious groups to rise from the Internet age. Joining with an official record label five years ago only resulted in releases more eclectic and bizarre than the last. Molok stands as the current peak of this trend, taking the quirkiness of Demon to a new level while exercising out much of the Lovecraftian horror it possessed. Another heady concept album, Molok centers on science versus religious trends and Norwegian folklore. As the story takes place in the 1920s, there is a very apparent old-fashioned aesthetic to many of the melodies, particularly in the opening few tracks.

“Park Bench” and “The Master’s Voice” introduce Molok, with airy guitars and subtle melodies interwoven throughout. The stranger moments are reserved for the following songs, with lead single “Know Your Time” being the most emotive and powerful catharsis of all four songs. It ends with a beautiful guitar solo that breaks into a calming violin outro alongside bongo drums throbbing in the background. “ABC” is one of the more accessible moments of Molok, full of soaring synths and Jan-Henrik Ohme’s soothing vocals. This serves to break the building intensity of the previous tracks, which include full choirs, bouncy accordion lines with technical, experimental percussion and drumming.

There is something to be said for the effectiveness of Gazpacho’s penchant to include nearly every instrument conceivable in each of their releases, from the didgeridoo to the mandolin. Their constantly atypical instrumentation remarkably never collapses in on itself in over-pretentious cacophony that so many neo-progressive rock musicians fall prey to. They have always known when less is more, and the closing epic “Molok Rising” showcases these strengths beautifully. It closes the album in extended displays of grooving guitar lines (which could have been used more overall) and foreboding synth textures that weave about through the rhythmic throbbing of the diverse percussion. A moody guitar melody alongside backing instruments settle into an eerie sounding instrumental jam, each sound bleeding into one another, even the drums. This serve to remind the listener of Night, while still being a natural evolution from an already explored sound.

It has only been one year since Demon, and Molok is yet another testament to the gifted minds behind Gazpacho and their seemingly endless flow of off-kilter, truly original art rock. Despite all the complexities of Molok, there is a contemplative mystery surrounding it, and serves as reassuring reminder of what Gazpacho excel in – complex and creative musical arrangements alongside evocative atmospheres. It’s a demanding listen, and catching all of the subtle musical and thematic nuances takes time to fully digest. Let Molok’s arcane charms wash over you, and experience all of the artful, intoxicating, and adventurous qualities contained within.



Recent reviews by this author
Laraaji Ambient 3: Day of RadianceUlver Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
Beck ColorsThe Contortionist Clairvoyant
The National Sleep Well BeastSteven Wilson To the Bone
user ratings (75)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Underflow (3)
Not the art rock masterpiece you're looking for....


Comments:Add a Comment 
TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2015


16938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Stream here:



http://www.visions.de/news/23871/VISIONS-Premiere-Gazpacho-streamen-ihr-vielleicht-alles-vernichtendes-neues-Album-Molok

Digging: Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno - Finding Shore

Jethro42
October 25th 2015


15141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hell yessss so happy this has already a review

Great review man, this needs a feature!

I can't wait to listen to the album. Not before tomorrow though.

I've already seen your sound off, yesterday I think, but now you wrote that review with a stream as bonus, I couldn't ask for more!

ChoccyPhilly
October 25th 2015


11694 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Too early to rate imo but it'll probably be at least a 4 in the future. Nice review man, as always.

pos'd

Digging: dangerkids - Blacklist_

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 25th 2015


4400 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, pos! I really like the concept and how the overall sound turned out. Musically, I feel it picks up where Demon left and just gets more bizarre, which is great. I would've liked to hear some more guitar, but this is an excellent record. The final 3 tracks are my favorites at the moment.

Digging: Wordclock - Heralds

SharkTooth
October 26th 2015


13794 Comments


sweet review, kinda disappointed that Underflow didn't write one for this though, his review for Demon was phenominal

Mythodea
October 26th 2015


4182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

excellent review, pos.



Album is the only thing I need in my life currently.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2015


16938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks for the kind words fellas.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2015


18921 Comments


Looks much better man! Nice job pos. This sounds pretty cool. I've only heard Demon and didn't love it but that was when it came out.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2015


16938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks Mong, Demon took a lot of listens for me to really enjoy as well, this might be the same way for you. Some songs are definitely pretty weird and out there, but I'm sure you'd love some of the longer ones on first listen at least. You should jam their others at some point, Night is considered their best by many people, including me.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2015


18921 Comments


Ok dude yea I'll consider trying them again

Archael
October 26th 2015


1163 Comments


the songwriting on here is leagues above their last one

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2015


16938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't know about that, the last one was almost all 10-20 minute epics and most of these are 3-6 besides the closer, so this is probably easier to get into because of that.

Archael
October 26th 2015


1163 Comments


10-20 minute epics
fuckin bleh

Gyromania
October 27th 2015


23773 Comments


their last album was excellent. looking forward to this

Mythodea
October 27th 2015


4182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

know your time's string three note melody is giving me the chills. I'm talking about that arabesque/indian sound

bnelso55
October 27th 2015


1266 Comments


Pos'd. Need to check this.

JS19
October 27th 2015


6058 Comments


Mongi Night is like GOAT album

Digging: Sleeping at Last - Atlas - Space 2

Mythodea
October 27th 2015


4182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I asked my mother to listen to Night and she loved it. She has no touch with foreign music, only the classics, so I was a bit proud.

Jethro42
October 27th 2015


15141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^That's pretty cool.



''Tick Tock'' is probably my favorite. ''Night'' has to come close second.

JS19
October 27th 2015


6058 Comments


Tick Tock is almost as good yesss



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy